Skip to main content

Finding and using financial data at Princeton University

Fundamentals - International

To match equities from databases (CRSP, Compustat, Datastream, Execucomp, NYSE TAQ, SDC), see the Matching Guide. For hints on finding specific items in these databases as well as additional sources, see the Economics and Finance FAQ.


Princeton has many directories in print, some dating back over a century. In addition, the following sources also provide fundamental data.
 

Worldscope: fundamental data for major international companies. Searchable by company name, country, exchange, or fundamental items. 1980+.  Available through WRDS.

Compustat Global. **: detailed fundamental data for major companies trading on international exchanges. Special files are available that contain financial services data, currency translations, and market data. Annual data date back to 1987 . Available through WRDS. 

Compustat Constituent Lists Global.  Includes various major exchanges and top market capitalization lists.  Available through WRDS.

Orbis. *: Financial information on 241 million companies globally in 224 countries including private companies.  Also available through WRDS.**  For Europe, use AmadeusFor the USA, use Dun & Bradstreet individual business (flat) file, 1969 - present. (Mergent).   See How to Construct Nationally Representative Firm Level Data from the Orbis Global Database: New Facts and Aggregate Implications. NBER Working Paper No. 21558

Dun & Bradstreet Historical Global Archive.  Files include sales, SIC codes, and number of employees at the establishment level. Note that compressed the files are 2.9 TB and uncompressed almost 39 TB.  Consists of 5 parts:

  • WorldBase U.S. Unlinked: 2012+.  Consists of U.S. based business records that do not have ownership relations that link them together in a family tree structure.
  • WorldBase Global Unlinked: Sept. 2009+. Consists of non-U.S. based business records that do not have ownership relations that link them together in a family tree structure.
  • WorldBase Linkage: Sept. 2009+. Consists of international business records that contain ownership relationships that link them together in a family tree structure. Also contains traditional corporate linkage, which represents ownership greater than 50% and can exist for commercial entities, governments and non-profit organizations regardless of size. Linkage applies to active status records only, out of business records are not linked.
  • WorldBase Business. May 2018+. Consists of additional company names and location information for global business records, such as Former Business Name and National Ids.
  • WorldBase Delete: June 2012+. Consists of records that have been deleted from the D&B WorldBase database. Provides insight as to why the DUN’s number was removed

 Osiris. *: Financial information on globally listed public companies from over 140 countries. The combined industrial company dataset contains standardized and as reported financials, including restated accounts, for up to 20 years on over 88,000 companies. The bank financials offer up to 8 years of financial data for more than 2,300 listed banks. Insurance company financials, collected from annual reports and the NAIC, cover up to 9 years of data on over 440 listed insurance companies. OSIRIS strives to cover all publicly listed companies worldwide. In addition, it covers major non-listed companies when they are primary subsidiaries of publicly listed companies. Ownership data is also provided. Also available through WRDS.**

SNL Financial Institutions (FIG).  Available through WRDS.** USA data is back to 1981. International back coverage goes back to at least 2010 with many of the significant institutions in Europe dating to 2005 and Asia-Pacific to 2008.

Bankscope.  1980-2016.  Product ceased.  Detailed international banking data.

Factiva: Company/industry comparisons, financial reports, and profiles.

Mergent Archives: collection of Moody's/Mergent Manuals. 1909+. (Bank & Finance, Industrial, International, Public Utility, Transportation, Over the Counter Industrial, Over the Counter Unlisted, Municipals).  Also includes Million Dollar Directory (1959-2016); D&B Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios (1979-2016) as well as a large international annual reports collection (larger number of reports become available in the late 1920s.  Some back to the 19th century.)

Fundamentals - China

In addition to the international fundamental sources,  the following are specific to China.

CSMAR China Stock Market Trading Database**. Consists of 2 parts: (1) China Stock Market Trading Database which provides data on stocks returns, market return, & aggregated market returns. Provides comparable closing prices adjusted for effects on share prices due to rights offering, cash dividend, stock dividend, etc. Data Interval: From December 19, 1990 (for Shanghai A Share); From February 21, 1992 (for Shanghai B Share); From July 3, 1991 (for Shenzhen A Share); From February 28, 1992 (for Shenzhen B Share). (2) CSMAR China Stock Market Financial Database Annual, Quarterly, and Interim Reports which contains the financial data on report of all A share companies in general industry since 1990. Available on WRDS. For the most up to date data, see the native interface.

CSMAR China Non-Listed Enterprise Database*. Profile & financial data of more than 2 million private & state owned Chinese large industry manufacturing enterprises (sales revenue exceeding CNY five million) of 41 industries. For SOEs set the registration type equal to 12. Covers 1998-2012 (ceased).  DSS has the files in Excel format in Mandarin for 1998-2009 which includes the address (not present in the English language version).

Fundamentals - Europe

In addition to the international fundamental sources,  the following is specific to Europe.

 Amadeus. *: Pan-European financial database containing information on approximately 20 million companies from 45 countries, including all the EU countries and Eastern Europe. Up to 10 years of detailed information (consolidated statements are also provided when available) comprising 22 balance sheet items, 24 profit and loss account items and 25 ratios. The descriptive information includes: official national identification number, address, telephone, fax, website, legal form, year of incorporation, senior managers, auditors, number of employees, quoted/unquoted indicator, industry and activity codes and, when available, a trade description in the local language and English. Also available through WRDS.** Princeton has back data for holdings and subsidiaries on CD for 1998-2009; 2010-2016 is on BluRay).

Fundamentals - India

In addition to the international fundamental sources,  the following is specific to India.

Prowess – Detailed fundamentals data for companies in India.  Both private and public companies are included.  Produced by Centre for the Monitoring of the Indian Economy (CMIE).  Also contains data on Ownership and governance (board composition, meetings, major stakeholders, subsidiaries etc.) and mergers & acquisitions.  Available online.(registration required from a Princeton IP).  

Fundamentals - International - Annual Reports

Princeton has many historic annual reports.  To find, search by the company name in the Catalog.  Additional resources may be found online:

  • Mergent Archives: collection of Moody's/Mergent Manuals. 1909+. (Bank & Finance, Industrial, International, Public Utility, Transportation, Over the Counter Industrial, Over the Counter Unlisted, Municipals).  Also includes Million Dollar Directory (1959-2016); D&B Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios (1979-2016) as well as a large international annual reports collection (larger number of reports become available in the late 1920s.  Some back to the 19th century.)

  • (Wall Street Journal)Annual Reports Service
  • SEDAR (Canadian Documents)
  • EDINET (Japanese Documents)

Fundamentals - Notes

*Must be used for academic purposes only, that is, to support the teaching and research of Princeton University.

** WRDS requires user to validate through password. Must be used for academic purposes only, that is, to support the teaching and research of Princeton University.

Also consult the FAQs.

 Bobray Bordelon and Bobbi Coffey