Skip to Main Content

Finding and using financial data at Princeton University

Guide to major sources of financial data available to Princeton University researchers for academic research.

Industry Research

These sources are designed primarily for industry overviews.   One should use the sources on the Fundamentals page for specific companies.  In particular, Compustat has additional industry specific data for airlines, banking, gaming, home building, health care facilities, lodging, managed health care (HMOs), mining, oil & gas, retail, semiconductors, and utilities. 

  • IBISWorld. Detailed reports of the United States industries up to the 5-digit NAICS code as well as niche industries that do not fit well with existing NAICS codes. Also includes reports for China and the global market.  To access the China section start with the global and you will then see a link for the China site.  Archival reports are included with the current.  See the bottom of the left side of the screen for a current report.
  • Standard and Poor's Global NetAdvantage. Detailed United States & international industry surveys. Click on Industries once in the database. To see historical reports, click on the Industry Surveys, choose your industry & click on the funnel to change to all dates.
  • MarketResearch.com Academic.   Market research on many industries. Includes Perry/Hope Partners (innovative market forecasts reports on 2,000+ cutting-edge markets, such as 3D printing, cryptocurrency, and cloud computing).
     
  • Passport.  International demographic, macro-economic & marketing statistics & reports for 210 countries.  Covers economic indicators, population trends, consumer and lifestyle information, country infrastructure, environment and more.
  • Fitch Connect (formerly BMI Research). Market research reports on 24 industries and 200 global markets, emphasizing emerging markets. Includes extensive economic and political risk ratings and analysis, and macroeconomic analysis and forecasts.
  • Market Share Reporter.  Once in, change series to Market Share Reporter. 1993+ Also see the trends version which has some major series over time.
  • Frost & Sullivan Team Research. Market research on many industries.
  • Snapshots (2001-2008) Worldwide market data for a broad range of industries and regions.
  • World Tourism Organization Database (2001+) Fully cross-searchable portal of World Tourism Organization publications in their respective languages.
  • Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive    
    Offers full-text runs scanned cover-to-cover in high-resolution color of core U.S. and U.K. trade papers and magazines covering film, popular music, broadcasting (television and radio), and theater, together with film fan magazines and music press titles, through 2000. Key titles will include Billboard (1894-2000), Broadcasting (1931-2000), New Musical Express, The Stage (1880-2000), and Variety (1905-2000), among many others. Provides a broad spectrum of valuable research material for multidisciplinary study of the film and media industries.
  • EIU Consumer Goods. 5-year forecasts & news analysis for the international consumer goods industry.
  • EIU Financial Services.   5-year forecasts & news analysis for the international financial services industry.
  • Mergent Archives: collection of Moody's/Mergent Manuals. 1909+. (Bank & Finance, Industrial, International, Public Utility, Transportation, Over the Counter Industrial, Over the Counter Unlisted, Municipals).  Also includes D&B Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios.

  • Statista Statistics portal that integrates facts from a wide range of sources categorized into industries, broad topics, countries, and digital markets.

  • Technavio. Market research reports covering more than 100 industries, including technology, healthcare, retail, energy, aerospace, & automotive.  International in scope.  2013-2017.   Contained in Factiva.  To browse reports, use the command RST=TECHNV

  • ReportLinker Sources.  Free index to various sources (some free; some not).

Also see Industry Research for Entrepreneurs.

 

Also consult the FAQs

Energy and Automotive Sectors

 In addition to the sources in the Industry Research box at the top, see these specialized sources.  Also see Energy - Supply, Demand, and Pricing and the FAQ on the automobile industry. 

 

 Global Data Oil & Gas Detailed statistical reports in the oil & gas industries. Includes exploration & production, refining, LNG, pipelines, storage, tankers, deals & forecasts, as well as the latest research reports, news & opinions.
Global Data Power

Database related to the power industry (electricity, alternative, nuclear, and smart grids), the latest news and deals, company profiles, opinions, and research reports. For electricity includes power plants, transmission and distribution.  Statistical reports on alternative power sources including wind, hydro, solar, geothermal, bio, ocean, transportation biofuels, fuel cells along with energy storage, efficiency, and infrastructure; and carbon. Nuclear industry research includes power generation, active and upcoming projects, fuel cycle plants, test reactors and country policies. Includes data on market value, volume, average price and market share, strategies and technologies implemented in historic, active and upcoming projects across the global smart grid industry.

SNL Energy
Covers more than 9,000 power plants; 3,000 North American energy companies; 1,700 active coal mines and 120 gas pipelines.  Provides detail on financials, supply and demand fundamentals, hourly market pricing and rate cases. Best source for pricing data. Registration from a Princeton domain is required.  Existing users login. A plugin is needed to download data. (Use Chrome or IE)
EIU Automotive Briefing 5-year forecasts & news analysis for the international automotive industry.
EIU Energy 5-year forecasts & news analysis for the international energy industry.

 

Healthcare Sector

  In addition to the sources in the Industry Research box at the top, see these specialized sources and the Health Data Guide.

EIU Healthcare 5-year forecasts & news analysis for the international healthcare industry.

Telecommunications and Information Technology Sectors

In addition to the sources in the Industry Research box at the top, see these specialized sources.

MarketResearch.com Academic Market research on many industries. Includes Perry/Hope Partners (innovative market forecasts reports on 2,000+ cutting-edge markets, such as 3D printing, cryptocurrency, and cloud computing).
eMarketer/Insider Intelligence Research reports and data related to digital marketing, media, commerce, financial services, health, and other industries. Coverage is global and topics include advertising spending, demographics, media, and device usage as well as B2B, content, email, social media and search marketing.
EIU Telecommunications 5-year forecasts and news analysis for the international telecommunications & technology industry.
World Telecommunication/ICT Indicators Database Contains time series data for 1960, 1965, 1970 and annually from 1975-2019 for around 180 different telecommunication and ICT statistics covering the telecommunication network and ICT uptake, mobile services, quality of service, traffic, staff, tariffs, revenue and investment. Data for over 200 economies are available.  Also see ITU Historical Statistics with select data from 1849-1967.

Contacts