Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Scientific Technical Reports at Princeton University: Searching for technical reports

This guide will help you identify and find scientific technical reports in the Princeton University Libraries.

Non-governmental

Princeton University Libraries has extensive report holdings from the following engineering societies:

AIAA (American Institute of Aeronautical and Astronautics). Collection of all the meeting papers from all the conferences of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics. Follow the link for access to full text from Princeton.

IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers). Journals and conferences back to 1988 with selected titles covered previous to 1988. Follow the link for access to full text from Princeton.

SAE (Society of Automotive Engineers). Technical Papers are freely searchable online, but full text is not available. Some papers are published in the SAE Handbook series and available in either the Engineering Library and ReCAP offsite storage. Others may be available on microfiche in the Fine Library basement.

Technical reports research

In general, to locate technical reports on a subject or to verify the citation for an individual report you can start by searching in an index, database or specific engineering society. For assistance, please ask a reference librarian or email techrpts@princeton.edu. Below is a list of indexing and abstracting databases available at Princeton and freely on the Web that you can use to search for tecnical reports.

Aerospace and High Technology Database (1962+). Coverage of basic and applied research in aeronautics, astronautics, and space sciences, including reports issued by NASA, NACA, other U.S. government agencies, international institutions, universities, and private firms.

BIOSIS (1926+). Biosis Previews is the most comprehensive index of journals, meetings, conferences, and symposia in the life sciences. Includes Biological Abstracts and Biological Abstracts/Reports, Reviews & Meetings (BA/RRM).

Engineering Village - Includes Engineering Index (Compendex) 1884+ and Inspec 1896+. Most comprehensive indexes for engineering, physics, electrical and electronic engineering, computer science, and information technology. Both databases can be searched simultaneously by clicking on the checkbox next to the database name.

Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (1967+). Multidisciplinary database, includes Water Resources Abstracts and Pollution Abstracts, containing journal articles and technical reports.

Georef (1793+ North America; 1933+ Worldwide). Includes many special publications, reports, surveys, and series in the geological literature from many societies and governments.

Marcive Webdocs (1976+). Online catalog of U.S. government publications dating back to mid-1976. Direct links to documents on the web are provided. Browsable by report number.

NTIS (1964+). National Technical Information Service serves as the largest central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available. It has the most completet coverage for U. S. government reports.

NTRL (National Technical Reports Library) (1964+) Historical and current unclassified United States government technical reports archived by the National Technical Information Service; includes many full-text documents from Department of Energy, NASA, and the Environmental Protection Agency. Must create a free individual account to access full text.

Science.gov (1950+). Searches over 40 databases and 1,950 selected websites, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information, including research and development results. Includes specific databases such as DTIC, DOE Energy Citations Database, Energy Information Administration, NASA Technical Reports Server and National Service for Environmental Publications.

TRAIL The Technical Report Archive and Image Library (TRAIL) is a project from the Center for Research Libraries (CRL) to digitize U.S. Government reports prior to 1975. The collection is still growing and currently includes many reports from the Atomic Energy Commission and the Bureau of Mines.

Librarian

Profile Photo
Willow Dressel
Contact:
Engineering Library
Fine Hall, Princeton University
Email: wdressel@princeton.edu
Engineering Library Website
609-258-6567
Website