Skip to main content

Russia, Eastern Europe, and Eurasia: A Research Guide: General Bibliographies

General Bibliographies

General bibliographies list books published in a specific area and/or about a specific area.  They have no focus and aim instead for comprehensiveness.  They can provide a picture of the bibliographic output of a particular place at a particular time, or give an idea of what has been written or created about a given country or region.  For an official listing of all registered publications in a given country, please see National Bibliographies.

General Area

Pearson, Raymond.  Russia and Eastern Europe, 1789-1985: a bibliographical guide.  Manchester: Manchester University Press; New York: St. Martin's Press, 1989.  (SLAV and RCPPA) Z2483.R83 1989 

Annotated bibliography of English-language books on Russia, the Soviet Union, and Eastern Europe.  "Eastern Europe" here includes the Slavic countries, Albania, the Baltic states, Hungary, and Romania, as well as the Habsburg, Ottoman, and Russian Empires as entities.

Official publications of the Soviet Union and Eastern Europe, 1945-1980: a select annotated bibliography.  Ed. Gregory Walker.  London: Mansell, 1982.  (SLAV and DR) Z2499.O47

"Eastern Europe" in this context includes the Slavic countries, Hungary, Romania, Albania, and the German Democratic Republic.

Horak, Stephan M.  Russia, the USSR, and Eastern Europe: a bibliographic guide to English-language publications, 1964-1974.  Littleton, Colo.: Libraries Unlimited, 1978.  (F and RCPPA) Z2483.H54

Horak, Stephan M.  Russia, the Soviet Union, and Eastern Europe: a bibliographic guide to English-language publications, 1975-1980.  Littleton, Colo.: Libraries Unlimited, 1982.  (RCPPA) Z2483.H54 Suppl.

Horak, Stephan M.  Russia, the Soviet Union, and Eastern Europe: a bibliographic guide to English-language publications, 1981-1985.  Littleton, Colo.: Libraries Unlimited, 1987.  (FNC) Z2483.H543 1987

The Horak books cover publications on the former Soviet Union, the Slavic countries of Central, Eastern, and Southeastern Europe, the former East Germany, Hungary, Romania, and Albania.

Sullivan, Helen F., and Robert H. Burger.  Russia and Eastern Europe: a bibliographic guide to English-language publications, 1992-1999.  Englewood, Colo.: Libraries Unlimited, 2001.  (F) Z2483.S86 2001

Covers the Russian Federation, the Slavic countries, Hungary, Romania, and Albania.

The Russian Empire, the Soviet Union, and the Russian Federation

BIBLIOGRAPHIES COVERING PRIMARILY PUBLICATIONS IN RUSSIAN

Arans, David.  Russkie knigi za rubezhom, 1980-1995.  M.: Gos. publich. istorich. b-ka Rossii, 2002.  (SLAV) Z2491.A73 2002

Horecky, Paul L.  Basic Russian publications: an annotated bibliography on Russia and the Soviet Union.  Chicago,: The University of Chicago Press, 1962.  (SLAV, F, and RCPPA) Z2491.H6 1962

Katalog: russkie ofitsial'nye i vedomstvennye izdaniia, XIX-nachala XX veka.  SPb: Blits, 1995-1999.  6 v.  (SLAV and SA) Z2499.A872 1995

Opisanie izdanii, napechatannykh pri Petre Pervom: svodnyi katalog.  Sost. T. A. Bykova i M. M. Gurevich.  M.: Izd-vo Akad. nauk SSSR, 1955-1958.  (F and SLAV) Z2492.B94

Sopikov, Vasilii Stepanovich.  Opyt rossiiskoi bibliografii.  S.-Peterburg : Izd. A.S. Suvorina, 1904-1906.  (F) Z2491.S71

Svodnyi katalog russkoi knigi grazhdanskoi pechati XVIII, 1725-1800.  M. : Gos. b-ka imeni Lenina, 1962-1965.  (F) Z2492.S85

BIBLIOGRAPHIES COVERING PRIMARILY PUBLICATIONS IN WESTERN-EUROPEAN LANGUAGES

Horecky, Paul L.  Russia and the Soviet Union: a bibliographic guide to Western-language publications.  Chicago: The University of Chicago Press, 1965.  (RCPPA) Z2491.H64 and 0427.476.2

Sullivan, Helen F., and Robert H. Burger.  Russia and the former Soviet Union: a bibliographic guide to English-language publications, 1986-1991.  Englewood, Colo.: Libraries Unlimited, 1994.  (RCPPA) Z2491.S89 1994

Wynar, Bohdan S.  Ukraine: a bibliographic guide to English-language publications.  Englewood, Colo.: Ukrainian Academic Press, 1990.  (RCPPA) Z2514.U5 W9 1990

Covers materials published from 1950 to 1989, with selected earlier works included.

Wynar, Bohdan S.  Independent Ukraine: a bibliographic guide to English-language publications, 1989-1999.  Englewood, Colo.: Ukrainian Academic Press, 2000.  (F) Z2519.6.W96 2000

Continues publication above.

Eastern Europe

THE REGION

Horecky, Paul L.  East Central Europe: a guide to basic publications.  Chicago: The University of Chicago Press, 1969.  (SLAV and RCPPA) Z2483.H56

Covers then-Czechoslovakia, then-East Germany, Hungary, Poland, and the Sorbians and Polabians.

Horecky, Paul L.  Southeastern Europe: a guide to basic publications.  Chicago: The University of Chicago Press, 1969.  (SLAV and F) Z2831.H67 1969

Burger, Robert H., and Helen F. Sullivan.  Eastern Europe: a bibliographic guide to English-language publications, 1986-1993.  Englewood, Colo.: Libraries Unlimited, 1995.  (FNC) Z2483.B89 1995

Covers the former Czechoslovakia, the former East Germany, Poland, Hungary, Romania, Bulgaria, the former Yugoslavia, and Albania.

Official publications of the Soviet Union and Eastern Europe, 1945-1980: a select annotated bibliography.  Ed. Gregory Walker.  London: Mansell, 1982.  (SLAV and DR) Z2499.O47

"Eastern Europe" in this context includes the Slavic countries, Hungary, Romania, Albania, and the German Democratic Republic.

Pearson, Raymond.  Russia and Eastern Europe, 1789-1985: a bibliographical guide.  Manchester: Manchester University Press; New York: St. Martin's Press, 1989.  (SLAV and RCPPA) Z2483.R83 1989

Annotated bibliography of English-language books on Russia, the Soviet Union, and Eastern Europe.  "Eastern Europe" here includes the Slavic countries, Albania, the Baltic states, Hungary, and Romania, as well as the Habsburg, Ottoman, and Russian Empires as entities.

CZECHOSLOVAKIA, THE CZECH REPUBLIC, AND SLOVAKIA

Czech- and Slovak-Language Books

Knihopis ceskoslovenskych tisku od doby nejstarsi az do konce XVIII. stoleti.  Praha: V komisi knihkupectvi F. Topice, 1925-1967.  (F, SLAV, and RCPPA) Z2131.C85 1925q

Issued in parts: volume 1 list incunabula (to 1500), with separate text and tables; volume 2, in nine parts, lists books to 1800.  Firestone has the text of v. 1 and v. 2, pts. 1-9; the Slavic Graduate Study Room has v. 2, pt. 7, and ReCAP owns the tables of v. 1.  Please note that the issue in ReCAP can only be used within the library- see catalog record for details.

Rizner, L'udovit V.  Bibliografia pisomnictva slovenskeho na sposob slovnika od najstarsich cias do konca r. 1900 Martin: Naklad. Matice slovenskej, 1929-1934.  (F) Z2137.S6 R6 1929

Misianek, Jan.  Bibliografia slovenskeho pisomnictva do konca XIX storocia: doplnky k Riznerovej bibliografii.  Bratislava: Slovenska akad. vied a umeni, 1946.  (F) Z2137.S56 M575 1946

Ormis, Jan Vladimir.  Doplnky a opravy k Riznerovej bibliografii.  Martin: Matica slovenska, 1972.  (ANXA) Z2137.S6 O75

Rizner's bibliography covers early printed books to 1900.  The two supplemental volumes correct errors and add previously unknown volumes.

Soupis ceskoslovenske literatury za leta 1901-1925.  Praha: Nakl. Svazu knihkupcuv a nakladatelu Ceskoslovenske republiky, 1931-1933.  (F, SLAV, and CTSN Reference) Z2131.S72 1931q

Bibliografia slovenskych knih, 1901-1918.  Martin: Matica slovenska, 1964.  (SLAV) Z2137.S6 xB49

Bibliografia slovenskych knih, 1919-1938.  Martin: Matica slovenska, 1979-1980.  (SLAV) Z2137.S6 B5

Retrospective bibliographies created as part of the Slovak national bibliography (see National Bibliographies).

Jedina cesta.  Vyberova bibliogr. k 50. vyroci CSSR.  Praha: Kniha, 1968.  (ANXA) Z2136.J4

Sedlak, Jan.  Slovenska kniha, 1939-1941.  Bratislava: Osvetove ustredie pri Ministerstve skolstva a narodnej osvety, 1942.  (RCPPA) PG5406.S4 1942

Bibliografia slovenskej kniznej tvorby.  Bratislava: Matica slovenska, 1942-  (F) Z2124.S56 B5

Issued as a serial.  PUL's print holdings cover 1944/1945.

Knopp, Frantisek.  Ceska nezavisla literatura v ohlasech: vyberova bibligrafie knih a clanku od roku 1990.  Praha: Primus, 1994.  (SLAV) Z2138.L5 K65 1994 

Books About the Region in Various Languages

Kuzmik, Jozef.  Bibliografia slovanskych knih tykajucich sa slovenskych veci vydanych od XVI. stor. do r. 1955.  Martin: Matica slovenska, 1959.  (F) Z2124.S56 K76 1959

Kuzmik, Jozef.  Bibliografia knih v zapadnych reciach tykajucich sa slovenskych veci vydanych od XVI. stor. do r. 1955.  Martin: Matica slovenska, 1959.  (F) Z2124.S56 K75 1959

Kuzmik, Jozef.  Bibliografia knih vo vychodnych reciach tykajucich sa slovenskych veci, vydanych do r. 1955.  Martin: Matica slovenska, 1960.  (F) Z2124.S56 K753 1960

The first of these bibliographies covers books in Slavic languages (including Czech). the second covers Western-European languages, and the third covers Asian languages (including the Finno-Ugric languages as well as languages spoken in Asia).

Capek, Thomas, and Anna V. Capek.  Bohemian (Cech) bibliography: a finding list of writings in English relating to Bohemia and the Cechs.  New York: F. H. Revell, 1918.  (SLAV) Z2136.C27 1918

Bestaux, Eugene.  Bibliographie tcheque: contenant un certain nombre d'ouvrages sur la tcheco-slovaquie, en langues diverses (a l'exclusion des langues slaves).  Prague: A. Reis, 1920.  (F) Z2136.B478 1920

Covers selected books in non-Slavic languages on the former Czechoslovakia.

Bibliographia Hungariae... Verzeichnis der 1861-1921 erschienenen, Ungarn betreffenden Schriften in nicht ungarischer Sprache.  Berlin; Leipzig: W. de Gruyter & Co., 1923-1929.  (F) Z2141.B535 1923

Covers books on the subject of Hungary (which for most of the period covered included what is now Slovakia) in languages other than Hungarian.

Publikace o Ceskoslovensku v cizich jazycich.  Prague: Orbis, 1928.  (ANXA) Z2139.Z9 O6

Covers books in languages other than Czech or Slovak.

Zahranicni bohemica.  Praha: Narodni knihovna, 1956-1961.  (F) Z926.Z347

Zahranicni bohemica a slovacika.  Praha: Narodni knihovna, 1962-  (F) Z926.Z347

Annual bibliography of Czech and Slovak books published abroad in translation and foreign-language books about the region.  PUL's print holdings cover 1956 to 1958, 1960, 1962 to 1965, and 1971 to 1972.

Sturm, Rudolf.  Czechoslovakia: a bibliographic guide.  Washington, D. C.: Library of Congress, 1967.  (F) Z2136.S7 1968

POLAND

Estreicher, Karol Jozef Teofil.  Bibliografia polska.  Warszawa: Wydawn. Artystyczne i Filmowe, 1977.  (F) Z2521.E82 1977

Covers books about Poland and books in the Polish language published from 1455 to 1900.

Wierzbowski, Teodor.  Bibliographia Polonica XV ac XVI ss.  Nieuwkoop: B. De Graaf, 1961.  (F) Z2522.W65

Bibliography of works by Polish scholars and scientists published outside Poland in languages other than Polish.  Ed. Maria Danilewicz and Jadwiga Nowak.  London: Polish Society of Arts and Sciences Abroad, 1964-  (ANXA) Z2524.P65

PUL's print holdings cover volume 1 (1939-1962).

Bibliography of books in Polish or relating to Poland published outside Poland since September 1st 1939.  London: Polish Library, 1953-  (F) Z2528.A5 B5

PUL's print holdings cover vol. 1 (1939-1951) to vol. 9 (1983-1986) with some gaps.

Rister, Herbert.  Schrifttum uber Polen 1943-1951 mit besonderer Berucksichtigung des Posener Landes (Auswahl).  Marburg/Lahn: SL, 1953.  (F) Z2526.R578 1953

Bibliographie sur la Pologne: pays, histoire, civilisation.  2. izd.  Warszawa: PWN, 1964.  (ANXA) Z2526.xP6 1964