Skip to main content

Russia, Eastern Europe, and Eurasia: A Research Guide: Books

Contents

  • Finding Books in the Princeton University Library Online Catalog
  • Online Catalogs Outside Princeton University
  • Printed Library and Booksellers' Catalogs

Recent Acquisitions by PUL

New Titles in the Princeton University Library

Use this link to see the newest materials available to users of the PUL system. You can sort by location, format, language, or call number range, and see books cataloged within the last week, the last month, or the last year.

Some call-number ranges that might be of interest to researchers in Russian and Eurasian Studies:

D-DR:

     includes DAW (history of Central Europe), DB (history of the Austria, Lichtenstein, the Czech Republic, Slovakia, and Hungary), DJK (history of Eastern Europe), DK (history of Russia, the former Soviet states [excepting Central Asia], the Soviet Union, and Poland), and DR (history of the Balkan Peninsula).

DS-DX:

     includes DS (Jewish history and history of Central Asia) and DX (history of the Roma).

PG:

     includes Slavic languages and literatures, Baltic languages and literatures, and Albanian language and literature.

Finding Books in the Princeton University Library Online Catalog

Princeton University Library Online Catalog

Follow this link to find books at the Princeton University Library.  While the default search is KEYWORD (which will pick up the word you type wherever it appears in the record), searching by TITLE or AUTHOR may bring more precise results if you are looking for a specific work. 

If you are doing a search to find what PUL owns on your topic, a useful technique is to use fixed vocabulary (Library of Congress Subject Headings) to search under SUBJECT.  The library catalog has a 'subject browse' feature, which will allow you to see all the narrower subdivisions we have under a larger subject by scrolling down.  For example, if you are looking for materials on Pushkin, Aleksandr Sergeevich, 1799-1837, looking below the general subject will show that PUL owns materials on such specific topics as:

Pushkin, Aleksandr Sergeevich, 1799-1837--Anecdotes

Pushkin, Aleksandr Sergeevich, 1799-1837--Biography--Exile--Moldova

Pushkin, Aleksandr Sergeevich, 1799-1837--Characters--Tatiana

(Not to mention biographies of him, bibliographies of work about him, and works of criticism and interpretation on almost all of his literary output.)

Searches can be limited by date, language, or format by clicking on the 'More limits' box at the bottom right.  This will only work if you are doing a title or a keyword search.  If you need to limit any other kind of search (for example, if you want to retrieve only books in Russian by Vladimir Nabokov), please try the 'Advanced Search' feature in WorldCat.

Searches can also be truncated (using the question mark [?] symbol) in those cases where you are unsure of exact spelling or would like the option of picking up plurals, adjectives, etc.  This is especially helpful when doing keyword searches in Russian, as the search term Brodsk? will pick up books such as Dialogi s Iosifom Brodskim, Muzykal'nyi mir Iosifa Brodskogo, and Dva shedevra o Brodskom.  The system also allows for internal truncation; the search term zapis?k? will retrieve both records containing the word zapiski and those containing the word zapisok.

PUL (and other US research libraries) uses the Library of Congress Romanization tables to transliterate the Cyrillic alphabets.  There are, however, some exceptions to the rules.  While the records themselves use the quotation mark (") to represent the tverdyi znak, using this symbol in your search will invalidate it; therefore, please eliminate it from your search terms (eg podezd rather than pod"ezd).  (Using the apostrophe ['] to represent the miagkii znak will not affect your search.)  The other thing to remember when searching is that in the case of figures well-known outside Russia, the library uses the best-known forms of their names in the catalog, which may not necessarily be the correct Library of Congress transliteration (Tolstoy, Leo, graf, 1828-1910, Dostoyevsky, Fyodor, 1821-1881, and Tchaikovsky, Peter Ilich, 1840-1893 are some of the more notable examples).  If you search using the Library of Congress transliteration for the name you want, the system will direct you to the spelling used by the library.

Other Online Catalogs

Rossiiskaia Gosudarstvennaia Biblioteka

Rossiiskaia Natsional'naia Biblioteka

Russia has two state libraries: the Russian State Library (Rossiiskaia Gosudarstvennaia Biblioteka) in Moscow and the Russian National Library (Rossiiskaia Natsional'naia Biblioteka) in St. Petersburg.  The Russian State Library was formerly known as the Lenin Library and is still popularly known by that name.  The Russian National Library was previously termed the Saltykov-Shchedrin Library.  Both have catalogs of print and e-resources that can be searched on the Web, but you must search in Russian.  (The RSL catalog has a Russian-language keyboard that can be activated if the device you are using isn't Russified.) 

WorldCat

WorldCat is an electronic union catalog that lists more than 40 million items around the world.  You can search for Princeton University Library items by limiting your search, but remember that WorldCat does not contain every item to which you have access through Princeton.

How to Obtain Items Not Held by PUL

Borrow Direct

If a book or music score you want is not owned by PUL or is checked out to someone else, BorrowDirect is often the quickest way to obtain it if it is held by one of the other Ivies, MIT, the University of Chicago, or CRL.  Please note that this service is only available to Princeton University students, faculty, and staff and can only be used to obtain single volumes of books and music scores.

Interlibrary Services

Please use this link if you anticipate needing to make an inter-library loan (ILL) request for an item not held by any of the BorrowDirect libraries (see above) or an item in a format that is not available through BorrowDirect.  This link will also lead you to Article Express, a service that allows you to access print or electronic copies of articles not available in Princeton University journals or databases.  Please see the information pages for these two services for details.

Printed Library and Booksellers' Catalogs

On occasion, especially if you are doing intensive bibliographic research or are trying to track down a rare book or manuscript, a printed catalog can be helpful to you.  Here is a selection of printed library and booksellers' catalogs available in PUL:

Gosudarstvennaia publichnaia biblioteka im. M.E. Saltykova-Shchedrina.  Catalogue de la section des Russica, ou Ecrits sur la Russie en langues etrangeres.  St-Peterburg : Impr. de l'Academie Imperiale des Sciences, 1873.  (SLAV) Z2519.L57 1873

Gosudarstvennyi istoricheskii muzei (Moscow, R.S.F.S.R.)  Katalog knig biblioteki Alekseia Petrovicha Bakhrushina.  Moskva: Tipo-lit. A. P. Korkin', A. V. Beiderman', 1911-1912.  T. 2.  (F) Z2519.M76

Library of Congress.  Catalog Publication Division.  The Slavic Cyrillic union catalog of pre-1956 imprints.  Totowa, N.J.: Rowan and Littlefield, 1980.  (FILM) MICROFICHE 516

New York Public Library.  Slavonic Division.  Dictionary catalog of the Slavonic collection.  2nd rev. enl. ed.  Boston: G. K. Hall, 1974.  (RCPPA) Oversize Z881.xN46 1974q

Smirdin, Aleksandr Filippovich, 1795-1857.  Rospis' rossiiskim knigam dlia chtenii iz biblioteki Aleksandra Smirdina, sistematicheskim poriadkom raspolozhennaia ; v chetyrekh chastiakh, s prilozheniam azbuchnoi rospisi imen sochinitelei i perevodchikov, i kratkoi rospis' knigam po azbuchnomu poriadku.  Sankt-Peterburg : V tip. Aleksandra Smirdina, 1828. (RCPPA) 0513.862