Skip to main content

Russia, Eastern Europe, and Eurasia: A Research Guide: Biographical Dictionaries

Contents

  • Pre-Revolutionary Russian Empire
  • Union of Soviet Socialist Republics
  • Russian Federation and the CIS
  • Eastern Europe
  • Specialized Biographical Dictionaries
  • Bibliographies and Indexes

Pre-Revolutionary Russian Empire

Bantysh-Kamenskii, D.N. (Dmitrii Nikolaevich), 1788-1850.  Slovar' dostopamiatnykh liudei Russkoi zemli, soderzhashchii v sebie zhizn' i dieianiia znamenitykh polkovodtsev, ministrov i muzhei gosudarstvennykh, velikikh ierarkhov pravoslavnoi tserkvi, otlichnykh literatorov i uchenykh, izviestnykh po uchastiiu v sobytiiakh otechestvennoi istorii.  Moskva : Izdan. A. Shiriaevym, 1836.  (F) DK37.B3 1836

Chleny Gosudarstvennoi Dumy: portrety i biografii : chetvertyi sozyv 1912-1917 gg.   Sost. M.M. Boiovich.  M.: "RusKonsaltingGrupp", 2005.  (SLAV) JN6554.C435 2005s

Deiateli revoliutsionnogo dvizheniia v Rossii: bio-bibliograficheskii slovar': ot predshestvennikov dekabristov do padeniia tsarizma.  Moskva: Izd-vo Vsesoiuznogo obshchestva politicheskikh katorzhan i ssyl'no-poselentsev, 1927-1934.  (F) DK266.D453 1927

Russkii biograficheskii slovar'.  Sankt-Peterburg : Izd. Imp. Russkago istoricheskago obshchestva, 1896-  (FNC) CT1203.R7

Union of Soviet Socialist Republics

A biographical directory of 100 leading Soviet officials.  Comp. Alexander G. Rahr.  Boulder, Colo.: Westview Press, 1990.  (SLAV and RCCPA) JN6521.R34 1990

Garniuk, S.D.  Sovet Narodnykh Komissarov SSSR, Sovet Ministrov SSSR, Kabinet Ministrov SSSR, 1923-1991: entsiklopedicheskii spravochnik.  Moskva: Izd-vo ob"edineniia "Mosgorarkhiv", 1999.  (SLAV) JN6542

Lazic, Branko M., and Milorad M. Drachkovitch.  Biographical dictionary of the Comintern.  New, rev. enl. ed.  Stanford, Calif.: Hoover Institution Press, 1986.  (F) HX23.L35 1986

Portraits of prominent USSR personalities.  Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1968-1972.  (F) DK37.P6

The Soviet biographic archive 1954-1985 [microform].  Cambridge; Alexandria, Va.: Chadwyck-Healey in association with RFE-RL, Inc. and the Hoover Institution, 1986.  (FILM) MICROFICHE 1026

Soviet biographical service.  Minneapolis, Minn.: J. L. Scherer, 1985-2002.  (RCPPA) DK290.S66

Vronskaya, Jeanne, and Vladimir Chuguev.  The biographical dictionary of the former Soviet Union: prominent people in all fields from 1917 to the present.  2nd ed.  London; N. J.: Bowker-Saur, 1992.  (SLAV and FNC) CT1203.V766 1992q

Who's who in the Soviet government.  Moscow: Novosti, 1990.  (RCPPA) JN6521.W46

Who was who in the USSR; a biographic directory containing 5,015 biographies of prominent Soviet historical personalities.  Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1972.  (FNC) CT1212.I57

Who's who in the Soviet Union : a biographical encyclopedia of 5,000 leading personalities in the Soviet Union.  Munchen; New York: K.G. Saur, 1984.  (F) DK37.W48 1984q

Who's who in the USSR.  Montreal: Intercontinental Book and Pub. Co., 1962-1966.  (F) DK275.A1 W467

Russian Federation and the CIS

Longman biographical directory of decision-makers in Russia and the successor states.  Ed. Martin McCauley.  Longman Current Affairs.  Harlow, U.K.; Detroit, Mich.: Longman; Gale Research, 1993.  (SLAV) CT1215.R87 L663 1993

Who is Who in Russia

Digital biographical dictionary of the modern Russian Federation.  Browse alphabetically by name or by category of person (e.g. Heroes of the Soviet Union, Astronauts, Lawyers).  In Russian.  Available only to Princeton University users and/or to those using Princeton University Library computers.

Eastern Europe

CZECH REPUBLIC

Kdo byl kdo v nasich dejinach do roku 1918.  V Prachaticich: Rovina, 1992.  (SLAV) CT933.K362 1992

POLAND

Kto byl kim w Drugiej Rzeczpospolitej.  Warszawa: Polska Oficyna Wyd. "BGW", 1994.  (SLAV) CT1230.K762 1994

Polski slownik biograficzny.  Krakow : Nakl. Polskiej Akademii Umiejetnosci, 1935- (F) CT1230.P65

Specialized Biographical Dictionaries

ACADEMIC

Biograficheskii slovar' professorov i prepodavatelei Imperatorskago S.-Peterburgskago Universiteta za istekshuiu tretiu chetvert vieka ego sushchestvovaniia, 1869-1894.  S-Peterburg : Tip. B.M. Volfa, 1896-98.  (RCPPA) Z2500.L56 1896

Biograficheskii slovar' professorov i prepodavateli Imperatorskago Moskovskago universiteta.  M.: Universitetskaia Tipografiia, 1855.  Ch. 2.  (F) Z5055.R9 M75 1855

Bulakhau, M.H.  Vostochnoslavianskie iazykovedy : biobibliograficheskii slovar'.  Minsk: Izd-vo BGU im. V. I. Lenina, 1976-1978.  (F) PG33.B8

Chernobaev, A. A.  Istoriki Rossii: kto est' kto v izuchenii otechestvennoi istorii.  Saratov, Izd-vo "Letopis'," 1998.  (SLAV) Z2506.C474 1998

Miliband, Sofiia Davidovna.  Biobibliograficheskii slovar' otechestvennykh vostokovedov s 1917 g.  2nd rev. enl. ed.  Moskva: Nauka, 1995.  (F) DS32.M54 1995

Shernovaev, Anatolii Aleksandrovich.  Istoriki Rossii : kto est' kto v izuchenii otechestvennoi istorii : biobibliograficheskii slovar'.  Saratov : Izdatelskii tsentr Saratovskoi gos. ekon. Akademii, 1998.  (SLAV) Z2506.C474 1998

Slavianovedenie v dorevoliutsionnoi Rossii : biobibliograficheskii slovar'.  M.: Nauka, 1979.  (SLAV and ANXA) Z2483.S55

Slavianovedenie v SSSR: izuchenie iuzhnykh i zapadnykh slavian: biobibliograficheskii slovar'.  Red. IU. V. Bromlei.  New York: Norman Ross, 1993.  (SLAV) Z2483.S553 1993

AUTHORS, BELLES-LETTRISTS, AND LITERARY SCHOLARS

Ceska a slovenska literatura v exilu a samizdatu: informatorium pro ucitele, studenty i laiky.  Olomouc: Hanacke noviny, 1991.  (SLAV) Z2138.L5 C374 1991

Cesti spisovatele 19, a pocatku 20. stoleti: slovnikova prirucka.  Praha: Ceskoslovensky spisovatel, 1982.  (SLAV) Z2138.L5 C47

Cesti spisovatele 20. stoleti: slovnikova prirucka.  Praha: Ceskoslovensky spisovatel, 1985.  (F) PG5004.C47 1985

Maly slownik pisarzy polskich na obczyznie 1939-1980.  Warszawa: Wydawn. Interpress, 1992.  (SLAV) PG7367.K552 1992

Obshchestvo liubitelei rossiiskoi slovesnosti.  Slovar' chlenov Obshchestva liubitelei rossiiskoi slovesnosti pri Moskovskom universitetie, 1811-1911.  [M. : Pechatnaia A. Snegirevoi], 1911.  (F) PG2013.O274 1911

Russkie pisateli, 1800-1917 : biograficheskii slovar'.  M.: Sov. entsiklopediia, 1989- (SLAV) PG2991.3.R85

Russkie pisateli 20 veka: biograficheskii slovar'.  M.: Bolshaia nauch. entsiklopediia, 2000.  (SLAV) PG2993.R873 2000

Slovnik ceskych spisovatelu: pokus o rekonstrukci dejin ceske literatury, 1948-1979.  Toronto: Sixty-Eight Publishers, 1982.  (SLAV) Z2138.L5 S58 1982

Sovetskie pisateli : avtobiografii.  M.: Gos. izd-vo khudozh. lit-ry, 1959-  (F) PG2991.S6 1959

Spravochnyi slovar' o russkikh pisateliakh i uchenykh : umershikh v XVIII-XIX stolietiiakh i spisok russkikh knig s 1725 po 1825 g.  Sost. Grigorii Gennadi.  Berlin : Tip. Rosenthal, 1876-1908.  (ANXA) Z2500.G35; 1969 reprint (RCPPA) 0427.384.2 1969

Vengerov, S. A.  Kritiko-biograficheskii slovar' russkikh pisatelei i uchenykh: ot nachala russkoi obrazovannosti do nashikh dnei.  St-Peterburg: Semenovskaia tipo-lit. (I. Efrona), 1889-1904.  6 T.  (RCPPA) 3024.932; (Microforms) MICROFICHE 442

CINEMA

See the Dictionaries and Encyclopedias page of the Russian and Soviet Cinema LibGuide.

EMIGRE COMMUNITIES

Khisamutdinov, A. A. (Amir Aleksandrovich).  Rossiiskaia emigratsiia v Aziatsko i Tikhookeanskom regione i IUzhnoi Amerika: biobibliograficheskii slovar'.  Vladivostok : Izd-vo Dalnevostochnogo un-ta, 2001.  (F) DK35.5.K455 2000

Nezabytye mogily: rossiiskoe zarubezh'e: nekrologi 1917-1997 v shesti tomakh.  Sost. V. N. Chuvakov.  M.: Rossiiskaia gos. biblioteka, 1999-2007.  (F) DK510.36.N49 1999q 

MILITARY

Bantysh-Kamenskii, D.N. (Dmitrii Nikolaevich), 1788-1850.  Biografii rossiiskikh generalissimusov i general-feldmarshalov.  Moskva: "Kultura", 1990-1991.  (F) DK50.8.B3 1991

PSEUDONYMS

Dei, Oleksii Ivanovych.  Slovnyk ukrains'kykh psevdonimiv ta kryptonimiv.  Kyiv: Naukova dumka, 1969.  (SLAV and RCPPA) Z1073.D4 1969

Masanov, I.F.  Slovar' psevdonimov russkikh pisatelei, uchenykh i obshchestvennykh deiatelei.  V chetyrekh tomakh.  Moskva : Izd-vo Vses. knizh. palaty, 1956-1960.  (RCPPA) 0409.621

RUSSIAN ORTHODOX CHURCH

Shirokov, Sergii.  Biograficheskii slovar missionerov Russkoi pravoslavnoi tserkvi.  M.: Belyi gorod, 2004.  (F) BV2123.S555 2004

Bibliographies and Indexes

Biography and Genealogy Master Index

An index of multiple English-language reference sources that offer biographical information.  Note that this is not a full-text database; your search will retrieve citations to other works.  A convenient way to search many biographical dictionaries at once.  Available only to Princeton University users and/or to those using Princeton University Library computers.

Kaufman, I. M.  Russkie biograficheskie i bioibliograficheskie slovari.  Moskva : Gos. izd-vo kulturno-prosvetitel'noi lit-ry, 1955.  (SLAV) Z5305.R9 K32

Slocum, Robert B.  Biographical dictionaries and related works : an international bibliography of approximately 16,000 collective biographies.  2nd ed.  Detroit, Mich.: Gale Research Co., 1986.  (DR) Z5301.S55 1986