Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Managing Citations and Bibliographies
Citation managers help to store, organize, and output citations in a preferred format. Three options are available to Princeton users—EndNote (computer software program), RefWorks (Web-based access to Princeton users only), and Zotero (Web-based, open source). All three have their pluses and minuses.
Using EndNote at Princeton
Everything you need to know about using EndNote at Princeton. The leader among bibliographic managment applications. Endnote is a robust, locally installed (rather than web-based) application which can handled the book-length documents and complex scenarios but has a steep learning curve.
Using RefWorks at Princeton
Everything you need to know about using RefWorks at Princeton. RefWorks is a relatively easy-to-use, Web-based product available to all Princeton users. It allows you to import references from Princeton's Main Catalog and many electronic databases to which Princeton subscribes. You can conveniently compile a list of sources you intend to read--as you identify them--and save the list online.
Easy-to-use open source tool that is accessible via the web—works right in your Firefox browser. Using Zotero, it is easy to capture and save citations found on Web pages, and to add notes and other information to saved citations for efficient organization. Lacks the storage capabilities of Refworks and Endnote.
Online Style Guides for Music
Notes Style Sheet
Designed for the editors of Notes--the journal of the Music Library Association--and filled with useful examples for citing and writing about music materials.
Style Guides for Music (Print)
These brief manuals offer guidance and tips on how to write about music—from reviews to concert reports to research papers, as well as how to cite sources, label music examples, and so much more.
Writing about Music: A Style Sheet by
Call Number: Reference (SV) ML 3797 .W75 2014
New edition! Covers some of the thorniest issues of musical discourse: how to describe musical works and procedures in prose, citation rules in notes and bibliography, and proper preparation of such materials as musical examples, tables, and illustrations. Sections discuss program notes and best practices for student writers. An appendix lists common problem words.
Writing about Music: An Introductory Guide by
Call Number: Reference (SV) ML 3797 .W54 2009
Provides clear, step-by-step explanations of the process of writing a paper based on a musical topic. Covers latest research methodology, resources, and technology, as well as organization, drafting, editing, and basic writing skills.
A Short Guide to Writing about Music by
Call Number: Reference (SV) ML 3797 .B4 2007
Examines a wide range of writing assignments for undergraduate music courses, sch as writing reviews, analyses, essays, research papers, and preparing a final manuscript. Employs a variety of samples to illustrate effective writing.
How to Write about Music: The RILM Manual of Style by
Call Number: Reference (SV) ML 3797 .H69 2005
Addresses the special problems encountered when writing about music, including chapters on nomenclature, foreign language, punctuation, and abstract writing. Includes material not covered in standard writing manuals.
Citing Sources & Writing with Style
"The indispensable online reference for all who work with words." The standard guide to English editorial practice, offering guidelines for bibliographic citations and writing style.
Chicago-Style Quick Citation Guide
"Students, researchers, writers: for help citing sources, visit the Quick Guide to see clear examples of how to use Chicago-style citation."
Audiovisual Citation: BUVFC Guidelines for Referencing Moving Image and Sound
Released in March 2013 by the British Universities Film & Video Council. Designed to encourage best practice in citing any kind of audiovisual item, including film; television programmes; radio programmes; audio recordings; DVD extras; clips; trailers; adverts; idents; non-broadcast, amateur and archive material; podcasts; vodcasts; and games.