Locate online and print resources, including key databases, catalogs, Web sites, and bibliographies, as well as search strategies, locations, and a wealth of other information about music at Princeton.
Many musicals are only published as excerpts that feature the main songs. This link searches the Princeton catalog for these selections, as well as anthologies with songs from musicals. Arrangement is by title.
Includes copious data on over 4,800 American musicals, including all Broadway, off-Broadway, resident theater productions 1877-1995, as well as other production types. Pt. 1 of the 4-vol. set lists all shows alphabetically; pt. 2 presents exhaustive indexes of songs, personnel, and a chronological listing of titles.
"Provides information on every musical produced on Broadway since Oklahoma in 1943. Each entry contains a brief synopsis; the pre-Broadway story; the facts of the Broadway run itself, with dates, theatres, and cast and crew; and post-Broadway information with a detailed list of later notable productions, along with important reviews and awards."
Essential 3-volume reference volume for starting research projects on all aspects of musical theater, chock full of useful information. Features substantive entries under the titles of individual shows, and entries on librettists, lyricists, and composers cite all relevant works.
Covers all stage productions with published or recorded songs by 40 composers from Jerome Kern through Jeanine Tesori. Also includes notable scores by other composers, chronological listing of productions, collaborator reference listing, and song and show title indexes.
Expanded and updated 3rd edition. Presents 21 articles by leading scholars in the field divided into four parts: "Adaptations and Transformations: Before 1940," Maturations and Formulations: 1940-1970," Evolutons and Integrations: After 1970," and "Legacies and Transfmormations."
A first stop for the researcher. Sections include reference works and general histories; musical theater surveys; film and television musicals; works and creators; performers; performance studies; periodicals; sets and series of printed material; discographies; and recorded anthologies.
Provides abstracts and full text to the periodical literature for a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry--including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, film, and television.
Designed with the working actor in mind, lists every song from more than 300 Broadway shows. Includes several indexes organizing the songs by voice type, song style, vocal arrangement, composer, lyricist, etc.