Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Musical Genre Research Guides
Chamber Music: A Research and Information Guide. by
Call Number: Reference (SV) ML 128 .C4 B37 2010
New edition! Annotated bibliography of books, journal articles, dissertations, chapters in essay collections, treatises, and biographies covering reference works, history, analytic studies, performance practice, and performers.
Choral Music: A Research and Information Guide by
Call Number: Reference (SV) ML 128 .C48 S53 2011
New edition! Annotated bibliography of reference sources, choral and church music periodicals, choral technique, surveys of choral music, studies of choral genres, and studies of individual composers and works.
The Concerto: A Research and Information Guide by
Call Number: Reference (SV) ML 113 .S28 2009
Covers writings on the concertos of 400 composers. Includes articles, books, sections of books, dissertations, and other sources. A good place to start if you're writing on the concerto.
String Quartets: A Research and Information Guide by
Call Number: Reference (SV) ML 128 .S68P37 2011
New edition! Annotated, selective bibliography of books, journal articles, dissertations, book chapters, thematic catalogs, bibliographies, critical editions, facsimiles, and Web sites related to all aspects of the string quartet.
Composer Thematic Catalogs
Thematic Catalogs at Princeton
Call Number: Nearly all in ML 134 arranged by composer, many on Reference (SV)
Click on the above link to search the Princeton catalog for composer thematic catalogs.
Thematic catalogs are fundamental resources for serious research on a composer's body of work, providing not only musical incipits to the works, but also basic information on dating and provenance, surviving manuscripts, early performances, publication history, modern location of sources, and much other key data.
Composer Research Guides
Composer-based research guides can provide excellent starting points for any project focused on the work of a particular composer. They inevitably include annotated bibliographies of key primary and secondary resources, lists of works, references to important editions, and much other useful information. At Princeton, nearly all of these guides are found in the Reference Collection (SV) under the basic call no. ML 134, arranged by the composer's last name (making browsing fairly easy). Representative examples are cited in this LibGuide under the Historical Periods subtabs in the Composer Research Guides boxes. To search the catalog for these guides, use a subject search on [composer last name] and bibliography.