Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Where Are They in Mendel?
- Circulating scores: 1st floor stacks (near copy machine): scores in 3 separate collections by size: study / miniature, folio (f), and "elephant" (e); 2d floor stacks: oversize (q).
- Circulating books: 2d floor stacks, in 2 sequences by size—regular & oversize (q). Note: LC classifications A-L (including GV—dance) in separate collection near window; ML-Z in compact shelving area.
- New books & scores: 1st floor, 3 dedicated shelves in the Reference Collection
- Reference books: 1st floor, Reference Collection—designated SV (overlooks lobby)
- Language dictionaries & style manuals: Reading Room, 2d floor
- Reference scores (complete or critical editions, monuments, etc.): 1st floor stacks (designated SV)
- Facsimile editions: 1st floor stacks, Facsimile Section (marked SVF)
- Rare books & scores (designated SVL, "locked"): request at Circulation Desk (restricted use)
- Bound periodicals: 1st floor stacks, Periodical Section (marked MUSPE)
- Unbound periodicals: 2d floor, Reading Room
- CDs: request at the Circulation Desk by call no.
- LPs: located in ReCAP facility—request online or at Circulation Desk
- CD, LP & cassette playback: Media Room, 1st floor
- DVDs: request at the Circulation Desk by call no.
- DVD & VCR viewing: Media Room, 1st floor
- CD-ROMs: request at the Circulation Desk by call no.
- Microforms: request at the Circulation Desk by call no.
- Microform guides: 2d floor, Reading Room
- Microform reader/printer/scanner: 2d floor
- Book & score scanners: 2d floor
- ReCAP and Annex materials: request online (shelved off campus and retrieved daily)
Other Important Library Catalogs for Music
WorldCat Advanced Search--First Stop for Searching beyond Princeton
A fundamental resource to use and master for advanced research in music. OCLC's database of millions of bibliographic records for books and other materials held in most academic, research, and large public libraries worldwide. Useful to identify and locate material not owned by Princeton. Click on the "i" above for searching hints.
Princeton Public Library Catalog
Don't overlook this outstanding public library in your backyard--and all Princeton affiliates can get a card! Particularly excellent circulating collection of CDs and DVDs, many not in the Princeton University collection.
Regional Catalog List
Convenient list of links to New Jersey and consortial library catalogs, Ivy League library catalogs (for Borrow Direct), global catalogs, and others.
Center for Research Libraries--Advanced Search
Princeton is a member of the Center and may borrow research materials such as foreign and domestic newspapers, foreign dissertations, documents, and other resources for extended periods. Definitely worth searching for more obscure music materials here.
British Library: Integrated Catalogue--Printed Music (Advanced Search)
One of the world's greatest collections of music, now entirely searchable online.
Online Scores & Sheet Music
Music published before 1923 is now in the public domain (out of copyright). Here are a few sites linking to digitized copies of many of the scores now available.
Classical Scores Library
Large and expanding collection of both in-copyright and public domain editions and manuscripts of music scores, mostly from the classical repertory. Includes works by major and lesser-known composers spanning the Renaissance to the 21st century in full, study, and piano-vocal scores, and piano reductions.
IMSLP: Petrucci Music Library
Canadian Web site sponsored by the International Music Score Library Project and dedicated to creating "a virtual library containing all public domain music scores, as well as scores from composers who are willing to share their music with the world without charge."
Musical Scores (Eastman School of Music)
Growing collection of public domain scores from the collections of the Sibley Music Library, Eastman School of Music, University of Rochester.
Online Resources for Music Scholars: Digital Scores
Authoritative, up-to-date source for worldwide links to non-commercial Web sites offering digitized scores and sheet music, maintained by the Loeb Music Library, Harvard University.
Sheet Music Consortium
Contains tens of thousands of images of sheet music from collections throughout the United States. Browsable by title, and searchable by composer, subject, publisher, and date. A project of "a group of libraries working toward the goal of building an open collection of digitized sheet music." Hosted by the University of California, Los Angeles.
Collection of over 19,000 electronic books, including many on music and the arts. Click here
to review over 1,100 music titles.
Library of Congress Music Classification
A useful overview of the Library of Congress classification system for music used in the Mendel Library.
Class M - Music
Outline of LC call nos.
M = scores / printed music
ML = books about music
MT = music instruction & study