It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Locate online and print resources, including key databases, catalogs, Web sites, and bibliographies, as well as search strategies, locations, and a wealth of other information about music at Princeton.
Large streaming audio collection of songs and vocal music from the United States, covering a diverse range of Americans, both past and present. Addresses a variety of topics and cultures, and covers a wide range of styles and genres, particularly from popular, folk, and ethnic music. Now includes African American Song. Updated regularly. For more about this resource, click here.
"Contains the sounds of all regions from every continent" by including a blend of contemporary and traditional world music recordings from many labels, with focus on genres such as fusion and world beat. Complements Smithsonian Global Sound. For more about this resource, click here.
Large collection of streamed jazz recordings, covering major and secondary artists, ensembles, labels, and genres, ranging from historical recordings to musicians performing and recording today. Updated regularly. For more about this resource, click here.
Aimed at jazz music enthusiasts, provides an expanding, mixed selection of streamed recordings by over 32,000 artists from jazz legends to contemporary jazz on over 200 labels, including Blue Note Records, Warner, EMI, and Fantasy.
Streaming audio database of published recordings owned by the Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and the archival audio collections of the Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon, and other labels. Click on the "i" above for more information. Read more about Smithsonian Global Sound here.
A community committed to providing the highest quality live concerts in a lossless, downloadable format. Preserves and archives as many live concerts as possible for current and future generations to enjoy. "All music is from trade-friendly artists and is strictly non-commercial, both for access here and for any further distribution."
"Contains ratings and reviews of more than 400,000 record albums. Search by artist, album, song, style, or label. Access information on new releases, music styles, music maps (guides to the evolution of a musical genre), articles, and a glossary. Entries on artists include a musician/musical group's history, roots and influences, musical style, discography, guest performances, and reviews."
Online version of Gramophone, with access to the Gramophone Archive, a searchable archive of over 30,000 CDs, with over 23,000 reviews from 1983 on. Also includes feature articles, audio equipment reviews (under News ), the editor’s choice of 10 best recordings of the month, a directory of U.K. distribution companies and their labels, and an international classical music news service.
Large multi-label database of classical music streaming audio files--click here for advanced search. Click on the "i" above for list of labels and other links. Click here for Classical Music Library free download of the week. For more about this resource, click here. Click here for list of labels.
Click here to browse composer list.
Click here to browse album list--try sorting on label.
A scholarly resource of recordings, including CD quality audio, complete and original liner notes, and essays from New World Records, Composers Recordings (CRI), Albany, Cedille, and other important labels. Requires Quicktime 6.5.2 or later. Note: Innova is now available via the Naxos Music Library (no longer in DRAM as of 2011).
Comprehensive collection providing audio access to more than 5,500 CDs & 85,000 tracks of primarily classical music, as well as some jazz and world/folk music, from the Naxos, Marco Polo, and Da Capo catalogs plus thousands of titles from an expanding number of other labels. Click here for labels.
Requires Adobe Flash Player version 10. Must have administrator rights to install the required plugin, which typically you will be prompted to install upon first access.
Cross-searches the entire suite of Alexander Street Press music and dance databases: African American Music Reference, American Song, Classical Music in Video, Classical Music Library, Classical Scores Library, Contemporary World Music, Dance in Video, the Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online, Jazz Music Library, Opera in Video, and Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries. Includes streaming audio and video recordings of classical, popular, and world music, opera, and many styles of dance, as well as select full text from key print resources on world and African American music, and digitized music scores.
Selection from the British Library’s extensive collections of unique sound recordings, which come from all over the world and cover the entire range of recorded sound: music, drama and literature, oral history, wildlife, and environmental sounds. U.S. researchers can search all recordings on the site, listen to recordings where copyright permits), and view notes and tags added by other users. For more about this resource, click here.
"Since 1958, the RIAA has been giving awards for best-selling music and spoken word records and albums: gold (500,000 albums sold), platinum (one million), multi-platinum (two million), and diamond (10 million). Search the database by title, artist, label, format, category, and award."