It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Music Research Guide: Journal & Newspaper Articles
Locate online and print resources, including key databases, catalogs, Web sites, and bibliographies, as well as search strategies, locations, and a wealth of other information about music at Princeton.
Contains citations and abstracts of the international literature in music, including journal articles; articles published in collections of essays, conference proceedings, and festschrifts; and books, dissertations, and theses.
Indexes (without abstracts) over 875 international music periodicals covering every aspect of the classical and popular world of music. The broad range of indexed subjects includes all styles and genres of music, plus book and recording reviews, first performances, obituaries, and news about music, musicians, and the music industry. For citations from 1949-72, use the print volumes: Reference (SV) ML 118 M84.
Print volumes covering 1949-1972 are available in Mendel Music Library: Reference (SV) ML 118 M84.
Indexes music journals covering a broad scope of research from performance, theory, and composition to music education, jazz, and ethnomusicology. Provides selected full-text coverage of the most important music journals in both scholarly and popular publications.
Simultaneously searches the International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP) and the International Index to the Performing Arts (IIPA), offering cross-searching of music, theater, dance, television, film, and other performing arts journals.
Combines a highly annotated database providing detailed analyses of writings on musical history and culture with links to two searchable, full-text collections of over 165 rare music magazines and journals dating between 1760 and 1966.
Full-text archive of core journals in select disciplines, presently including 83 music titles. Journal issues from the most recent 3-5 years are usually NOT available electronically through JSTOR (moving wall). Scroll down the search screen to limit search to music journals.
Provides full-text access to recent issues of academic journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences. Click on music to search across music titles; or click music and other appropriate disciplines, or even search across all titles. Click here to see music titles. UPCC Book Collections on Project MUSE, launched in January 2012, offer top quality, book-length scholarship, fully integrated with MUSE's scholarly journal content
Interdisciplinary Databases with Significant Music Content
Multidisciplinary database providing abstract & indexing with select full text for many core scholarly journals as well as popular press periodicals. Music coverage depends on the journals indexed, but never overlook checking here--this resource can be much more up to date than standard music databases, and interdisciplinary coverage is much broader
Large multidisciplinary database featuring abstracting, indexing, and select full-text of many core scholarly journals, magazines, and major newspapers covering a broad range of subjects. Music coverage depends on the journals indexed, but an excellent resource for interdisciplinary articles appearing in non-music journals.
Multidisciplinary database providing select full-text articles, abstracts, and indexing. Good resource for music articles appearing in journals outside of music and for topics on popular music and culture.
Searchable full-text and page images of several hundred British periodicals, primarily from the 19th century, but coverage spans the late 17th to the early 21st centuries. If you are researching British music, this is an essential resource.
Indexes books and journal articles on the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. A good resource for music articles published in humanities journals outside of music.
Connects to the LibGuide highlighting all the major newspaper collections at Princeton University in electronic format. The historical tabs also contain many helpful tips for finding current newspapers in various formats.
Extremely current resource for locating the full-text of reviews or feature articles in newspapers, such as the New York Times, Washington Post, or Boston Globe. Click on the "i" above for the best way to find music reviews and articles.
For most searches, select the General (default) search option in the red task bar (for reviews and feature articles); only use NEWS for a discovery, major feature article, obituary, or other newsworthy item.
For most searches, the Easy Search option (the default) is sufficient; the Power Search option requires more complex search formatting, but also allows more powerful drilling down to specific newspapers or other sources.
Tips for formatting searches in Easy Search:
Use key terms from concert such as composer last names and a prominent title word of a work, or possibly the venue.
"And" is always assumed between search words (mozart manuscript = mozart AND manuscript).
Use quotation marks around phrases ("stephen mackey"; "boston symphony"; "cosi fan tutte").
If you know the name of the exact source you want to search, include its name in quotes in the search box ("new york times"; "washington post").
For the "Search Within" option, use the default "Major U.S. and World Publications".
To see the publications searched, click on the "i".
The default date range is two years; click the drop-down box for narrower or wider ranges
Link opens up a window preset to search across back issues of many of the most important U.S. newspapers--click on "Select multiple databases" and scroll down to see newspapers and coverage, and to limit searches to one or more specific newspapers. For newspapers and coverage, click on the "i" above. Note that periods of coverage vary from title to title in this still-developing resource.
Coverage depends on the newspaper. American Hebrew and Jewish Messenger (1857-1922); American Israelite (1854-2000); Arizona Republican (1890-1922); Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945); Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003); Austin American Statesman (1871-1975); Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988); Baltimore Sun (1837-1988); Boston Globe (1872-1982); Call and Post (Cleveland) (1934-1991); Chicago Defender (1910-1975); Chicago Tribune (1849-1990); Christian Science Monitor (1908-2000); Cincinnati Enquirer (1841-1922); Cleveland Call & Post (1934-1991); Dayton Daily News (1898-1922); Detroit Free Press (1831-1922); Guardian and the Observer (1791-2003); Indianapolis Star (1903-1922); Irish Times (1859-2012); Jerusalem Post (1932-2008); Jewish Advocate (1905-1990); Jewish Exponent (1887-1990); Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005); Los Angeles Times (1881-1990); Louisville Courier Journal (1830-1922); Nashville Tennessean (1812-1922); New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993); New York Times (1851-2011); New York Tribune (1841-1962); Newsday (1940-1985); Norfolk Journal and Guide (1921-2003); Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001); Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002); San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922); St. Louis Dispatch (1874-1922); Scotsman (1817-1950); South China Morning Post (1903-1995); Times of India (1838-2005); Toronto Star (1894-2011); Wall Street Journal (1889-1997); Washington Post (1877-1998). Also includes a Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953).