Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Grove Music Online (Oxford Music Online)
The most comprehensive and authoritative music dictionary available. For best results, use the advanced search
option. Now part of Oxford Music Online, which combines the regularly updated full-text of the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians
, 2d ed., with the New Grove dictionaries of opera and jazz and the Encyclopedia of Popular Music
Print version: Reference (SV) ML 100 N48 2001 v.1-29
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Music
6th ed. (2013). Offers broad coverage of a wide range of musical categories spanning many eras, including composers, librettists, singers, orchestras, important ballets and operas, and musical instruments and their history. New editions offers expanded coverage of popular music, ethnomusicology, modern and contemporary composers, music analysis, and recording technology.
A short definition dictionary with audio files giving correct pronunciation for names and terms.
Key Print Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Harvard Dictionary of Music, 4th ed. by
Call Number: Reference (SV) ML 100 .H37 2003
The classic source for definitions of music terms. "Entries range from one or two words to multiple pages in length, defining or explicating terms for musical styles, instruments, performance marks, concepts, and works." (ALA)
Performing Arts (Oxford Reference)
Cross or individually search a variety of reference works in the performing arts. Click on "Books" tab for a complete title list.
Performing Arts Encyclopedia: Explore Music, Theater, and Dance at the Library of Congress
This multimedia guide vividly displays the diversity of performing arts via the extensive and rich collections of music, audio recordings, films, photographs, maps, and other materials housed at the Library of Congress. Special presentations and featured collections highlight some of the unique and unusual materials. Click here
for more information about this fascinating and ever-expanding resource.
Online English & Foreign Language Dictionaries
Also includes a thesaurus. The Merriam-Webster Collegiate edition is available through the Encyclopedia Britannica
Oxford Language Dictionaries Online
Bilingual dictionaries pairing English with Chinese, French, German, Italian, Russian, and Spanish
Bilingual Dictionaries (Oxford Reference Online)
Access Oxford concise dictionaries to French, German, Italian, Latin, Spanish, etc.