Skip to main content

Princetoniana Collection: Performing Arts

A guide the Princetoniana Collection; a set of books, periodicals, and other printed sources pertaining to Princeton University history at the Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library.

Category Description

The Performing Arts category contains books and other printed materials which in some way relate to music, theater, and dance at Princeton University. Many diverse and often short-lived student groups have taken part in such activities, most of which are contined in the Bric-a-Brac. The Princeton Weekly Bulletin contains listings of events, and therefore references many of these groups.

Collection Items

Student Life and Customs
P68.502 to P71.66

This is a set of books, pamphlets, and other ephemera which is produced by or aimed towards the students of Princeton, primarily in the early years of the 20th century. Roughly half of the works (P68.502 to P68.896) pertain to the Graduate School and related topics. Included are notices of the opening of the Graduate College, pamphlets on the Quad system, and other bulletins released by the Committee on the Graduate School. The other materials here are more focused on undergraduate life, and include works such as B.H. Hall’s 1851 College Words and Customs (P70.427), possibly the first written etymology of the term “campus.” Also in this section is The Dink, a 1930s freshman newspaper, and its mid 19th century predecessor Memorabilia Sophomorum. Other items of interest include A Gem from Nassau’s Casket, an 1840s student literary publication, and The Log, newsletter of the NROTC program.



Bric-a-Brac
P71.210
1875-1944; 1946-2008

The Bric-a-Brac is a yearbook published annually by the junior class of Princeton University. The Bric-a-Brac's focus is on student life, particularly on student participation in clubs and organizations. It is one of the most useful resources for determining membership in eating clubs or athletic teams, as well as for tracing the development of various student organizations. In select years entries for the athletic teams and larger clubs such as Triangle feature a yearly summary of activities including game or production schedules. Starting in 1899, the Bric-a-Brac also contains photographs, typically consisting of a group shot for each club and game shots for athletic teams.



Nassau Lit
P71.669
1842-Present

The Nassau Lit is a literary magazine published by the students of Princeton University which contains short stories, essays, poetry, prose, and other written contributions. It was first published in 1842 as the Nassau Monthly, and then changed to the Nassau Literary Magazine in 1847, eventually adopting its current title in 1930. The Nassau Lit is particularly notable as a source of early works from some of Princeton's most famous literary alumni, including Booth Tarkington '1893 and F. Scott Fitzgerald '17.

An index of the first 100 years of the magazine is available: http://www.princeton.edu/~mudd/databases/nassaulit.html

Issues of the Nassau Monthly are on microfilm.



The Princeton Pictorial
P71.734
1913-1922

The Princeton Pictorial was a bimonthly publication of the students of Princeton which was intended to “give a complete pictorial record of Princeton’s life and growth.” The numerous black and white photographs (mostly submitted by students) were supplemented by brief descriptive articles and editorials. Athletics is a particularly common subject but faculty and student activities are also included.



Princeton Weekly Bulletin
P29.737.12, Oversize P11.73.2f

The Princeton Weekly Bulletin is a weekly events listing for the Princeton campus. Included are details on upcoming lectures and speaking engagements, weekly chapel services, and other happenings. Modern issues of the PWB adopt a more expanded format which features color photographs and which is somewhat more narrowly directed towards University staff.