Skip to main content

Princetoniana Collection: Museums and Art

A guide the Princetoniana Collection; a set of books, periodicals, and other printed sources pertaining to Princeton University history at the Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library.

Category Description

The Museums and Art category contains books and other printed materials which document Princeton's museums, art collections, and other collections. Though the largest and longest-running museum is the Princeton University Art Museum, this category also documents several smaller museums and collections. Also notable in this category is Egbert's Princeton Portraits (P09.319q), an oversized and fully illustrated volume dedicated to Princeton's extensive portrait collection.

Collection Items

Expeditions and Museums
P55.122.2 to P56.737

Reports and catalogues of the several of the University’s archaeological expeditions to the middle east can be found here, as can reports and other issuances of several museums on campus, most of which are no longer in existence. These include the Epigraphical Museum and the E.M. Museum of Geology and Archaeology. Also in this section are several works relating to activities of the Astronomical Observatory.



Art, Archaeology, and Architecture
P609.737 to P61.984

Contained here are newsletters, bulletins, and other publications of the Department or Art and Archaeology and the School of Architecture. These bulletins are sporadic in their issuance and generally document the activities of the faculty and students of the respective departments. The Newsletter of the School of Architecture in particular contains updates on recent commissions for faculty and alumni, as well as information on ongoing PhD research topics.



Princeton Weekly Bulletin
P29.737.12, Oversize P11.73.2f

The Princeton Weekly Bulletin is a weekly events listing for the Princeton campus. Included are details on upcoming lectures and speaking engagements, weekly chapel services, and other happenings. Modern issues of the PWB adopt a more expanded format which features color photographs and which is somewhat more narrowly directed towards University staff.