Skip to main content

Princetoniana Collection: Conferences

A guide the Princetoniana Collection; a set of books, periodicals, and other printed sources pertaining to Princeton University history at the Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library.

Category Description

The Conferences category contains books and other printed materials which pertain to conferences or lecture series that Princeton University has hosted. 

Collection Items

Lectures/Conferences
Call Nos. P44.116 to P44.971
Also P603.737 to P607.958

This group consists entirely of transcripts and programs for a number of notable lecture series held by Princeton. Included are the Cyrus Fogg Brackett lectures, the Sesquicentennial Lectures, the Alumni Lectures, the Princeton University Conference, the Princeton University Symposium, the Vanuxem Lectures, the Stafford Little Lectures, the Special Program in American Civilization, and several other more sporadic lecture series. While it does not seem that every single lecture within any particular series is represented, most of the major names are present (ie. G. Cleveland and T. Roosevelt within the Stafford Little series) and in some cases (Stafford Little, Vanuxem, and Sesquicentennial) the lectures are bound as a series by Scribner’s or P.U. Press.



Art, Archaeology, and Architecture
P609.737 to P61.984

Contained here are newsletters, bulletins, and other publications of the Department or Art and Archaeology and the School of Architecture. These bulletins are sporadic in their issuance and generally document the activities of the faculty and students of the respective departments. The Newsletter of the School of Architecture in particular contains updates on recent commissions for faculty and alumni, as well as information on ongoing PhD research topics.



Princeton Alumni Weekly
P90.731
1900-Present

Founded in 1900, the Princeton Alumni Weekly (often simply referred to as PAW) is a magazine published and printed by Princeton University Press. Issued weekly until 1977 and biweekly thereafter, PAW is targeted to alumni and other members of the Princeton University community, and contains articles about current campus events as well as feature articles of a more general nature (but always related to Princeton and its alumni). PAW also contains two long-running features: The "Class Notes" section, in which alumni are encouraged to submit brief updates on their lives; and the "Memorials" section, in which an obituary is printed for any Princeton alumni that have passed on. Both of these sections are valuable resources when compiling genealogical data on alumni.

A database of the PAW Memorials section is available: http://www.princeton.edu/~mudd/databases/memorial.html



Princeton Weekly Bulletin
P29.737.12, Oversize P11.73.2f

The Princeton Weekly Bulletin is a weekly events listing for the Princeton campus. Included are details on upcoming lectures and speaking engagements, weekly chapel services, and other happenings. Modern issues of the PWB adopt a more expanded format which features color photographs and which is somewhat more narrowly directed towards University staff.