Skip to main content

Geosciences Resources: Reference Series

This guide directs the library researcher to the major resources of Princeton University -- and beyond.


AccessScience is the general, "all-purpose" encyclopedia for sciences and technology.  It is the electronic version of the classic McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology: an international reference work in twenty volumes including an index. 10th ed., New York : McGraw-Hill, c2007.  This latest print edition can be found in the Lewis Library, the Information Desk Reference collection on the 1st floor, Q121 .M3 2007.

There are several excellent encyclopedias on topics within the geosciences realm, for examples:

  • Water
  • Oceanography
  • Hydrology
  • Arctic
  • Antarctica

Major reference series

1.  Treatise on geochemistry, executive editors, H.D. Holland and K.K. Turekian, Oxford ; New York : Elsevier Science, 2014.

Also at Lewis Library Reference QE514 .T732 2004 &

v. 1. Meteorites, comets, and planets / volume editor, A.M. Davis -- v. 2. The mantle and core / volume editor, R.W. Carlson -- v. 3. The crust / volume editor, R.L. Rudnick -- v. 4. The atmosphere / volume editor, R.F. Keeling -- v. 5. Surface and ground water, weathering, and soils / volume editor, J.I. Drever -- v. 6. The oceans and marine geochemistry / volume editor, H. Elderfield -- v. 7. Sediments, diagenesis, and sedimentary rocks / volume editor, F.T. Mackenzie -- v. 8. Biogeochemistry / volume editor, W.H. Schlesinger -- v. 9. Environmental geochemistry / volume editor, B.S. Lollar -- Appendices: 1. Periodic table of the elements; 2. Table of isotopes; 3. The Geologic timescale; 4. Useful values.

2. Treatise on geophysics, 2nd revised edition, 2015.  (On order as of 2/2015)

2.  Treatise on geophysics, editor-in-chief, Gerald Schubert, Amsterdam ; Boston : Elsevier, 2007.

          Lewis Library (SCI): Reference (Information Desk)  QC806 .T73 2007

v. 1. Seismology and structure of the Earth -- 2. Mineral physics -- 3. Geodesy -- 4. Earthquake seismology -- 5. Geomagnetism -- 6. Crust and lithosphere dynamics -- 7. Mantle dynamics -- 8. Core dynamics -- 9. Evolution of the Earth -- 10. Planets and moons -- 11. Index.

 3. Encyclopedia of quaternary science  2nd ed., Elsevier, 2013 (electronic)
 4.  Encyclopedia of global warming and climate change / S. George Philander, editor.  2nd ed., SAGE, c2012.  2008 edition   Also at Lewis Library (SCI): Reference (Information Desk) QC981.8.G56 E47 2008


5.  Encyclopedia of solid earth geophysics,  Springer, 2011.  (Electronic version)

Also at Lewis Library (SCI): Reference (Fine Hall Wing), QE501 .E58 1989


6.  Encyclopedia of geomagnetism and paleomagnetism, Lewis Library (SCI): Reference (Information Desk), QC815.2 .E529 2007


7. Encyclopedia of the solar system / edited by Tilman Spohn, Doris Breuer and Torrence Johnson.

3rd edition, 2014

  • Contents: Part I: The solar system. The solar system and its place in the galaxy ; The origin of the solar system ; Solar system dynamics: regular and chaotic motion -- Part II: Fundamental planetary processes and properties. Planetary impacts ; Planetary volcanism ; Magnetic field generation in planets ; Planetary magnetospheres ; Rotation of planets ; Evolution of planetary interiors ; Astrobiology -- Part III: The sun. The sun ; The solar wind -- Part IV: Earthlike planets. Mercury ; Venus: atmosphere ; Venus: Surface and interior ; Mars atmosphere: History and surface interactions ; Mars: surface and interior ; Interior structure and evolution of Mars ; Mars: landing site geology, mineralogy, and geochemistry -- Part V: Earth and moon as planets. Earth as a planet: atmosphere and oceans ; Earth as a planet: surface and interior ; Space weather ; The moon ; Interior of the moon ; Lunar exploration -- Part VI: Asteroids, dust and comets. Main-belt asteroids ; Near-earth objects ; Meteorites ; Dust in the solar system ; Physics and chemistry of comets ; Comet populations and cometary dynamics -- Part VII: Giant planets and their satellites. Atmospheres of the giant planets ; Interiors of the giant planets ; Planetary satellites ; Io: The volcanic moon ; Europa ; Ganymede and Callisto ; Titan ; Enceladus ; Triton ; Planetary rings -- Part VIII: Beyond the planets. Pluto ; Kuiper Belt: dynamics ; Kuiper Belt objects: physical studies ; Extrasolar planets -- Part IX: Exploring the solar system. Strategies of modern solar system exploration ; A history of solar system studies ; X-rays in the solar system ; The solar system at ultraviolet wavelengths ; Infrared views of the solar system from space ; New generation ground-based optical/infrared telescopes ; The solar system at radio wavelengths ; Planetary radar ; Remote sensing of chemical elements using nuclear spectroscopy ; Probing the interiors of planets with geophysical tools ; Planetary exploration missions ; Exploration and analysis of planetary shape and topography using stereophotogrammetry.
  • Summary: "This book is filled with the knowledge about our solar system that resulted from all this exploration, whether by spacecraft or by telescopes both in space and earth-bound. All of this new knowledge is based on discoveries made in the interim by scientist-explorers who have followed their inborn human imperative to explore and to understand. Many old mysteries, misunderstandings, and fears that existed 50 years ago about what lay beyond the Earth have been eliminated. We now know the major features of the landscape in our cosmic backyard and can look forward to the adventure, excitement, and new knowledge that will result from more in-depth exploration by today's spacecraft, such as those actually exploring the surface of these faraway places, including the Huygens Titan lander and the Mars Exploration rovers, doing things that were unimaginable before the Space Age began. The Encyclopedia of the Solar System is filled with images, illustrations, and charts to aid in understanding. Every object in the solar system is covered by at least one chapter. Other chapters are devoted to the relationships among the objects in the solar system and with the galaxy beyond. The processes that operate on solar system objects, in their atmospheres, on their surfaces, in their interiors, and interactions with space itself are all described in detail. There are chapters on how we explore and learn about the solar system and about the investigations used to make new discoveries. And there are chapters on the history of solar system exploration and the missions that have carried out this enterprise. All written by an international set of world-class scientists using rigorous yet easy-to-understand prose"--Provided by publisher.
  • From PUL catalog record. Also in Lewis, Reference section: QB501 .E53 2014

8.  Earth and other planets : geology and space research, Lewis Library (SCI), Oversize QB631 .C37 1995q

Includes brief details 

9.  Encyclopedia of structural geology and plate tectonics, Lewis Library (SCI): Reference (Information Desk) QE601 .E53 1987

Reference Librarian profile

Louise Deis's picture
Louise Deis
Peter B. Lewis (Science) Library, Rm. 211


Email me