Skip to main content

Geosciences Resources: Finding Articles / the Databases

Related Databases

To see all the Geosciences-related databases , (t)here is the link from the Articles and Databases page from the Princeton University Library homepage.  Choose Geosciences from the drop-down subject menu.

 

Search Articles+

Search Articles+ for peer-reviewed articles

Key Geosciences Databases

GeoRef  (1785+ N. America; 1933+ Worldwide)
The most comprehensive database in the geosciences. Covers the geology of North America from 1785 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present and indexes journal articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, theses, maps, geological survey literature, special publications and government reports.
Scopus  (1996+)
Note: Princeton's Institutional ID (needed for Papers software): 51401
International coverage of journal articles, selected web sites, and patents in the sciences and social sciences; provides citation tracking for 1996+
Covers worldwide technical literature pertaining to the marine and brackish water environment. Focuses on marine biology and physical oceanography, fisheries, aqua culture, non living resources, meteorology and geology, and environmental, technological, and legislative topics.
Contains records drawn from the World's literature on meteorology, climatology, atmospheric chemistry and physics, astrophysics, hydrology, glaciology, physical oceanography and environmental sciences. Includes summaries from journal titles, conference proceedings, books, technical reports and monographs.
Note: Enter through "Environmental Sciences" and click on "Search subfiles".
Provides summaries of the world's technical and scientific literature on water related topics covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources. Abstracts are drawn from journals, books, conference proceedings, and technical reports in the physical and life sciences, engineering, legal and government publications. A subfile of Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management.
Interdisciplinary database covering a wide variety of journals from subject area such as biology, medical sciences, earth sciences, environmental studies, pharmacy, public health and education. The database includes searchable tables, figures, graphs, charts and other illustrations from the scholarly research and technical literature.
Geologic Guidebooks of North America (1940+)  Guidebooks to local itineraries, compiled by the American Geosciences Institute.  Comprised of road logs of field trips with stratigraphic and geologic indexes.