Skip to main content

Gender and Sexuality Studies Resources: Bibliographies and Research Guides

Resources for the study of gender and sexuality at Princeton University.

Gender

Gender dysphoria: a guide to research, by Dallas Denny.  New York: Garland, 1994.  (DR) Z6665.7.G44 D46 1994

Feminism

Feminism and women’s issue: an annotated bibliography and research guide, by G. Llewellyn Watson with the assistance of Janet P. Sentner.  New York: Garland Pub., 1990.  (F) Z7961 .W37 1990

 

The feminist movement: a bibliography.  Compiled by Joan Nordquist.  Santa Cruz, CA: Reference and Research Services, 1992.  (F) Z7963.F44 N672 1992

 

Feminist theory: a bibliography.  Compiled by Joan Nordquist.  Santa Cruz, CA: Reference and Research Services, 1992.  (F) Z7963.F44 N672 1992

 

Feminist theory II: a bibliography.  Compiled by Joan Nordquist.  Santa Cruz, CA: Reference and Research Services, 2000.  (F) Z7963.F44 N672 2000

Handbook of feminist research: theory and praxis. 2nd edition. Sharlene Nagy Hesse-Biber, editor. Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE, 2012. (F) HQ1180. H35 2012

 

 

Women and Science

The History of women and science, health, and technology: a bibliographic guide to the professions and the disciplines.  General editor, Phyllis Holman Weisbard.  2nd ed. Madison, Wis.: University of Wisconsin System Women’s Studies Librarian, 1993. (F) Z7963.S3 H577 1993

 

Women in science: an annotated bibliography, compiled by Marilyn Bailey Ogilvie.  New York: Garland Publishing, 1996.  (F) Z7963.S3 O35 1996

 

Women in science: antiquity through the nineteenth century: a biographical dictionary with annotated bibliography, compiled by Marilyn Bailey Ogilvie.  Cambridge, Mass.: MIT Press, c1986.  (DR) Q141 .O34 1986

Topical Bibliographies

African American women: an annotated bibliography, compiled by Veronica G. Thomas, Kisha Braithwaite, and Paula Mitchell.  Westport, Conn.; London: Greenwood Press, 2001.  (F) Z1361.N39 T49 2001

 

An annotated bibliography of Hispanic feminist criticism.  Edited and compiled by Lou Charnon-Deutsch.  Stony Brook, N.Y.: Feministas Unidas, 1994.  (DR) Z2694.W65 C4 1994a

 

The Asian American woman: social, economic and political conditions: a bibliography.  Compiled by Joan Nordquist.  Santa Cruz, CA: Reference and Research Services, 1997.  (F) Z1361.O7 N65 1997

 

Cuban and Cuban-American women: an annotated bibliography.  Edited and compiled by K. Lynn Stoner with Luiś Hipólito Serrano Pérez.  Wilmington, Del.: Scholarly Resources, 2000.  (F) Z7964.C85 S76 2000

 

Latinas in the United States: social, economic, and political aspects: a bibliography, compiled by Joan Nordquist.  Santa Cruz, CA: Reference and Research Services, 1995.  (F) Z1361.S7 N67 1995

 

Muslim women throughout the world: a bibliography, compiled by Michelle Kimball and Barbara R. von Schlegell.  Boulder, Colo.: Lynne Rienner Publishers, 1996.  (F) Z7963.I74 K56 1996

 

The Native American woman: social, economic and political aspects: a bibliography.  Compiled by Joan Nordquist.  Santa Cruz, CA: Reference and Research Services, c1999.  (Annex A) Z1209.2.N67 N67 1999

 

South African women: a select bibliography.  Compiled by Durban Women’s Bibliography Group.  Johannesburg: South African Institute of International Affairs, 1996. (F) Z7961 .S68 1996

 

Spectrum: a bibliography of women in Australia 1945 to present, compiled by Gisela Kaplan.  Broadway, NSW: Women’s Redress Press, 1995.  (DR) Z7964.A8 K36 1995

 

Women & gender in Central and Eastern Europe, Russia, and Eurasia: a comprehensive bibliography, edited by Mary Zirin ... [et al.]  Armonk, N.Y.: M.E. Sharpe, c2007.  (F) Z7964.E85 W66 2007

 

Women and gender studies in Tanzania: an annotated bibliography (1982-1994), compiled by Fenella Mukangara.  Dar es Salaam: Dar es Salaam University Press, 1995.  (F) Z7964.T34 M85 1995

 

Women and health: an annotated bibliography, compiled by Frances R. Belmonte.  Lanham, Md.: The Scarecrow Press; Pasadena, Calif.: Salem Press, 1997.  (F) Z6671 .B45 1997

 

Women and music: a selective annotated bibliography on women and gender issues in music, 1987-1992, compiled by Margaret D. Ericson.  New York: G.K. Hall; London: Prentice Hall International, c1996.  (SV) ML128.W7 E75 1996

 

Women in Ireland: an annotated bibliography, compiled by Anna Brady.  New York: Greenwood Press, c1988.  (DR) Z7964.I73 B7 1988

 

Women in Jamaica: a bibliography of published and unpublished sources, compiled by Leona Bobb-Semple.  Kingston, Jamaica, WI: Press University of the West Indies, 1997.  (F) Z7964.J28 B6 1997

 

Women in Japanese society: an annotated bibliography of selected English language materials, by Kristina Ruth Huber.  Westport, Ct.: Greenwood Press, 1992.  (GEST) Z7964.J3 H82 1992

 

Women in law: a bio-bibliographical sourcebook.  Edited by Rebecca Mae Salokar and Mary L. Volcansek.  Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1996.  (F) K170 .W66 1996

 

Women in Nigeria: an annotated bibliography, compiled by Uche Azikiwe.  Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1996.  (F) Z7964.N6 A95 1996

 

Women in Russia and the Soviet Union: an annotated bibliography, by Rochelle Goldberg Ruthchild.  New York: G.K. Hall; Toronto: Maxwell Macmillan Canada; New York: Maxwell Macmillan International, c1993.  (F) Z7964.S68 R88 1993

 

Women of color: feminist theory: a bibliography, compiled by Joan Nordquist.  Santa Cruz, CA: Reference and Research Services, 1995.  (F) Z7964.U49 N67 1995

 

The women’s movement: reference and resources, by Barbara Ryan.  New York: G.K. Hall, 1996.  (DR) Z7963.S9 R93 1996

 

Women’s studies: a recommended bibliography, Linda A. Krikos and Cindy Ingold.  3rd ed.  Westport, Conn.: Libraries Unlimited, 2004. (F) Z7963.F44 K75 2004