Skip to main content

Gender and Sexuality Studies Resources: Manuscripts (Slater-Troxell)

Resources for the study of gender and sexuality at Princeton University.

Finding Aids

Slater, Ann Tashi, 1961-

Creator: Slater, Ann Tashi, 1961-

Title: Ann Tashi Slater Collection of Cuban Writings, 1979-1987: Finding Aid

Abstract: The Ann Tashi Slater Collection of Cuban Writings contains 22 typed manuscripts, in Spanish, collected by American author, translator, educator Ann Tashi Slater (Princeton Class of 1984) on a trip to Cuba in 1987. Included are short stories and novels, primarily science fiction, by 12 different authors.

Location: Manuscripts Division.

Call number: C0799


 

Smith, Gertrude, 1860-1917

Creator: Smith, Gertrude, 1860-1917

Title: Gertrude Smith Collection, ca. 1895: Finding Aid

Abstract: Consists of material related to Arabella and Araminta Stories, a collection of short children's stories written by Gertrude Smith, an American writer of fiction and children's books, and illustrated by Ethel Reed, an American book illustrator, poster designer, and painter.

Location: Manuscripts Division.

Call number: C1202


 

Southcott, Joanna, 1750-1814.

Creator: Southcott, Joanna, 1750-1814.

Title: Joanna Southcott Collection, 1793-1864: Finding Aid

Abstract: Southcott, an English domestic servant, began hearing voices at the age of 42 and believed these to be divine communications prophesying the Second Coming of Christ. She dictated her prophecies primarily to her secretaries, Ann Underwood and Jane Townley, and these were often copied by others and then circulated among the believers. Consists of a collection of manuscripts of Southcott and material related to her. Included are 12 notebooks and 63 pamphlets or loose writings containing copies (1793-1814) in various hands of Southcott’s divine communications, letters, poems, and prayers.

Location: Manuscripts Division.

Call number: C0755


 

Story Press.

Creator: Story Press.

Title: Archives of Story Magazine and Story Press, 1931-1999: Finding Aid

Abstract: Consists of the fairly complete working business files of the original Story and other related publishing ventures of owner-editors Martha Foley and Whit and Hallie Burnett, and the new Story author files of Richard and Lois Rosenthal. Included are editorial and personal correspondence, business and financial records, and artwork.

Location: Manuscripts Division.

Call number: C0104


 

Stowe, Harriet Beecher, 1811-1896.

Creator: Stowe, Harriet Beecher, 1811-1896.

Title: Beecher Family Collection, 1845-1886: Finding Aid

Abstract: Consists of selected manuscript material of three members of the Beecher family -- Harriet Beecher Stowe, Catharine Beecher, and Henry Ward Beecher -- who became nationally known for their work on abolition and women's suffrage.

Location: Manuscripts Division.

Call number: C1217


 

Theater People

Collector: Theater People

Title: Theater People Subject Files, [1850s]-1988: Finding Aid

Abstract: Consists of files (clippings, programs, books, caricatures, etc.) on people involved in theater, from the mid-19th century through the late 1980s, including actors, dramatists, directors, scholars, and designers.

Location: Rare Books Division.

Call number: TC106


 

Theater Photographs

Collector: Theater Photographs

Title: Theater Photographs Collection, 1901-1976 (bulk 1925-1955): Finding Aid

Abstract: The Theater Photographs Collection contains still photographs of American actors and actresses as well as scenes from plays and includes clippings and printed matter.

Location: Manuscripts Division.

Call number: TC090


 

Tibbetts, Alice Davis.

Creator: Tibbetts, Alice Davis.

Title: Alice Davis Tibbetts Collection, 1934-1972: Finding Aid

Abstract: Consists of selected letters and photographs of authors, poets, and friends collected by Alice Davis Tibbetts, secretary, companion, and romantic partner of Edgar Lee Masters.

Location: Manuscripts Division.

Call number: C1198


 

Toklas, Alice B.

Creator: Toklas, Alice B.

Title: Alice B. Toklas Collection, 1950-1965: Finding Aid

Abstract: Consists primarily of letters (1952-1965) Alice B. Toklas wrote to her friends Lloyd Frankenberg and his wife, the painter Loren MacIver. Toklas is best known as the life partner of writer Gertude Stein.

Location: Manuscripts Division.

Call number: C1223


 

Troxell, Janet Camp.

Collector: Troxell, Janet Camp.

Title: Janet Camp Troxell Collection of Rossetti Manuscripts, 1832-1965 (bulk 1860-1900): Finding Aid

Abstract: Contains over 3000 manuscripts relating to the Rossetti's and their friends. While Dante Gabriel is the central figure, his brother and sisters (William Michael, Christina Georgina, Maria Francesca) are also represented, as are several other members of the Polidori/Rossetti families. The material in the collection was acquired by Janet (Camp) Troxell between 1930 and 1965.

Location: Manuscripts Division.

Call number: C0189


For information about these collections contact the Manuscripts Division of the Department of Special Collections

EM: rbsc@princeton.edu

Phone: 609-258-3184

Fax: 609-258-2324 

More information

For assistance contact the Department of Special Collections.

EM: rbsc@princeton.edu

Telephone: 609-258-3184