Skip to main content

Gender and Sexuality Studies Resources: Manuscripts (Prin. Misc.-Prin. Thea)

Resources for the study of gender and sexuality at Princeton University.

Finding Aids

Princeton University. Library. Dept. of Special Collections.

Collector: Princeton University. Library. Dept. of Special Collections.

Title: Miscellaneous Dance Files Collection, 1940-1989: Finding Aid

Abstract: The Miscellaneous Dance Files Collection contains printed programs, souvenir programs, clippings, and reviews of various ballet companies and choreographers.

Location: Rare Books Division.

Call number: TC122


 

Princeton University. Library. Dept. of Special Collections.

Collector: Princeton University. Library. Dept. of Special Collections.

Title: Miscellaneous Playscripts Collection, 1882-1961: Finding Aid

Abstract: This collection includes some playscripts stamped or addressed by theater agencies in Chicago, New York City, and Hollywood, while others were used at McCarter Theater or by the Princeton University Players. There are wartime scripts from both world wars, as well as government plays from the Federal Theater Project, the Works Progress Administration, and the Department of Agriculture's War Food Commission.

Location: Rare Books Division.

Call number: TC030


 

Princeton University. Library. Dept. of Special Collections.

Collector: Princeton University. Library. Dept. of Special Collections.

Title: Miscellaneous Screenplays, 1930-[1980s]: Finding Aid

Abstract: The Miscellaneous Screenplays collection consists of miscellaneous screenplays and related materials, such as continuity, superimposed versions (i.e. script translations), release dialogue scripts, and revisions/drafts. There are also a few information packets--these include interviews with and/or biographies of stars, synopses, and various and sundry other materials meant for release.

Location: Rare Books Division.

Call number: TC111


 

Princeton University. Library. Dept. of Special Collections.

Collector: Princeton University. Library. Dept. of Special Collections.

Title: Performing Arts Serials Collection, 1869-1980: Finding Aid

Abstract: The Performing Arts Serials Collection consists of serial printed material concerning the performing arts, including circus, dance, film, opera, radio, speech, television, theater, and vaudeville. For the most part, publications are represented by a sample or two issues.

Location: Rare Books Division.

Call number: TC110


 

Princeton University. Library. Dept. of Special Collections.

Collector: Princeton University. Library. Dept. of Special Collections.

Title: Playbills Printed on Satin, 1803-1923: Finding Aid

Abstract: The Playbills Printed on Satin collection comprises 46 playbills printed on satin fabric.

Location: Rare Books Division.

Call number: TC114


 

Princeton University. Library. Dept. of Special Collections.

Collector: Princeton University. Library. Dept. of Special Collections.

Title: Radio Broadcasting Collection, 1938-1959: Finding Aid

Abstract: The Radio Broadcasting Collection consists of typescripts of scripts for "The Cavalcade of America" and "The Bookman" as well as promotional material for the major radio networks, such as ABC, CBS, NBC, the Mutual Broadcasting System, and the Municipal Broadcasting System (WNYC). Included is material regarding the coverage of news during the latter years of World War II and copies of clippings about the Orson Welles broadcast of "The War of the Worlds" in 1938.

Location: Rare Books Division.

Call number: TC060


 

Princeton University. Library. Dept. of Special Collections.

Collector: Princeton University. Library. Dept. of Special Collections.

Title: Radio Scripts Collection, 1938-1947: Finding Aid

Abstract: The Radio Scripts Collection consists of typescripts of scripts for various radio programs such as "The Cavalcade of America" (represented by the most scripts), "The Eternal Light," "Books and Authors," "What's New in Books," "Pepper Young's Family," "The Goldbergs," and others.

Location: Rare Books Division.

Call number: TC059


 

Princeton University. Library. Dept. of Special Collections.

Collector: Princeton University. Library. Dept. of Special Collections.

Title: Screenplays Collection, 1931-1979: Finding Aid

Abstract: Consists of screenplays for over 500 films produced by Columbia Studios, Paramount Pictures, Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer, Twentieth Century Fox, and others.

Location: Rare Books Division.

Call number: TC064


 

Princeton University. Library. Dept. of Special Collections.

Collector: Princeton University. Library. Dept. of Special Collections.

Title: Theater People Subject Files, [1850s]-1988: Finding Aid

Abstract: Consists of files (clippings, programs, books, caricatures, etc.) on people involved in theater, from the mid-19th century through the late 1980s, including actors, dramatists, directors, scholars, and designers.

Location: Rare Books Division.

Call number: TC106


 

Princeton University. Library. Dept. of Special Collections.

Collector: Princeton University. Library. Dept. of Special Collections.

Title: Theater Photographs Collection, 1901-1976 (bulk 1925-1955): Finding Aid

Abstract: The Theater Photographs Collection contains still photographs of American actors and actresses as well as scenes from plays and includes clippings and printed matter.

Location: Manuscripts Division.

Call number: TC090


For information about these collections contact the Manuscripts Division of the Department of Special Collections

EM: rbsc@princeton.edu

Phone: 609-258-3184

Fax: 609-258-2324 

More information

For assistance contact the Department of Special Collections.

EM: rbsc@princeton.edu

Telephone: 609-258-3184