Skip to main content

Gender and Sexuality Studies Resources: Manuscripts (Gordon-Kummer)

Resources for the study of gender and sexuality at Princeton University.

Finding Aids

Gordon, Caroline, 1895-1981.

Creator: Gordon, Caroline, 1895-1981.

Title: Caroline Gordon Collection, 1939-1982 (bulk 1970-1980): Finding Aid

Abstract: Caroline Ferguson Gordon was a twentieth century writer. The collection contains a miscellaneous collection of the author’s papers and a selection of her letters to friends and family members.

Location: Manuscripts Division.

Call number: C0806


 

Gordon, Caroline, 1895-1981.

Creator: Gordon, Caroline, 1895-1981.

Title: Caroline Gordon Papers, 1868-1981 (bulk 1926-1977): Finding Aid

Abstract: Caroline Gordon was an American writer during the Southern Renaissance. This collection contains manuscripts and typescripts of some of Gordon’s work, ranging from novels, to lectures, to poetry. It also includes some documents of other people and some of Gordon’s correspondence with family.

Location: Manuscripts Division.

Call number: C0052


 

Gould, Bruce.

Creator: Gould, Bruce.

Title: Bruce and Beatrice Blackmar Gould Correspondence, 1909-1967 (bulk 1950-1960): Finding Aid

Abstract: Bruce and Beatrice Blackmar Gould were co-editors at Ladies Home Journal. Bruce Gould also worked with the Saturday Evening Post. Their correspondence includes letters between Bruce and Beatrice about their co-editorship and co-authorship, letters with writers for the Ladies Home Journal, and letters from actresses about the Ladies Home Journal. Also included is a collection of letters about Marion Crawford’s book The Little Princesses, a few of Beatrice’s speeches, and miscellaneous printed matter.

Location: Manuscripts Division.

Call number: C0673


 

Hamilton, Edith, 1867-1963.

Creator: Hamilton, Edith, 1867-1963.

Title: Edith Hamilton Collection, 1930-1971: Finding Aid

Abstract: Edith Hamilton was a classics scholar with a particular interest in Greek civilization. The collection consists of typescript and galley proofs of her book The Ever-Present Past, notebooks on classical civilization, and correspondence.

Location: Manuscripts Division.

Call number: C0253


 

Holden, Miriam Y. (Miriam Young), 1893-1977.

Creator: Holden, Miriam Y. (Miriam Young), 1893-1977.

Title: Miriam Y. Holden Collection, 1789-1978 (bulk 1930-1969): Finding Aid

Abstract: The Miriam Holden Collection consists of books, periodicals, manuscripts, clippings, photographs, cartoons, letters, and other materials about women and their achievements collected by Holden.

Location: Manuscripts Division.

Call number: C0071


 

Hunt, Violet, 1862-1942.

Creator: Hunt, Violet, 1862-1942.

Title: Violet Hunt Collection, 1890-1939: Finding Aid

Abstract: Consists of selected correspondence of Violet Hunt, the British author and biographer.

Location: Manuscripts Division.

Call number: C1084


 

Kalmar, Mavis.

Creator: Kalmar, Mavis.

Title: Mavis Kalmar Papers, 1917-1946: Finding Aid

Abstract: Mavis Kalmar was an English stage actress. Her collection consists of correspondence (1917-1946), two diaries (undated), two sketchbooks, and photographs.

Location: Manuscripts Division.

Call number: TC105


 

Karsen, Sonja.

Creator: Karsen, Sonja.

Title: Sonja Karsen Papers, 1897-1993 (bulk 1950-1973): Finding Aid

Abstract: Sonja Karsen, born in 1919, was a professor of Spanish at Skidmore College and intensively researched Jaime Torres Bodet and Guillermo Valencia, two Latin American politicians and poets. The Sonja Karsen papers contain much of her research on these two figures.

Location: Manuscripts Division.

Call number: C0813


 

Koch, Dolores

Collector: Koch, Dolores

Title: Dolores Koch Collection of Reinaldo Arenas, 1974-2005 (bulk 1982-1993): Finding Aid

Abstract: Dolores Koch is a noted translator and reviewer of Latin American literature. The materials in this collection were accumulated during her work with Reinaldo Arenas, a Cuban writer living in New York City. Koch translated two of Arenas's books and worked as part of a team handling publication and rights for his work after his death in 1990.

Location: Manuscripts Division.

Call number: C0984


 

Kummer, Clare, 1886-1958.

Creator: Kummer, Clare, 1886-1958.

Title: Clare Beecher Kummer Papers, [1890s]-1955: Finding Aid

Abstract: Consists of the papers of song-writer, playwright, and poet Clare Beecher Kummer. Included are manuscript plays, musical compositions, songs, verse, and correspondence.

Location: Manuscripts Division.

Call number: TC104


For information about these collections contact the Manuscripts Division of the Department of Special Collections

EM: rbsc@princeton.edu

Phone: 609-258-3184

Fax: 609-258-2324 

More information

For assistance contact the Department of Special Collections.

EM: rbsc@princeton.edu

Telephone: 609-258-3184