Skip to main content

Gender and Sexuality Studies Resources: Manuscripts (Abba-Bogan)

Resources for the study of gender and sexuality at Princeton University.

Finding Aids

Housed in Firestone Library, the Manuscripts Division of the Department of Special Collections includes material documenting 5000 years of recorded history and all parts of the world, with strengths in Western Europe, the Near East, the United States, and Latin America.

 

Source: http://diglib.princeton.edu/ead/browse.html


 

Abba. Marta.

Creator: Abba. Marta.

Title: Luigi Pirandello Correspondence with Marta Abba, 1923-1936: Finding Aid

Abstract: Consists of correspondence between Italian playwright Luigi Pirandello and the Italian actress Marta Abba, who spent much of her life interpreting his plays. Pirandello’s forty-three plays, as well as other literary works, are discussed in the correspondence, which reveals the special "maestro-disciple" relationship shared by the couple.

Location: Manuscripts Division.

Call number: TC098


 

American Ballet Theatre.

Creator: American Ballet Theatre.

Title: American Ballet Theatre Programs, 1940-1979: Finding Aid

Abstract: The American Ballet Theatre is an American ballet company founded by Oliver Smith and Lucia Chase in 1940. The collection consists of programs of performances of the Ballet Theatre dance company from its first performance in 1940 until 1979.

Location: Rare Books Division.

Call number: TC004


 

Atteberry, Julia Burt, 1915-

Creator: Atteberry, Julia Burt, 1915-

Title: Julia Burt Atteberry Papers, 1829-1979 (bulk 1911-1973): Finding Aid

Abstract: Julia Burt Atteberry was the daughter of Maxwell Struthers Burt (Princeton Class of 1904) and Katharine Newlin Burt, who were both writers and established one of the first ‘dude’ ranches in the West. This collection consists of correspondence between various members of the Burt family and some of their manuscripts, miscellaneous correspondence, documents, and journals.

Location: Manuscripts Division.

Call number: C0226


 

Bashkirtseff, Marie, 1860-1884.

Creator: Bashkirtseff, Marie, 1860-1884.

Title: Marie Bashkirtseff Collection, 1922-1937: Finding Aid

Abstract: The Marie Bashkirtseff Collection consists of newspaper and book reviews about her published journal and later biographies about her; one engraved portrait; one engraved illustration.

Location: Rare Books Division.

Call number: TC135


 

Baxter, Anne.

Creator: Baxter, Anne.

Title: Anne Baxter Letters to Russell Birdwell, 1952-[1960s]: Finding Aid

Abstract: This collection consists of 175 letters (1952-1960s) by the American stage and screen actress Anne Baxter to her publicist and friend Russell Birdwell.

Location: Manuscripts Division.

Call number: TC102


 

Beach, Sylvia.

Collector: Beach, Sylvia.

Title: Jackson Mathews Collection of Sylvia Beach, 1921-1965: Finding Aid

Abstract: Consists of letters and other material related to Sylvia Beach (1887-1962), the American proprietress of the Paris bookshop Shakespeare and Company, collected by Jackson Mathews (1907?-1978).

Location: Manuscripts Division.

Call number: C0141


 

Beach, Sylvia.

Creator: Beach, Sylvia.

Title: Sylvia Beach Papers, 1887-1966 (bulk 1920s-1950s): Finding Aid

Abstract: The Sylvia Beach Papers consists of a complete personal archive of Sylvia Beach (1887-1962), the American author, publisher, and proprietress of the Paris bookshop Shakespeare and Company, the Paris bookshop which was a meeting-point for French, English, Irish and American writers during the 1920's and 1930's. Included are family, personal, and professional correspondence; manuscripts by Beach and others; materials relating to the publication of James Joyce's Ulysses; materials relating to Shakespeare and Company; photographs; artwork; phonograph records; memorabilia; and other miscellanea.

Location: Manuscripts Division.

Call number: C0108


 

Bernhardt, Sarah, 1844-1923.

Creator: Bernhardt, Sarah, 1844-1923.

Title: Sarah Bernhardt Collection, 1878-1969: Finding Aid

Abstract: The Sarah Bernhardt Collection consists of newspaper and magazine clippings, theater programs and playbills, photographs, and other materials on French actress Sarah Bernhardt.

Location: Rare Books Division.

Call number: TC134


 

Bishop, Elizabeth, 1911-1979.

Creator: Bishop, Elizabeth, 1911-1979.

Title: Elizabeth Bishop Collection, 1965-1979: Finding Aid

Abstract: Consists primarily of Pulitzer Prize-winning poet Elizabeth Bishop's correspondence with her friend Ashley Brown.

Location: Manuscripts Division.

Call number: C1014


 

Bogan, Louise, 1897-1970.

Creator: Bogan, Louise, 1897-1970.

Title: Louise Bogan Papers, 1936-1954: Finding Aid

Abstract: This collection consists primarily of drafts, notes, fragments and final copies of Bogan's critical essays on modern literature, published in prestigious American journals. There are a few poetry manuscripts and even fewer pieces of correspondence.

Location: Manuscripts Division.

Call number: C0109


For information about these collections contact the Manuscripts Division of the Department of Special Collections

EM: rbsc@princeton.edu

Phone: 609-258-3184

Fax: 609-258-2324 

 

More information

For assistance contact the Department of Special Collections.

EM: rbsc@princeton.edu

Telephone: 609-258-3184