Skip to main content

Gender and Sexuality Studies Resources: University Archives

Resources for the study of gender and sexuality at Princeton University.

University Archives Finding Aids

The Princeton University Archives, housed in the Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library, documents administrative, research, student and staff activities on campus from Princeton's establishment as the College of New Jersey in 1746 to the present. Included are administrative records, photographs, publications, diaries, correspondence, and other material documenting the history of the University.

 

Source: http://diglib.princeton.edu/ead/browse.html

 


Committee on the Education of Women at Princeton

Creator: Committee on the Education of Women at Princeton

Title: Committee on the Education of Women at Princeton Records, 1955-1969 (bulk 1967-1969): Finding Aid

Abstract: The Committee on the Education of Women at Princeton Records contain the working papers and correspondence of Gardner Patterson, Committee Chair, and his assistants. In June 1967 the Board of Trustees charged the Committee with the study of “the advisability and feasibility” of enlarging the University's role in the education of women. The final report, “The Education of Women at Princeton,” was submitted to the Trustees in July 1968. Adopting the recommendation of the Committee, they voted in favor of coeducation the following January and appointed an Ad-Hoc Committee to advise on how to implement their decision. The collection contains some papers Patterson received as a member of this Ad-Hoc Committee, and drafts of its final report, “The Education of Undergraduate Women at Princeton: An Examination of Coordinate Versus Coeducational Patterns.”

Location: Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library. Princeton University Archives.

Call number: AC184


 

Frank, Sally

Creator: Frank, Sally

Title: Nadine Taub Collection of Sally Frank Court Documents, 1979-1990: Preliminary Finding Aid

Abstract: Nadine Taub is professor emeritus at the Rutgers School of Law, where she was formerly the director of the Women's Rights Litigation Clinic. In 1979 Sally Frank, a Princeton student, filed a sex discrimination complaint with the New Jersey Division on Civil Rights on the grounds that as a woman she was denied membership in the Ivy, Tiger Inn and University Cottage eating clubs. Consists of transcripts, correspondence, research materials, clippings from local newspapers, and official court documents collected over the duration of the Sally Frank case.

Location: Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library. Princeton University Archives.

Call number: AC194


 

Lesbian Gay Bisexual Alliance

Creator: Lesbian Gay Bisexual Alliance

Title: Lesbian Gay Bisexual Alliance Records, 1972-1995: Finding Aid

Abstract: The Lesbian Gay Bisexual Alliance (LGBA), is the social and political organization for lesbian, gay, and bisexual students at Princeton University. The Alliance is the successor to the Gay Alliance of Princeton (GAP), Gay Women of Princeton (GWOP), the Lesbian and Bisexual Task Force (LBTF), and Gay and Lesbian Alliance of Princeton (GALAP). These records contain material regarding the LGBA's programs and its publications, as well as subject files assembled by the LGBA's officers and staff.

Location: Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library. Princeton University Archives.

Call number: AC037


 

Princeton University. Committee on the Education of Women at Princeton.

Creator: Princeton University. Committee on the Education of Women at Princeton.

Title: Committee on the Education of Women at Princeton Records, 1955-1969 (bulk 1967-1969): Finding Aid

Abstract: The Committee on the Education of Women at Princeton Records contain the working papers and correspondence of Gardner Patterson, Committee Chair, and his assistants. In June 1967 the Board of Trustees charged the Committee with the study of “the advisability and feasibility” of enlarging the University's role in the education of women. The final report, “The Education of Women at Princeton,” was submitted to the Trustees in July 1968. Adopting the recommendation of the Committee, they voted in favor of coeducation the following January and appointed an Ad-Hoc Committee to advise on how to implement their decision. The collection contains some papers Patterson received as a member of this Ad-Hoc Committee, and drafts of its final report, “The Education of Undergraduate Women at Princeton: An Examination of Coordinate Versus Coeducational Patterns.”

Location: Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library. Princeton University Archives.

Call number: AC184


 

Princeton University. Lesbian Gay Bisexual Alliance.

Creator: Princeton University. Lesbian Gay Bisexual Alliance.

Title: Lesbian Gay Bisexual Alliance Records, 1972-1995: Finding Aid

Abstract: The Lesbian Gay Bisexual Alliance (LGBA), is the social and political organization for lesbian, gay, and bisexual students at Princeton University. The Alliance is the successor to the Gay Alliance of Princeton (GAP), Gay Women of Princeton (GWOP), the Lesbian and Bisexual Task Force (LBTF), and Gay and Lesbian Alliance of Princeton (GALAP). These records contain material regarding the LGBA's programs and its publications, as well as subject files assembled by the LGBA's officers and staff.

Location: Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library. Princeton University Archives.

Call number: AC037


 

Princeton University. Organization of Women Leaders.

Creator: Princeton University. Organization of Women Leaders.

Title: Organization of Women Leaders Records, : Preliminary Finding Aid

Abstract: The Organization of Women Leaders(OWL) is a student-founded, student-run non-profit organization at Princeton University dedicated to the discussion of issues affecting women on campus, in local communities, and worldwide. The records consist of organizational materials documenting the inaugural year of the Organization of Women Leaders.

Location: Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library. Princeton University Archives.

Call number: AC229


 

Princeton University. President's Standing Committee on the Status of Women.

Creator: Princeton University. President's Standing Committee on the Status of Women.

Title: President's Standing Committee on the Status of Women Records, 1989-2001: Preliminary Finding Aid

Abstract: The President's Standing Committee on the Status of Women was established in 1989 by president Harold Shapiro. Consists of the records of the committee including correspondence, meeting minutes, memos, subject files, and the records of the seperate task forces that have operated under the auspices of the committee.

Location: Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library. Princeton University Archives.

Call number: AC255


 

Princeton University. Program in Women's Studies.

Creator: Princeton University. Program in Women's Studies.

Title: Program in Women's Studies Records, 1981-1992: Preliminary Finding Aid

Abstract: Princeton University's Program in Women's Studies was founded in 1981. The collection consists of articles related to women's issues from the Daily Princetonian and other local publications, as well as clippings on other subjects such as University investments in South Africa.

Location: Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library. Princeton University Archives.

Call number: AC216


 

Princeton University. Women's Center.

Creator: Princeton University. Women's Center.

Title: Women's Center Records, 1968-2007: Finding Aid

Abstract: The Princeton University Women's Center is a campus organization dedicated to providing a forum through which female students can voice their feelings and concerns about student life. The Women's Center also oversees the organization of programming and outreach activities which touch on a broad spectrum of women's issues. The records contain correspondence, subject files, and materials related to events and programs sponsored by the Women's Center.

Location: Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library. Princeton University Archives

Call number: AC248


 

Princeton University. Women's Organization.

Creator: Princeton University. Women's Organization.

Title: Princeton University Women's Organization Records, 1973-1978: Preliminary Finding Aid

Abstract: The Princeton University Women's Organization (PUWO) was formed in the winter of 1972 to provide a body through which the women of Princeton University community (employees and students) could monitor and discuss issues related to employment and student life. Consists of clippings, correspondence, reports, and studies pertaining to issues such as tenure, staff relations, and student recruitment.

Location: Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library. Princeton University Archives.

Call number: AC172


 

Steering Committee for the 20th Anniversary of Undergraduate Coeducation at Princeton.

Creator: Steering Committee for the 20th Anniversary of Undergraduate Coeducation at Princeton.

Title: Steering Committee for the 20th Anniversary of Coeducation Records, 1988-1990: Finding Aid

Abstract: In the Fall of 1998, President Harold T. Shapiro, recognizing that many groups, individuals, and organizations were interested in planning events and projects related to the 20th anniversary of undergraduate coeducation, appointed a Steering Committee to coordinate and help support these activities. These records document the planning, implementation, and assessment of the actions of the Steering Committee.

Location: Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library. Princeton University Archives.

Call number: AC182


 

Taub, Nadine.

Creator: Taub, Nadine.

Title: Nadine Taub Collection of Sally Frank Court Documents, 1979-1990: Preliminary Finding Aid

Abstract: Nadine Taub is professor emeritus at the Rutgers School of Law, where she was formerly the director of the Women's Rights Litigation Clinic. In 1979 Sally Frank, a Princeton student, filed a sex discrimination complaint with the New Jersey Division on Civil Rights on the grounds that as a woman she was denied membership in the Ivy, Tiger Inn and University Cottage eating clubs. Consists of transcripts, correspondence, research materials, clippings from local newspapers, and official court documents collected over the duration of the Sally Frank case.

Location: Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library. Princeton University Archives.

Call number: AC194


 

Women's Center

Creator: Women's Center

Title: Women's Center Records, 1968-2007: Finding Aid

Abstract: The Princeton University Women's Center is a campus organization dedicated to providing a forum through which female students can voice their feelings and concerns about student life. The Women's Center also oversees the organization of programming and outreach activities which touch on a broad spectrum of women's issues. The records contain correspondence, subject files, and materials related to events and programs sponsored by the Women's Center.

Location: Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library. Princeton University Archives

Call number: AC248


 

Women's Organization

Creator: Women's Organization

Title: Princeton University Women's Organization Records, 1973-1978: Preliminary Finding Aid

Abstract: The Princeton University Women's Organization (PUWO) was formed in the winter of 1972 to provide a body through which the women of Princeton University community (employees and students) could monitor and discuss issues related to employment and student life. Consists of clippings, correspondence, reports, and studies pertaining to issues such as tenure, staff relations, and student recruitment.

Location: Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library. Princeton University Archives.

Call number: AC172


 

For information about these collections contact the Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library.

EM: mudd@princeton.edu

Telephone: 609-258-6345

Fax: 609-258-3385

 

More information

For information about these collections contact the Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library.

EM: mudd@princeton.edu

Telephone: 609-258-6345

Fax: 609-258-3385