Skip to main content

Gender and Sexuality Studies Resources: Public Policy

Resources for the study of gender and sexuality at Princeton University.

Public Policy Finding Aids

 

Housed at the Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library, the Public Policy Papers include important collections representing individuals and organizations in the areas of 20th-century American foreign policy, jurisprudence, journalism, public policy formation, and economic development.

 

Source: http://diglib.princeton.edu/ead/browse.html

 


 

Evans, Carol.

Creator: Evans, Carol.

Title: Carol Evans Collection on Adlai E. Stevenson, 1953-1979: Inventory

Abstract: Consists of papers retained by Carol Evans while she was secretary (1948-1961) of Stevenson and, later, assistant editor of The Papers of Adlai E. Stevenson (1972-1979), which were edited by Walter Johnson.

Location: Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library. Public Policy Papers.

Call number: MC127


 

Lamson, Peggy, 1912-

Creator: Lamson, Peggy, 1912-

Title: Peggy Lamson Collection on Roger Baldwin, 1917-1976 (bulk 1973-1976): Finding Aid

Abstract: This collection contains interview transcripts, cassette tapes, and background material collected by Peggy Lamson for her authorized biography, Roger Baldwin, Founder of the American Civil Liberties Union: A Portrait. Much of the background material was provided, and in some cases annotated, by Baldwin and documents both his professional and personal life.

Location: Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library. Public Policy Papers.

Call number: MC082


 

Martindell, Anne, 1914-

Creator: Martindell, Anne, 1914-

Title: Anne Martindell Papers, 1898-2002 (bulk 1968-1990): Finding Aid

Abstract: Anne Martindell was one of the first three women to serve in the New Jersey State Senate. After her four-year term ended in 1977, she served as director of the Office for Foreign Disaster Assistance, and was ambassador to New Zealand and Western Samoa for a two-year term. The papers document her career in politics and civil service, and also contain her unpublished memoirs and personal papers.

Location: Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library. Public Policy Papers.

Call number: MC203


 

Murphy, Laura W.

Creator: Murphy, Laura W.

Title: Laura W. Murphy Papers, 1987-1998: Preliminary Finding Aid

Abstract: Laura W. Murphy (1955- ) was the Director of the Washington Legislative Office of the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU), a prominent nonprofit, nonpartisan civil liberties advocacy organization, from 1993 to 2005. In this capacity, she served as the organization's chief lobbyist and as a national spokesperson on federal policy matters, and frequently testified before Congress. Murphy's papers document her tenure as Director of the Washington Legislative Office of the ACLU. The majority of the files are composed of memoranda, articles, and papers written by Murphy and the ACLU on a wide variety of civil liberties issues, including affirmative action, the justice system, rights to privacy, voting rights, issues affecting minorities, and issues involving religion.

Location: Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library. Public Policy Papers.

Call number: MC223


 

Pearman, Ann

Creator: Pearman, Ann

Title: Peter M. Page Papers, December 29, 1941 - January 29, 1943: Finding Aid MC211

Abstract: Peter M. Page (1919-1943) joined the US Naval Air Corps after graduating from Princeton University's Class of 1941 and lost his life as a Marine Corps pilot in the aftermath of the Guadalcanal campaign on January 14, 1943. The collection contains correspondence from Peter Page to his fiancée Ann Pearman (neé Aiguier) from several bases during his pilot training and subsequent military service.

Location: Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library. Public Policy Papers.

Call number: MC211


 

Pitchersky, Carol.

Creator: Pitchersky, Carol.

Title: Carol Pitchersky papers, 1970s-1990s: Preliminary Finding Aid

Abstract: Carol Pitchersky served as Head of Development and Strategic Planning and Associate Director for the Amercian Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) and served as a consultant to other prominent nonprofit organizations.

Location: Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library. Public Policy Papers.

Call number: MC210


 

Sayre, Jessie Woodrow Wilson, 1887-1933.

Creator: Sayre, Jessie Woodrow Wilson, 1887-1933.

Title: Jessie Wilson Sayre Papers, 1886-1931: Finding Aid

Abstract: Jessie Wilson Sayre was the daughter of U.S. President Woodrow Wilson and was a political activist. The Jessie Wilson Sayre Papers document the close relationships amongst the Wilson and Axson families in the early twentieth century, and provide details into their lives.

Location: Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library. Public Policy Papers.

Call number: MC216


 

Snyder, Margaret C., 1929-

Creator: Snyder, Margaret C., 1929-

Title: Margaret Snyder Papers, 1950-1994 (bulk 1970-1990): Finding Aid

Abstract: Dr. Margaret Snyder was actively involved in women's economic and development issues in various regions of the world for more than three decades. She served as advisor to Kenya and East African Women's Seminars, Regional Advisor of the United Nations Economic Commission for Africa, co-founded the African Training and Research Center for Women, and was the Founding Director of the United Nations Development Fund for Women. The papers document Dr. Snyder's career, the organizations she worked for, and the projects conducted to help women across the globe.

Location: Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library. Public Policy Papers.

Call number: MC096


 

White, Dorothy Shipley, 1896-

Creator: White, Dorothy Shipley, 1896-

Title: Dorothy Shipley White Photograph Collection, 1890-1970: Inventory

Abstract: The Dorothy Shipley White Collection encompasses two sets of photographs, one on the life of Charles deGaulle and the other on French Africa. White presumably collected the photographs in preparation for her book, Black Africa and deGaulle (Pennsylvania State University Press, 1979). Mrs. White sent the photographs and negatives of the deGaulle photographs to Princeton in 1989.

Location: Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library. Public Policy Papers.

Call number: MC161


 

Women's World Banking.

Creator: Women's World Banking.

Title: Women's World Banking Records, 1964-1996 (bulk 1980-1990): Finding Aid

Abstract: Women's World Banking (WWB), one of the world's leaders in microenterprise financing, is a not-for-profit international financial institution founded in 1979 to facilitate the participation of poor women entrepreneurs in the modern economy at the local level, especially those who are generally without access to established financial institutions. The organization consists of an international network of affiliates (independent local institutions that provide a variety of financial and training services to meet the needs of local women) with a central coordinating office in New York City. WWB's records document the administration of the organization during the tenure of its first president, Michaela Walsh, and include founding documents, financial records, correspondence, records related to affiliates and other organizations, and the files of Michaela Walsh.

Location: Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library. Public Policy Papers.

Call number: MC198


 

For information about these collections contact the Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library.

EM: mudd@princeton.edu

Telephone: 609-258-6345

Fax: 609-258-3385

 

 

More information

For information about these collections contact the Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library.

EM: mudd@princeton.edu

Telephone: 609-258-6345

Fax: 609-258-3385