Skip to main content

Gender and Sexuality Studies Resources: Periodicals

Resources for the study of gender and sexuality at Princeton University.

18th, 19th, and 20th Centuries (selective list)

The American Suffragette: Official Organ of the National Progressive Woman Suffrage Union.  New York: The Union, 1909-1911.

Microfilm S00813                  Library has: June 1909-Apr. 1911

 

Britannia. London: Women’s Social and Political Union.

Official organ of the Women’s Social and Political Union.

Continues: Suffragette

Microfilm S00029  Library has: Vol. 4, no. 123 (Oct. 9, 1915)-v. 7, no. 27 (Dec. 20, 1918)

 

Dial (Boston, Mass.)

Microfilm S01434 APS II reel 546       Library has: Vol.1, no.1 (July 1840)-v.4, no. 4 (April 1844)            See American Periodicals, 1741-1900       Guide (FilmB) Z6951.H65

Rare books (EX) 3730.646   Location has: v.1-4; July 1840-April 1844

 

European Women’s Periodicals.  "Consists of the entire periodical collection of the IIAV and part of the periodical collection of the IISG."--Guide, introduction.

Coverage includes: Unit 2. France. Unit 3. Germany, Switzerland, and German language issues from Paris and Prague. 

Microfilm S01900  Guide (FilmB) HQ1586.E88 1992

 

Die Frau, 1893-1944.

Microfiche 2127                  Library has: 1. Jahrg. (1893/94)-51 Jahrg. (1943/44)

 

Good Housekeeping. 1885-.

Microfilm S00269  Library has: Vol. 1, no. 1 (May 2, 1885)-v.189 (1979)

 

Herstory. Berkeley, CA: Women’s History Research Center, 1971-.

Contains women’s periodicals from the International Women’s History Periodical Archive assembled 1978- by the Women’s History Research Center (called 1968-1977 Women’s History Library).

Microfilm S00485  Guide (FilmB) HQ1154.H4

 

History of Women: From the Sophia Smith Collection at Smith College, the Schlesinger Library at Radcliffe College and other sources. Units 1-25.

Microfilm 12129    Guide (FilmB) Z7965.H57 1983

 

Ladies’ Home Journal and Practical Housekeeper, 1883-1889.

Microfilm S00487  Library has: Vol. 1, no. 1 (Dec.1883)-v. 6, no. 6 (May 1889)

Microfilm S01434  American Periodical Series III, reel 757-758, library has: Vol. 1, no. 2 (Jan. 1884)-v. 6, no. 6 (May 1889)            Guide (FilmB) Z6951.H65

 

Ladies’ Home Journal.

Microfilm S00487  Library has: Vol. 6, no. 7(June 1889)-v.18, May 1901) Missing pages 27-36 from v.18, May 1901; p. 10-11 of Sept. 1948 is damaged.

Microfilm S01434  American Periodical Series III reel 758-766.  Library has: Vol.6, no.7 (June 1889)-v. 24, no. 12 (Nov. 1907)

 

Ladies’ Pearl, 1840-1842.

Microfilm S01434  Library has: Vol.1, no. 1 (June 1840)-v. 2 (June 1842)

American Periodicals Series II, reel 657            Guide (FilmB) Z6951.H65

(ExHolden) AP2 .L153         Location has: Vol.1, no. 1 (June 1840)-v. 2 (June 1842)

 

Lady’s Pearl, 1842-1843.

Microfilm S01434  Library has: Vol. 3, no. 1 (July 1842)-v. 4, no. 1 (July 1843)

American Periodicals Series II, reel 657            Guide (FilmB) Z6951.H65

(ExHolden) AP2.L153          Location has: Vol.3, no. 1 (July 1842)-v. 4, no. 1 (July 1843)

 

McCall’s Magazine.

Microfilm S01889  Library has: Vol. 25 (Sept. 1897)-v. 48, no. 11 (Aug. 1921)

 

McCall’s, 1921-2001.

Microfilm S01889  Library has: Vol. 48, no. 12 (Sept. 1921)-v.107, no. 12 (Sept. 1980)

 

Ladies’ Wreath, 1846-1853.

Microfilm S01434  Library has: Vol. 1, no. 1(May 1846)-[v. 7 (1853)]

American Periodicals Series II, reel 1232          Guide (FilmB) Z6951.H65

 

National Anti-slavery Standard.

Microfilm 11713

 

National Magazine; or, Lady’s Emporium, 1830-1831.

Microfilm S01434  Library has: Vol. 1, no. 1 (Nov. 1830)-v.2, no.3 (July 1831)

American Periodicals Series II, reel 799            Guide (FilmB) Z6951.H65

 

Peace and Freedon: Women’s International League for Peace and Freedom.

Microfilm S00485, reel 22.   Location has: Vol.26, no. 2 (Feb. 1966)-v.31, no. 6 (June 1971)

 

Popular Women’s Magazines at the British Library, London.  Parts 1-4

Part 1 Woman, 1890-1912 (reels 1-21).  Part 2,  Englishwoman’sReview and Drawing Room Journal, 1857-1859, and Myra’s Journal of Dress and Fashion, 1875-1912 (reels 22-42).  Part 3, The Ladies’ Pocket Magazine, 1826-1839, The Ladies’ Treasury, 1858-1869, and others (reels 43-61).  Part 4,  La Belle assemblée and continuations, 1806-1832 (reels 62-70).

Microfilm 06832              Guide (FilmB) HQ1591.S623 ser.2

 

Radical and Reforming Periodicals for and By Women.  Periodicals from the collection of the Newspaper Library of the British Library.  Parts 1-2

Microfilm 05336                 Guide (FilmB) HQ1591.S623 ser.1

 

Redbook.

Microfilm S01890            Library has: Vol. 1 (May 1903)-v. 153 (Oct. 1979)

 

Selected Newsletters and Periodicals from the holdings of the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual Transgender History Society. Parts 1-3

Microfilm 11950                 Guide (FilmB) HQ76.8.U5 S44 2005

 

Social and Political Status of Women in Britain. Series 1, Parts 1-3. Radical and Reforming Periodicals for and By Women

Microfilm 05336                Guide (FilmB) HQ1591 .S623 ser.1

 

Social and Political Status of Women in Britain. Series 2, Parts 1-4. Popular Women’s Magazines at the British Library

Microfilm 06832                 Guide (FilmB) HQ1591 .S623 ser.2

 

Victoria Magazine.

Microfilm S00677           Library has: Vol. 1 (May 1863)-v. 14 (Apr. 1870)

 

Vogue.

Microfilm S01478  Library has: Vol. 1, no. 1 (Dec. 17, 1892)-v. 115 (June 1950)

 

Woman’s Journal.

Microfilm S01011  Library has: Vol. 1, no. 1-v. 43, no. 40

(AnnexA) HQ1101.W652f

 

Woman’s Journal and Suffrage News.

Microfilm S01011  Library has: Vol. 43, no. 41-v. 47, no. 53

(AnnexA) HQ1101.W652f

 

Women’s International League for Peace and Freedom: Peace and Freedom.

Microfilm S00485, reel 22    Location has: Vol.26, no. 2 (Feb. 1966)-v.31, no. 6 (June 1971)

 

Women’s Journals, 1919-1968: From Franchise to Feminism. Part 1. Eve, 1919-1929

Microfilm 11603    Guide (FilmB) PN5114.W6.W66

 

Women’s Journals of the Nineteenth Century.  Part 1, The Women’s Penny Paper & Woman’s Herald, 1888-1893

Microfilm 09665    Guide (FilmB) PN5124.W6 W66

 

Women’s Periodicals: 18th Century to the Great Depression. Units 1-3

Microfilm 11993    Guide (FilmB) HQ1180.W6753 1991

 

Woodhull & Claflin’s Weekly.  New York: Victoria C. Woodhull & Tennie C. Claflin, 1870-1876.

Microfilm S01207  Location has: Vol. 1, no. 1 (May 14, 1870)-v. 12, no. 2 (June 10, 1876); also in  the Miriam Y. Holden Coll. (Holden) Firestone Library, call number: Oversize JF847 .W663f  Location has: Vol. 1, no. 16(Aug. 27, 1870)-Vol. 8, no. 26 (Nov. 28, 1874) Lacks: many issues.

 

Microfilm Location

Microfilm, microfiche, and printed guides to accompany the microfilm of this selective list of women's periodicals are in Microform Services on C-floor in Firestone Library.