Skip to main content

Gender and Sexuality Studies Resources: Web Resources

Resources for the study of gender and sexuality at Princeton University.

Selected Web Sites

Jewish Women’s Archives

The mission of the Jewish Women's Archive (JWA) is to uncover, chronicle, and transmit to a broad public the rich history of American Jewish women.”

 

Lesbian Herstory Archives

“The Lesbian Herstory Archives is home to the world's largest collection of materials by and about lesbians and their communities.”

 

Schlesinger Library – Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study – Harvard University

The Arthur and Elizabeth Schlesinger Library on the History of Women in America exists to document women's lives and endeavors. Its wealth of resources reveals the wide range of women's activities at home in the United States and abroad from the early nineteenth century to the present day.”

 

Sophia Smith Collection. Women’s History Archives at Smith College

“The Sophia Smith Collection at Smith College is an internationally recognized repository of manuscripts, archives, photographs, periodicals and other primary sources in women's history.”

 

University of Wisconsin.  Gender andWomen’s Studies Librarian’s Office

 

The Women’s Library

"The Women's Library is a cultural centre, housing the most extensive collection of women's history in the UK. With over 60,000 books and pamphlets, 2,500 periodical titles, 400 archive collections and 5,000 museum objects covering issues from health, sexuality and popular culture to politics, history and human rights, there is a wealth of material here and access is free for everyone."

 

Women’s Studies: A Guide to the Collections of The New York Public Library

“The collections consist of vast retrospective holdings relating to women, including manuscript and archival material, as well as a broad range of current Women's Studies materials reflecting new trends and thought on feminist theory and scholarship.”

 

Women’s Studies Resources in Microform at the Library of Congress

 

Women’s Studies/Women’s Issues Resource Sites

 

WSSLinks: Women and Gender Studies Web Sites

“The purpose of WSSLINKS is to provide access to a wide range of resources in support of Women's Studies.”

 

WWW Virtual Library Women’s History

“The main purposes of this virtual library are to list women's history institutions and organizations, locate archival and library collections, and provide links to Internet resources on women's history. In addition, also included are a list of women's studies journals and a few comprehensive link collections useful as a starting point for searching the Internet for women's studies in general.”