Skip to main content

Gender and Sexuality Studies Resources: Psychology

Resources for the study of gender and sexuality at Princeton University.

Contemporary Women's Issues

Articles from journals, newsletters, proceedings, pamphlets, book and media reviews and more about global women's issues.

Proquest

ProQuest 
Enter your search terms:

Bibliographies

Female psychology: an annotated psychoanalytic bibliography.  Edited by Eleanor Schuker and Nadine A. Levinson.  Hillsdale, NJ: Analytic Press, 1991.  (SW) RC451.4.W6 F45 1991

 

Women in psychology: a bio-bibliographic sourcebook.  Edited by Agnes N. O’Connell and Nancy Felipe Russo.  New York: Greenwood Press, 1990.  (SW) BF109.A1 W65 1990

 

Find Articles

Annual Review of Psychology  (1950+)

Note: Works better in Mozilla Firefox.

Comprehensive review of the literature in psychology. Can help students identify major trends in the field as well as find general overviews of research in specific subject areas of psychology.

 

Nineteenth Century Masterfile  (Nineteenth Century+)

Combines various general, scientific, religious, psychological, and legal indexes covering the nineteenth century.

 

PsycBOOKS  

Full text in PDF of 1,456 scholarly books and 22,623 chapters as well as 736 classic resources in psychology. Of these, 720 books are published by the APA, including 100 out-of-print books from 1950-2002.

 

PsycCRITIQUES  

New searchable database of book reviews in psychology. The database replaces APA's respected print journal Contemporary Psychology: APA Review of Books, providing major enhancements, very current reviews, and much more content.

 

PsycEXTRA  

PsycEXTRA, a gray literature database, is a companion to PsycINFO. It contains a wide variety of important information in psychology, behavioral science, and health. Most of the content was written for professionals and disseminated outside of peer-reviewed journals. Documents include newsletters, magazines, newspapers, technical and annual reports, government reports, consumer brochures, and more. PsycEXTRA is different from PsycINFO in its coverage, and also in its format, because it includes abstracts and citations plus full text for a major portion of the records. There is no coverage overlap with PsycINFO.

 

PsycINFO  (1800's+)

Produced by the American Psychological Association, it is the most comprehensive database of psychology. Provides abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health.

 

Scopus  (1996+)

Note: Princeton's Institutional ID (needed for Papers software): 51401.

International coverage of journal articles, selected web sites, and patents in the sciences and social sciences; provides citation tracking for 1996+

 

Wilson OmniFile  (1982+)

Multi-disciplinary database providing select full text articles, abstracts, and indexing. Consists of databases for scholarly sources in agriculture, applied science and technology, art, biology, business, education, general science, humanities, law, library and information science, social sciences, as well as popular appeal titles.

 

Gender Studies Database

Gender Studies Database  (1972+)  

Combines Women's Studies International, and Men's Studies databases with coverage of sexual diversity issues. Covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. An added feature is the Child Abuse, Child Welfare & Adoption database, with citations and abstracts to books, journal articles final reports from federally-funded grant, conference papers, unpublished papers, reports on completed or continuing research, as well as descriptions of service programs and prevention and treatment strategies. Materials cited are primarily in English-language, originating from U.S. research and service programs.

Google Books

Google Book Search

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search