Skip to main content

Gender and Sexuality Studies Resources: Anthropology

Resources for the study of gender and sexuality at Princeton University.

Proquest

ProQuest 
Enter your search terms:

Reference Sources

Latinas of the Americas: a source book, by K. Lynn Stoner.  New York: Garland, 1989.  (DR) Z7964.L3 S76 1989

 

Researching women in Latin America and the Caribbean.  Edited by Edna Acosta-Belén and Christine E. Bose.  Boulder, Colo.: Westview Press, 1993.  (F) HQ1181.L29 R48 1993

 

Women in the Third World: a reference handbook, by Karen L. Kinnear.  Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, c1997.  (F) HQ1870.9 .K58 1997

 

Women in the Third World: an encyclopedia of contemporary issues.  Edited by Nelly P. Stromquist.  New York: Garland Pub., 1998.  (F) (SPIA) HQ1870.9 .W6548 1998

 

Bibliographies

A Gendered past: a critical bibliography of gender in archaeology.  Edited by Elisabeth A. Bacus and Kurt F. Anschuetz.  Ann Arbor: University of Michigan Museum of Anthropology, 1993.  (F) Z5118.W65 G46 1993

 

Muslim women throughout the world: a bibliography, by Michelle Kimball and Barbara R. von Schlegell.  Boulder, Colo.: Lynne Rienner Publishers, 1996.  (F) Z7963.I74 K56 1996

 

Women in Japanese society: an annotated bibliography of selected English language materials, by Kristina Ruth Huber.  Westport, Ct.: Greenwood Press, 1992.  (GEST) Z7964.J3 H82 1992

 

Biographical Sources

Biographical dictionary of anthropologists, by William Stewart.  Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland, c2009.  (F) GN20 .S84 2009

 

Biographical dictionary of social and cultural anthropology.  Edited by Vered Amit.  London; New York: Routledge, 2004.  (F) GN20 .B56 2004

 

Women anthropologists: a biographical dictionary.  Edited by Ute Gacs.  New York: Greenwood Press, 1988.  (F) GN20 .W63 1988

 

Find Articles

ABIA: South and Southeast Asian Art and Archaeology Index  (1996+)  

Online version of what began as the Annual Bibliography of Indian Archaeology in 1928 in Leiden, the Netherlands. Includes coverage of scholarly publications in Asian and European languages on prehistory, archaeology, art history, numismatics, material culture and more from South and Southeast Asia, and from Afghanistan, South China, Tibet and nearby regions. Annotated entries.

 

Africa-Wide: NiPAD  (16th century +)  

Access to journal articles, news articles, reports, and more on Africa and South Africa. (formerly African HealthLine, African Studies, South African Studies)

 

Anthropology Plus  (1800+)

Worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Anthropology Plus combines Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and the Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK.

 

Annual Review of Anthropology  (1972+)

Note: Works better in Mozilla Firefox.

Comprehensive review of the literature in anthropology. Identifies major tends in the field as well as find general overviews of research in specific subject areas of anthropology.

 

AnthroSource  

Full text access to peer reviewed journals, newsletters and bulletins through a collaboration between the American Anthropological Association and the University of California Press.

 

Abstracts in Anthropology (paper record only)  

Comprehensive coverage of significant, current scholarship in cultural anthropology, physical anthropology, archaeology, & linguistics.

 

Bibliografia Mesoamericana    

Comprehensive and continually updated bibliographic dataset of the published literature pertaining to the anthropology of Mesoamerica. Content includes archaeology, ethnography, ethnohistory, art history, linguistics, physical anthropology, and other related disciplines. This resource is jointly supervised by John Weeks of the Museum Library of the University of Pennsylvania and Sandra Noble of the Foundation for the Advancement of Mesoamerican Studies, Inc. (FAMSI).

 

Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS)  (1971+)  

Note: Print back to 1946 at Firestone Reference (DR) & East Asian Library: (GEST) Z3001 .B49. Prior title covering 1936-40 at Gest Z3001.xB8; Cumulative bibliographies covering 1941-65 at GEST Z3001.C94 & Z3001.C93.

Records on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide in Western languages. Includes chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, etc.

 

Bibliography of Native North Americans  (16th Century+)

Citations to books, journal articles, essays, conference papers, and government documents.

 

eHRAF Collection of Ethnography  

Full-text ethnography materials of the world's cultures. At present, eHRAF indexes only 60 cultures, so for comprehensive treatment of world cultures use the HRAF microfiche collection in Microform Services (Microfiche 285). The collection of ethnography was produced on microfiche from 1950 to 1993. Two guides to the microfiche, Outline of World Cultures and Outline of Cultural Materials are available in Microforms Services (FilmB) GN345.3 .M87 1983.

 

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences  (1951+)

Compiled by the British Library of Political & Economic Science of the London School of Economics & Political Science. Provides bibliographic information from an international selection of publications in economics, political science, sociology, and anthropology.

 

Korean History & Culture Research Database  

Full-text database of excavation reports and articles in history, archeology, anthropology, literature, and folklore.

 

Linguistics Abstracts Online  (1985+)

More than 15,000 abstracts from nearly 300 linguistics journals published since 1985.

 

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts  (1973+)

Indexes journals covering all aspects of the study of languages, including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics.

 

Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies  

Index to journal and newspaper articles, books, and web sites on the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa. Coverage is from 1900 to the present and includes the following fields: politics, law, international relations, economics, literature, religion, arts, anthropology, history and archaeology. The database includes the catalogue of the School of Oriental & African Studies (SOAS), a major collection in London.

 

Motif-Index of Folk Literature    

Searchable electronic edition of The Motif-index of Folk Literature, by Sitith Thompson.

 

ProQuest Digital Dissertations  (1861+; full text 1997+)  

Access to citations and abstracts for every title in the Dissertation Abstracts database. Dissertations written from 1997 forward are available full text. The database includes citations to dissertations from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Citations for dissertations and master's theses published from 1980 forward have abstracts.

 

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature  (1967+)

Covers all aspects of music, including historical musicology, ethnomusicology, instruments and voice, dance, and music therapy. If related to music, works in other fields, such as literature, dramatic arts, visual arts, anthropology, sociology, philosophy and physics are included.

 

Sociological Abstracts  (1952+)

Indexing and abstracting of the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines, both theoretical and applied. Covers 2,500 journals, conference papers, dissertations, and book reviews. Includes materials in 30 languages.

 

Google Books

Google Book Search

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search