Skip to main content

Gender and Sexuality Studies Resources: Art

Resources for the study of gender and sexuality at Princeton University.

CPANDA

Policy-relevant data on the arts and cultural policy in the United States.

Google Books

Google Book Search

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

WSSLinks: Women & Art

WSSLinks: Women & Art  "This page provides a selective, annotated list of links with information on women in the visual arts.
Individual women artists' Web pages are not listed, although sites with lists of such links are included."

Reference Sources

Concise dictionary of women artists, edited by Delia Gaze.  London: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2001.  (SA) N8354 .D532 2001

 

North American women artists of the twentieth century: a biographical dictionary.  Edited by Jules Heller and Nancy G. Heller.  New York: Garland, 1995.  (SA) N6503 .N67 1995

 

Oxford Art Online  

Gateway to several art historical resources, most notably, the Grove Dictionary of Art ("Grove Art Online"), along with The Oxford Companion to Western Art (ed. Brigstocke, 2001), The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms (ed. M. and D. Clarke), The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (ed. Kelly, 1998), and numerous images. Grove Art covers all aspects of the visual arts.

 

Bibliographies

American women artists, past and present: a selected bibliographic guide, by Eleanor Tufts.  New York: Garland Pub., 1984-  (DR) Z7963.A75 T84 1984

 

Bibliography of gay and lesbian art.  New York: Gay and Lesbian Caucus, College Art Association, 1994.  (SA) Z5935.5 .B524 1994

 

Latin American women artists, Kahlo and look who else: a selective, annotated bibliography, by Cecilia Puerto.  Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1996.  (SA) Z7963.A75 P84 1996

 

Women artists: an historical, contemporary, and feminist bibliography, by Sherry Piland.  2nd ed. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1994.  (SA) Reference Z7963.A75 B32 1994

 

Women in the fine arts: a bibliography and illustration guide, by Janet A. Anderson.  Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland, 1991.  (DR) (SA) Reference Z7963.A75 A47 1991

 

Women artists in the United States: a selective bibliography and resource guide on the fine and decorative arts, 1750-1986, edited by Paula Chiarmonte.  Boston, MA: G.K. Hall, 1990.  (F) Z7963.A75 W65 1990

 

Biographical Sources

A Biographical dictionary of women artists in Europe and America since 1850, by Penny Dunford.  New York: Harvester Wheatsheaf, 1990.  (SA) N6757 .D86 1990b

 

Concise dictionary of women artists, edited by Delia Gaze.  London: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2001.  (SA) Reference N8354 .D532 2001

 

Contemporary women artists.  Edited by Laurie Collier Hillstrom and Kevin Hillstrom.  Detroit: St. James Press, c1999. (F) N8354 .C66 1999

 

Dictionary of women artists, edited by Delia Gaze.  London; Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers, 1997.  (DR) (SA) N8354 .D53 1997

 

Dictionary of women artists: an international dictionary of women artists born before 1900, by Chris Petteys.  Boston: G.K. Hall, 1985.  (DR) N43 .P47 1985 also in (SA) Reference N40 .P51

 

North American women artists of the twentieth century: a biographical dictionary.  Edited by Jules Heller and Nancy G. Heller. New York: Garland, 1995.  (SA) Reference N6503 .N67 1995

 

Women artists in history: from antiquity to the present, by Wendy Slatkin.  4th ed. Upper Saddle River, N.J.: Prentice Hall, c2001.  (SA) N43 .S57 2001

 

Women artists of color: a bio-critical sourcebook to 20th century artists in the Americas, edited by Phoebe Farris.  Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1999.  (SA) N8354 .W656 1999

 

Find Articles

ARTbibliographies Modern  (1974+)

Full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, with approximately 12-13,000 new entries being added each year.

 

Art Index  (Indexing 1929+, Select Full Text 1997+)

Indexes and abstracts articles and reproductions of works of art from periodicals published throughout the world on all areas in the arts

 

Bibliography of the History of Art  (1973+)

Note: Includes the contents of its two predecessor indexes, RAA (Repertoire d'Art et d'Archeologie), and RILA (International Repertory of the Literature of the Art), with the exception of RAA from 1910 to 1972. See Marquand Z5937.R4 for paper index.

Indexes and abstracts articles, art-related books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and art exhibition and dealer's catalogs, covering European and American art from late antiquity to the present.

 

CAA Reviews  (1998+)  

Substantial and scholarly book reviews of new art monographs and exhibitions. Published by the College Art Association, the professional organization for art historians, artists, students and museum professionals. Reviews are searchable and can be browsed by subject.

 

Cultural Policy and the Arts National Data Archive (CPANDA)    

Policy-relevant data on the arts and cultural policy in the United States.

 

Index to 19th-Century American Art Periodicals    

Index to art periodicals published in the United States during the 19th century. Indexes the entire contents of each journal, including advertisements and illustrations.

 

Art Index

Art Index  (Indexing 1929+, Select Full Text 1997+)
Indexes and abstracts articles and reproductions of works of art from periodicals published throughout the world on all areas in the arts.

Proquest

ProQuest 
Enter your search terms: