Skip to main content

Gender and Sexuality Studies Resources: LGBT

Resources for the study of gender and sexuality at Princeton University.

Reference Sources

Black queer studies: a critical anthology.  E. Patrick Johnson and Mae G. Henderson, editors.  Durham, NC: Duke University Press, 2005.  (F) E184.7 .B535 2005

 

Cassell’s queer companion: a dictionary of lesbian and gay life and culture, by William Stewart.  London; New York: Cassell, 1995.  (DR) HQ76.25 .S848 1995

 

Current concepts in transgender identity, edited by Dallas Denny.  New York: Garland Pub., 1998.  (F) HQ77.9 .C87 1998

 

Gay and lesbian Americans and political participation: a reference handbook, by Raymond A. Smith and Donald P. Haider-Markel.  Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, c2002. (F) HQ76.3.U5 S59 2002

 

Gay and lesbian issues: a reference handbook, by Chuck Stewart.  Santa Barbara, Calif.; Oxford: ABC-CLIO, c2003.  (F) HQ76.25 .S748 2003

 

The gay and lesbian movement: references and resources, by Robert B. Marks Ridinger. New York: G.K. Hall; London: Prentice Hall International, [1996].  (DR) HQ76.5 .R53 1996

 

Gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgendered literature: a genre guide, by Ellen Bosman and John P. Bradford.  Westport, Conn.: Libraries Unlimited, 2008.  (DR) Z1229.G25 B67 2008

 

Gay rights, by Rachel Kranz and Tim Cusick.  Rev. ed. New York, NY: Facts on File, c2005.  (F) HQ76.8.U5 K73 2005

 

The global emergence of gay and lesbian politics: national imprints of a worldwide movement, edited by Barry D Adam, Jan Willem Duyvendak, and André Krouwel.  Philadelphia, Penn: Temple University Press, 1999.  (F) HQ76.5 .G56 1999

 

Handbook of lesbian and gay studies, edited by Diane Richardson and Steven Seidman.  London; Thousand Oaks, Calif.: SAGE, 2002.  (F) HQ75.15 .H36 2002

 

Historical dictionary of lesbian literature, by Meredith Miller.  Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 2006.  (F) PN491.3 .M55 2006

 

Historical dictionary of the lesbian liberation movement: still the rage, by JoAnne Myers.  Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 2003.  (F) HQ76.5 .M94 2003

 

Homosexuality and science: a guide to the debates, by Vernon A. Rosario.  Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 2002.  (F) QP81.6 .R656 2002

 

The Lesbian and gay studies reader, edited by Henry Abelove, Michèle Aina Barale, and  David M. Halperin.  New York: Routledge, 1993.  (F) HQ76.25 .L48 1993

 

A queer world: the Center for Lesbian and Gay Studies reader, edited by Martin Duberman.  New York: New York University Press, [1997]  (F) HQ76 .Q44 1997

 

Encyclopedias

Completely queer: the Gay and Lesbian encyclopedia, by Steve Hogan and Lee Hudson.  New York: Henry Holt and Company, 1998. (DR) HQ75 .H63 1998

 

Encyclopedia of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender history in America.  Marc Stein, editor in chief.  New York: Scribner, c2004.  (F) (SSRC) HQ76.3.U5 E53 2003

 

Gay histories and cultures: an encyclopedia.  George E. Haggerty, editor.  New York: Garland, 2000.  (DR) HQ75.13 .G37 2000

 

Lesbian histories and cultures: an encyclopedia.  Bonnie Zimmerman, editor.  New York: Garland Pub., 2000.  (DR) HQ75.5 .L4395 2000

 

The queer encyclopedia of film & television, edited by Claude J. Summers.  1st ed. San Francisco: Cleis Press, c2005.  (F) PN1590.G39 Q44 2005

 

The queer encyclopedia of music, dance, & musical theater, edited by Claude J. Summers.  1st ed. San Francisco: Cleis Press, c2004.  (MUS) ML100 .Q44 2004

 

The queer encyclopedia of the visual arts, edited by Claude J. Summers.  1st ed. San Francisco: Cleis Press, c2004.  (SA) N72.H64 Q44 2004

 

Routledge international encyclopedia of queer culture, edited by David A. Gerstner.  London; New York: Routledge, 2006.  (SSRC) HQ76.96 .R68 2006

 

St. James Press gay & lesbian almanac, edited by Neil Schlager.  Detroit: St. James Press, c1998.  (F) HQ76.3.U5 S75 1998

 

Biographical Sources

Gay & lesbian biography, edited by Michael J. Tyrkus.  Detroit: St. James Press, c1997.  (F) HQ75.2 .G39 1996

 

Who’s who in gay and lesbian history: from antiquity to World War II.  Edited by Robert Aldrich and Garry Wotherspoon.  London; New York: Routledge, 2001.  (F) HQ75.2 .W47 2001

 

 

Bibliographies

Gay and lesbian American plays: an annotated bibliography, by Ken Furtado and Nancy Hellner.  Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1993.  (DR) Z1229.G25 F87 1993

 

Guide to gay and lesbian resources in the University of Chicago Library.  Compiled by Frank Conaway, Sebastian Hierl and Sem Sutter.  Chicago: University of Chicago Library, University of Chicago, 2002.  (F) Z7164.H74 C65 2002a

 

Lesbian sources: a bibliography of periodical articles, 1970-1990, by Linda Garber.  New York: Garland Pub., 1993.  (DR) Z5866.L44 G37 1993

 

Lesbianism: an annotated bibliography and guide to the literature, 1976-1991, by Dolores J. Maggiore.  [2nd ed.]  Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, c1992.  (DR) Z7164.S42 M33 1992

 

Find Articles

Contemporary Women's Issues (RDS)  (1992+)

Articles from journals, newsletters, proceedings, pamphlets, book and media reviews and more about global women's issues.

 

Dissertation Abstracts (ProQuest Digital Dissertations)  (1861+; full text 1997+)  

Access to citations and abstracts for every title in the Dissertation Abstracts database. Dissertations written from 1997 forward are available full text. The database includes citations to dissertations from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Citations for dissertations and master's theses published from 1980 forward have abstracts.

 

Ebsco Academic Search  (1975+)

Multi-disciplinary database providing abstract & indexing with select full text for many core scholarly journals as well as popular press periodicals 

 

Gender Studies Database  (1972+)  

Combines Women's Studies International, and Men's Studies databases with coverage of sexual diversity issues. Covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. An added feature is the Child Abuse, Child Welfare & Adoption database, with citations and abstracts to books, journal articles final reports from federally-funded grant, conference papers, unpublished papers, reports on completed or continuing research, as well as descriptions of service programs and prevention and treatment strategies. Materials cited are primarily in English-language, originating from U.S. research and service programs.

 

GenderWatch  (1970+)

Wide range of sources including both scholarly and popular articles about women, gender issues, and GLBT.

 

JSTOR    

Full text archive of core journals in select disciplines. Journal issues from the most recent 3-5 years are usually NOT available electronically through JSTOR.

 

Lexis-Nexis Academic    

Comprehensive database of legal materials, including cases, statutes, and regulations of the U.S. government and the various state governments; case law from 1789 to present; current and historical statutes and regulations from 1980 forward. Provides full text of many major national and regional newspapers, including the full text of the New York Times. For comparisons between Lexis-Nexis Academic and Factiva see http://firestone.princeton.edu/econlib/universe.html

 

LGBT Life  

Contains all of the content available in LGBT Life as well as full text for 50 of the most important and historically significant gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as dozens of full text monographs.

 

MLA International Bibliography  (1926+)

Provides citations to articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of modern literature, language, and linguistics.

 

Oral History Online    

Provides indexing, plus some full text, for English-language oral histories that are publicly available on the Web and that are held by repositories and archives around the world. Primarily covers 20th-century America, but there is some content for other times and places.

 

Sociological Abstracts  (1952+)

Indexing and abstracting of the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines, both theoretical and applied. Covers 2,500 journals, conference papers, dissertations, and book reviews. Includes materials in 30 languages. 

 

Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts Online  (1995+)

International abstracting service on women's studies. The major focus is on education, employment, women in the family, medicine and health, gender roles, social policy, biography, literary criticism and historical studies.

 

Women and Social Movements in the United States  (1600-2000)

Collection of full-text primary and secondary sources.

 

Internet Resources

QWEER Literature Web

Compiled by the ACRL Western European Studies Section, this site is a gateway to “queer resources in Romance language countries in Western Europe.”

 

Google Books

Google Book Search

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Proquest

ProQuest 
Enter your search terms:

WSSLinks: Lesbian Sites

WSSLinks: Lesbian Sites  A useful web page of gateways, research guides, libraries, archives, etc.