Skip to main content

Gender and Sexuality Studies Resources: Music

Resources for the study of gender and sexuality at Princeton University.

Gender Studies Database

Gender Studies Database  (1972+)  

Combines Women's Studies International, and Men's Studies databases with coverage of sexual diversity issues. Covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. An added feature is the Child Abuse, Child Welfare & Adoption database, with citations and abstracts to books, journal articles final reports from federally-funded grant, conference papers, unpublished papers, reports on completed or continuing research, as well as descriptions of service programs and prevention and treatment strategies. Materials cited are primarily in English-language, originating from U.S. research and service programs.

Proquest

ProQuest 
Enter your search terms:

Reference Sources

African American Music Reference  

Brings together text reference, biographies, chronologies, sheet music, images, lyrics, liner notes, and discographies which chronicle the history and culture of the African American experience through music. The database will expand to include coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression.

 

International encyclopedia of women composers, by Aaron I. Cohen.  2nd ed., rev. and enl.  New York: Books & Music USA, c1987. (SV) ML105 .C7 1987

 

Women composers and songwriters: a concise biographical dictionary, by Gene Claghorn.  Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, c1996. 

Bibliographies

Music by black women composers: a bibliography of available scores, by Helen Walker-Hill.  Chicago: Center for Black Music Research, Columbia College, c1995.  (SV) ML128.W7 W35 1995

 

Violin music by women composers: a bio-bibliographical guide, compiled by Rose-Marie Johnson.  New York: Greenwood Press, c1989.  (SV) ML128.W7 J63 1989

 

Women and music: a selective annotated bibliography on women and gender issues in music, 1987-1992, by Margaret D. Ericson.  New York: G.K. Hall; London: Prentice Hall International, c1996.  (SV) ML128.W7 E75 1996

 

Women in music: an encyclopedic biobibliography, by Don L. Hixon and Don A. Hennessee.  2nd ed.  Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1993. (SV) ML105 .H6 1993

 

Find Articles

Grove Music Online  (antiquity+)

Biographical articles for composers, performers, librettists, conductors and others. Includes entries from Grove dictionaries of jazz and opera as well.

 

International Index of Music Periodicals  

Indexes music journals covering a broad scope of research from performance, theory and composition to music education, jazz and ethnomusicology. Provides selected full text coverage of the most important music journals, and both scholarly and popular publications.

 

International Index to the Performing Arts Full Text  (1864+)

Comprehensive coverage of the performing arts, including dance, film, television, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, broadcast arts, comedy, opera, and more. IIPA indexes more than 210 periodicals. Full text is available from 1998 to the present; citations to articles are indexed back to 1864.

 

JSTOR  

Full text archive of core journals in select disciplines. Journal issues from the most recent 3-5 years are usually NOT available electronically through JSTOR.

 

Music Index Online  (1973+)

Note: Print volumes covering 1949-1972 are available in Mendel Music Library: Reference (SV) ML 118 M84.

Indexes international music periodicals which cover every aspect of the classical and popular world of music. A broad range of subjects are indexed, covering musicological or organological topics, plus book reviews, record reviews, first performances, and obituaries.

 

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature  (1967+)

Covers all aspects of music, including historical musicology, ethnomusicology, instruments and voice, dance, and music therapy. If related to music, works in other fields, such as literature, dramatic arts, visual arts, anthropology, sociology, philosophy and physics are included.

 

RIPM: Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals  (1800-1950)

Provides access to the contents of European and American music periodicals published in the 19th century. Topics covered include contemporary writings about composers, performers, compositions, and musical life.

 

Smithsonian Global Sound  

Smithsonian Global Sound is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. It includes the published recordings owned by the non-profit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and the archival audio collections of the Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon and other labels. It also includes music recorded around the African continent by for the International Library of African Music (ILAM) at Rhodes University as well as material collected by recordists on the South Asian subcontinent from the Archive Research Centre for Ethnomusicology (ARCE), sponsored by the American Institute for Indian Studies.

 

 

 

 

GenderWatch

GenderWatch  (1970+)
Wide range of sources including both scholarly and popular articles about women, gender issues, and GLBT.

Google Books

Google Book Search

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

WSSLinks: Women and Music

WSSLinks: Women and Music  This web page provides annotated links of sources about women and music.