Skip to main content

Gender and Sexuality Studies Resources: Theater

Resources for the study of gender and sexuality at Princeton University.

Full Text Plays

American Drama  (1714-1915)

Contains 711 plays by American dramatists that chronicle the history and culture of America through its dramatic writing. It includes plays by dramatists such as Thomas Paine, Edward Hitchcock, and James Lawson.

 

Asian American Drama  

Full text of plays written by over forty playwrights, and detailed information about productions, theaters, production companies, and other emphemera related to the plays.

 

Black Drama  (1850+)

Full text of plays written by dramatists from Africa, the Caribbean, and North America, and detailed information about productions, theaters, production companies, and other ephemera related to the plays.

 

Black Drama Second Edition  

 

English Drama  (1280-1915)

4,000 plays by 1,200 authors.

 

North American Indian Drama    

Contains the full-text of 93 plays by 18 playwrights, together with information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. Also includes the Native Playwrights' Newsletter.

 

North American Women's Drama  

Full text database of over 1000 plays from the 19th and 20th centuries to the present.

 

Play Index  

Indexes plays written from Antiquity to the present that have been published individually or reprinted in collections and anthologies since 1949. Covers 30,000 plays written in or translated into English, including one-act plays, pageants, plays in verse, radio and television plays, and classic drama. Includes links to the fulltext of plays available on the Web.

 

World Shakespeare Bibliography Online  

Provides listings for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare and published or produced between 1965 and early 2004.

 

Find Articles

Cultural Policy and the Arts National Data Archive (CPANDA)  

Policy-relevant data on the arts and cultural policy in the United States.

 

Grove Music Online  (antiquity+)

Biographical articles for composers, performers, librettists, conductors and others. Includes entries from Grove dictionaries of jazz and opera as well.

 

Humanities Full Text  (1984+)

Indexes articles in the fields of archaeology and classical studies, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, communications, language, literature, literary and political criticism, performing arts, philosophy, religion, etc.

 

International Index to the Performing Arts Full Text  (1864+)

Comprehensive coverage of the performing arts, including dance, film, television, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, broadcast arts, comedy, opera, and more. IIPA indexes more than 210 periodicals. Full text is available from 1998 to the present; citations to articles are indexed back to 1864.

 

JSTOR  

Full text archive of core journals in select disciplines. Journal issues from the most recent 3-5 years are usually NOT available electronically through JSTOR.

 

MLA International Bibliography  (1926+)

Provides citations to articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of modern literature, language, and linguistics.

 

Oxford Reference Online: Performing Arts

 

Play Index  

Indexes plays written from Antiquity to the present that have been published individually or reprinted in collections and anthologies since 1949. Covers 30,000 plays written in or translated into English, including one-act plays, pageants, plays in verse, radio and television plays, and classic drama. Includes links to the fulltext of plays available on the Web.

 

Theatre in Video  

Includes more than 250 performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video.

Google Books

Google Book Search

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search