Skip to main content

Gender and Sexuality Studies Resources: Dance

Resources for the study of gender and sexuality at Princeton University.

Google Books

Google Book Search

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Find Articles, Data, and Videos

Dance in Video  

Includes video dance productions and documentaries by performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and more.

 

Grove Music Online  (antiquity+)

Biographical articles for composers, performers, librettists, conductors and others. Includes entries from Grove dictionaries of jazz and opera as well.

 

Humanities Full Text  (1984+)

Indexes articles in the fields of archaeology and classical studies, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, communications, language, literature, literary and political criticism, performing arts, philosophy, religion, etc.

 

International Index of Music Periodicals  

Indexes music journals covering a broad scope of research from performance, theory and composition to music education, jazz and ethnomusicology. Provides selected full text coverage of the most important music journals, and both scholarly and popular publications.

 

International Index to the Performing Arts Full Text  (1864+)

Comprehensive coverage of the performing arts, including dance, film, television, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, broadcast arts, comedy, opera, and more. IIPA indexes more than 210 periodicals. Full text is available from 1998 to the present; citations to articles are indexed back to 1864.

 

JSTOR  

Full text archive of core journals in select disciplines. Journal issues from the most recent 3-5 years are usually NOT available electronically through JSTOR.

 

Oxford Reference Online: Performing Arts

 

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature  (1967+)

Covers all aspects of music, including historical musicology, ethnomusicology, instruments and voice, dance, and music therapy. If related to music, works in other fields, such as literature, dramatic arts, visual arts, anthropology, sociology, philosophy and physics are included.

 

Proquest

ProQuest 
Enter your search terms: