Skip to main content

Gender and Sexuality Studies Resources: Gender

Resources for the study of gender and sexuality at Princeton University.

GenderWatch

GenderWatch  (1970+) 

Wide range of sources including both scholarly and popular articles about women, gender issues, and GLBT.

Proquest

ProQuest 
Enter your search terms:

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of gender and society, edited by Jodi O’Brien.  Los Angeles: SAGE, c2009.  (SSRC) HQ1115 .E54 2009

 

Encyclopedia of sex and gender.   Fedwa Malti-Douglas, editor-in-chief.  Detroit, Mich.: Macmillan Reference USA, c2007.  Also in (F) HQ16 .E52 2007

 

Encyclopedia of sex and gender: men and women in the world’s cultures, edited by Carol R. Ember and Melvin Ember.  New York: Kluwer Academic/Plenum Publishers, c2004.  (F) HQ16 .E53 2003

 

Encyclopedia of women and gender: sex similarities and differences and the impact of society on gender.  Editor-in-chief, Judith Worell.  San Diego, Calif.: Academic Press, 2001.  (F) HQ1115 .E43 2001

 

Women and gender in medieval Europe: an encyclopedia.  Margaret Schaus, editor.  New York: Routledge, c2006.  (DR) HQ1147.E85 W66 2006

 

 

Find Articles and Digital Resources

Contemporary Women's Issues (RDS)  (1992+)

Articles from journals, newsletters, proceedings, pamphlets, book and media reviews and more about global women's issues.

 

Defining Gender, 1450-1910  

Wide range of original sources including ephemera, pamphlets, commonplace books, diaries, periodicals, letters, ledgers, manuscript journals, poetry, receipt books and conduct and advice literature.

 

Diotima  

Online resources for the study of Women and Gender in the Ancient World.

 

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index  (1995+)

Journal articles and essays about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.

 

Gender Studies Database  (1972+)

Combines Women's Studies International, and Men's Studies databases with coverage of sexual diversity issues. Covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. An added feature is the Child Abuse, Child Welfare & Adoption database, with citations and abstracts to books, journal articles final reports from federally-funded grant, conference papers, unpublished papers, reports on completed or continuing research, as well as descriptions of service programs and prevention and treatment strategies. Materials cited are primarily in English-language, originating from U.S. research and service programs.

 

GenderWatch  (1970+)

Wide range of sources including both scholarly and popular articles about women, gender issues, and GLBT.

 

Gerritsen Collection - Women's History Online  (1543-1945)

Major source for the study of women's history in the world, especially feminism and the movement for women's rights. The collection includes the full text of books, pamphlets and periodicals spanning four centuries and 15 languages.

 

LGBT Life  

Contains all of the content available in LGBT Life as well as full text for 50 of the most important and historically significant gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as dozens of full text monographs.

 

Publications on the Status of Women  (1960+)

Full text database of reports and publications issued by local and state commissions on the status of women. When complete, these publications will document women's issues in all 50 states and include an array of ephemeral materials, charts, graphs, and tables.

 

Sport Discus  (1800+)

International sport and fitness literature covering periodical articles, books, conference proceedings, and research papers.

 

Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts Online  (1995+)

International abstracting service on women's studies. The major focus is on education, employment, women in the family, medicine and health, gender roles, social policy, biography,literary criticism and historical studies.

 

Twentieth Century Advice Literature  

Digital collection of advice manuals, etiquette books, how-to-guides, professional manuals, textbooks, and government and association publications that provide insight into social and economic issues including race, sex, gender, and family life in 20th century America.

 

ViVa Bibliography of Women's History  (1990+)

Provides access to articles about women's and gender history from more than hundred European, American and Indian historical and women's studies journals.

 

Women and Social Movements in the United States  (1600-2000)

Collection of full-text primary and secondary sources.

 

 

Google Books

Google Book Search

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search