Skip to main content

Gender and Sexuality Studies Resources: Biography

Resources for the study of gender and sexuality at Princeton University.

Biographical Sources

A to Z of women in world history, by Erika Kuhlman.  New York: Facts On File, c2002.  (DR) CT3202 .K84 2002

 

American Men & Women of Science: A Biographical Directory of Today's Leaders in Physical, Biological, and Related Sciences

Biographical dictionary of the significant players in the physical, biological and related sciences. Each edition includes biographical entries on approximately 120,000 living scientists, providing birthdate; birthplace; field of specialty; education; honorary degrees; current position; professional and career information; awards; memberships; research information; and addresses for each entrant where available.

 

American National Biography  (17th Century+)  

Authoritative bios of more than 18,000 prominent Americans who are deceased. Updated monthly. Includes bibliographic data on publications by and about these individuals. Search by name or various characteristics including gender, ethnicity, occupation, dates.

 

Biographical dictionary of ancient Greek and Roman women: notable women from Sappho to Helena, by Marjorie Lightman and Benjamin Lightman.  New York: Facts On File, Inc., c2000.  (CLAS) HQ1136 .L54 2000

 

Biographical dictionary of Chinese women: antiquity through Sui, 1600 B.C.E.-618 C.E.  Editors-in-chief, Lily Xiao Hong Lee and A.D. Stefanowska.  Armonk, N.Y.: M.E. Sharpe, c2007.

 

The biographical dictionary of women in science: pioneering lives from ancient times to the mid-20th century.  Marilyn Ogilvie and Joy Harvey, editors.  New York: Routledge, 2000.  (F) Q141 .B5285 2000

 

Biography Index  (1946+)  

Links to 500,000 biographical entries in standard reference sources. Also lists bio coverage in contemporary magazines from 1984 to present. Offers multiple search criteria: name, race, ethnicity, gender, occupation, date, and keyword. Especially strong for US.

 

Biography Reference Bank  (Ancient times to present)  

Combines the in-depth, original profiles of Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated, plus the periodicals coverage of Biography Index, full-text articles, page images, and abstracts from the complete range of Wilson databases (including biographical profiles, feature articles, interviews, essays, book reviews, performance reviews, speeches, or obituaries).

 

Notable American women, 1607-1950; a biographical dictionary, edited by Edward T. James.  Cambridge, Mass.: Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, 1971.  (DR) CT3260 .N57

 

Notable American women: the modern period: a biographical dictionary, edited by Barbara Sicherman.  Cambridge, Mass.: Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, 1980.  (DR) CT3260 .N573

 

Notable American women: a biographical dictionary completing the twentieth century, Susan Ware, editor.  Cambridge, Mass: Belknap Press, 2004.  (DR) CT3260 .N5725 2004

 

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography    

Illustrated collection of 50,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of Great Britain, from the fourth century BC to the year 2000.

 

Shapers of the great debate on women’s rights: a biographical dictionary, by Joyce Duncan.  Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2008.  (F) HQ1412 .D86 2008

 

Women in world history: a biographical encyclopedia

 

The World who’s who of women.  14th ed.  Cambridge, Eng.: Melrose Press, 1997.  (DR) HQ1123 .W65

 

Google Books

Google Book Search

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search