Skip to main content

Gender and Sexuality Studies Resources: Sociology

Resources for the study of gender and sexuality at Princeton University.

Gender Studies Database

Gender Studies Database  (1972+)  

Combines Women's Studies International, and Men's Studies databases with coverage of sexual diversity issues. Covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. An added feature is the Child Abuse, Child Welfare & Adoption database, with citations and abstracts to books, journal articles final reports from federally-funded grant, conference papers, unpublished papers, reports on completed or continuing research, as well as descriptions of service programs and prevention and treatment strategies. Materials cited are primarily in English-language, originating from U.S. research and service programs.

GenderWatch

GenderWatch  (1970+) 

Wide range of sources including both scholarly and popular articles about women, gender issues, and GLBT.

LGBT Life

Contains all of the content available in LGBT Life as well as full text for 50 of the most important and historically significant gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as dozens of full text monographs.

Reference Sources

American Indian women: a guide to research, by Gretchen M. Bataille and Kathleen M. Sands.  New York: Garland, 1991.  (F) Z1209.2.N67 B36 1991

 

The Chicana studies index: twenty years of gender research, 1971-1991.  Compiled and edited by Lillian Castillo-Speed.  Berkeley, CA: Chicano Studies Library Publications Unit, University of California at Berkeley, 1992.  (F) Z1361.M4 C457 1992

 

Bibliographies

Lesbian sources: a bibliography of periodical articles, 1970-1990, by Linda Garber.  New York: Garland Pub., 1993.  (DR) Z5866.L44 G37 1993

 

Lesbianism: an annotated bibliography and guide to the literature, 1976-1991, by Dolores J. Maggiore.  2nd ed. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, c1992.  (DR) Z7164.S42 M33 1992

 

Mothers and mothering: an annotated feminist bibliography, by Penelope Dixon.  New York: Garland Pub., 1991.  (DR) Z7963.M67 D59 1991

 

Pro-choice/pro-life issues in the 1990s: an annotated, selected bibliography.  Compiled by Richard Fitzsimmons and Joan P. Diana.  Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, c1996.  (SSRC) Z6671.2.A2 F49 1996

 

Violence against women: international aspects: a bibliography, compiled by Joan Nordquist.  Santa Cruz, CA, USA: Reference and Research Services, c1998.  (ANNEX A) Forrestal  Z5703.4.W53 N69 1998

 

Women in sociology: a bio-bibliographical sourcebook.  Edited by Mary Jo Deegan.  New York: Greenwood Press, 1991.  (F) HM19 .W59 1991

 

Find Articles

Annual Review of Sociology  (1975+)

Note: Works better in Mozilla Firefox.

Comprehensive review of the literature in sociology. Identifies major tends in the field as well as find general overviews of research in specific subject areas of sociology.

 

Black Studies Center    

Scholarly essays and access to articles in Black Studies journals. Combines the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, the International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), and the full-text of The Chicago Defender, an important Black newspaper, from 1935-1975

 

Dissertation Abstracts (ProQuest Digital Dissertations)  (1861+; full text 1997+)  

Access to citations and abstracts for every title in the Dissertation Abstracts database. Dissertations written from 1997 forward are available full text. The database includes citations to dissertations from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Citations for dissertations and master's theses published from 1980 forward have abstracts.

 

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences  (1951+)

Compiled by the British Library of Political & Economic Science of the London School of Economics & Political Science. Provides bibliographic information from an international selection of publications in economics, political science, sociology, and anthropology.

 

JSTOR    

Full text archive of core journals in select disciplines. Journal issues from the most recent 3-5 years are usually NOT available electronically through JSTOR.

 

Race Relations Abstracts  (1975+)  

Bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

 

Social Issues Primary Source Collections  (19th Century+)  

Primary source documents focusing on leading social issues for the environment; gender issues and sexuality; human and civil rights; and medicine, health, and bioethics.

 

Social Science Citation Index  (Sciences (1900+), Social Sciences (1898+), and Arts and Humanities (1975+).)

Multidisciplinary index to journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Offers the option to find cited references, which are the authors lists of articles used in their research. 

 

Social Sciences Full Text  

General index to the literature of the social sciences including economics, politics, law, education, labor, and sociology. 

 

Sociological Abstracts  (1952+)

Indexing and abstracting of the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines, both theoretical and applied. Covers 2,500 journals, conference papers, dissertations, and book reviews. Includes materials in 30 languages.

 

Urban Studies Abstracts  (1973+)  

Covers urban affairs, community development, urban history, etc.

 

Web of Science (ISI)  (Sciences (1900+), Social Sciences (1898+), and Arts and Humanities (1975+).)  

Multidisciplinary index to journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Useful for cited reference searches.

 

 

Contemporary Women's Issues

Articles from journals, newsletters, proceedings, pamphlets, book and media reviews and more about global women's issues.

Google Books

Google Book Search

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Proquest

ProQuest 
Enter your search terms: