Skip to main content

Gender and Sexuality Studies Resources: Politics

Resources for the study of gender and sexuality at Princeton University.

Gender Studies Database

Gender Studies Database  (1972+)  

Combines Women's Studies International, and Men's Studies databases with coverage of sexual diversity issues. Covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. An added feature is the Child Abuse, Child Welfare & Adoption database, with citations and abstracts to books, journal articles final reports from federally-funded grant, conference papers, unpublished papers, reports on completed or continuing research, as well as descriptions of service programs and prevention and treatment strategies. Materials cited are primarily in English-language, originating from U.S. research and service programs.

Google Books

Google Book Search

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Reference Sources

Encyclopedia of women and American politics.  Edited by Lynne E. Ford.  New York: Facts On File, c2008.  (F) HQ1236.5.U6 E52 2008

 

From suffrage to the Senate: an encyclopedia of American women in politics, by Suzanne O’Dea Schenken.  Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO, c1999.  (F) HQ1236.5.U6 S32 1999

 

International encyclopedia of women’s suffrage, by June Hannam, Mitzi Auchterlonie, and Katherine Holden.  Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, c2000.  (F) JF851 .H28 2000

 

Women in Congress, 1917-2006.  Prepared under the direction of the Committee on House Administration of the U.S. House of Representatives, by the Office of History and Preservation, Office of the Clerk, U.S. House of Representatives.  Washington, D.C. : U.S. G.P.O., 2006.

Bibliographies

American women civil rights activists: biobibliographies of 68 leaders, 1825-1992, by Gayle J. Hardy.  Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland, c1993.  (F) JC599.U5 H273 1993

 

The Asian American woman: social, economic and political conditions: a bibliography.  Compiled by Joan Nordquist.  Santa Cruz, CA: Reference and Research Services, 1997.  (F) Z1361.O7 N65 1997

 

Women and politics worldwide.  Edited by Barbara J. Nelson and Najma Chowdhury.  New Haven: Yale University Press, c1994.  (F) (SPIA) HQ1236 .W6363 1994

 

Women in modern American politics: a bibliography, 1900-1995, compiled by Elizabeth M. Cox.  Washington, D.C.: Congressional Quarterly, c1997.  (SPIA) Z7963.P64 C69 1997

Find Articles

Annual Review of Political Science  (1998+)  

Note: Works better in Mozilla Firefox.

Comprehensive review of the literature in political science. Can help students identify major trends in the field as well as find general overviews of research in specific subject areas of politics.

 

CQ Electronic Library  

Includes 3 major publications from Congressional Quarterly. CQ Researcher provides in-depth coverage and analysis of major issues before the U.S. Congress since 1923. CQ Weekly provides weekly coverage of U.S. Congress legislative news and analysis since 1983. Encyclopedia of American government offers thousands of concise, up-to-date explanations of the how, why and who of American government.

 

Dissertation Abstracts (ProQuest Digital Dissertations)  (1861+; full text 1997+)  

Access to citations and abstracts for every title in the Dissertation Abstracts database. Dissertations written from 1997 forward are available full text. The database includes citations to dissertations from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Citations for dissertations and master's theses published from 1980 forward have abstracts.

 

Ebsco Academic Search  (1975+)  

Multi-disciplinary database providing abstract & indexing with select full text for many core scholarly journals as well as popular press periodicals

 

International Index, Social Sciences and Humanities Index, Omnifile  (1907-1984)  

Combination of International Index, Social Sciences & Humanities Index, Humanities Index, and Social Science Index.

 

International Political Science Abstracts  (1989+)

Note: Paper volumes covering 1951-1988 are available in SSRC. (Index Table I19)

Abstracts in English or French to articles selected from over 1,000 international journals. Topics covered include political science method and theory, political thinkers and ideas, governmental and administrative institutions, political process, international relations, and national and area studies.

 

JSTOR    

Full text archive of core journals in select disciplines. Journal issues from the most recent 3-5 years are usually NOT available electronically through JSTOR.

 

Lexis-Nexis Academic  

Comprehensive database of legal materials, including cases, statutes, and regulations of the U.S. government and the various state governments; case law from 1789 to present; current and historical statutes and regulations from 1980 forward. Provides full text of many major national and regional newspapers, including the full text of the New York Times. For comparisons between Lexis-Nexis Academic and Factiva see http://firestone.princeton.edu/econlib/universe.html.

 

Lexis-Nexis Congressional  (1789+)

Indexes publications of the U.S. Congress such as hearings, committee reports, documents and prints. Material is available in microfiche and/or electronic. Essential tool for doing legislative history research. Includes Congressional Research Reports from 1916 to the present, U.S. Serial Set from 1789-1969, Annals of Congress from 1789-1824, Register of Debates from 1824-1837, Congressional Globe from 1833-1873, and Congressional Record from 1873-1997 .

 

PAIS: Public Affairs Information Service  (1915+)

Citations to articles, books, reports, and select government documents on U.S. and international public policy issue. Generally considered to be a comprehensive index to policy literature.

 

ProQuest Research Library  (Mid 1970s+. (Highly selective earlier coverage))

Abstracting, indexing, and select full text of many core scholarly journals, magazines and major newspapers for information on a broad range of subjects.

 

Race Relations Abstracts  (1975+)  

Bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

 

Social Issues Primary Source Collections  (19th Century+)  

Primary source documents focusing on leading social issues for the environment; gender issues and sexuality; human and civil rights; and medicine, health, and bioethics.

 

Social Science Citation Index  (Sciences (1900+), Social Sciences (1898+), and Arts and Humanities (1975+).)

Multidisciplinary index to journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Offers the option to find cited references, which are the authors lists of articles used in their research. 

 

Social Sciences Full Text  

General index to the literature of the social sciences including economics, politics, law, education, labor, and sociology. 

 

Wilson OmniFile  (1982+)

Multi-disciplinary database providing select full text articles, abstracts, and indexing. Consists of databases for scholarly sources in agriculture, applied science and technology, art, biology, business, education, general science, humanities, law, library and information science, social sciences, as well as popular appeal titles. 

 

Web of Science (ISI)  (Sciences (1900+), Social Sciences (1898+), and Arts and Humanities (1975+).)  

Multidisciplinary index to journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Useful for cited reference searches. Note: covers only a subset of the titles in Econlit.

 

GenderWatch

GenderWatch  (1970+) 

Wide range of sources including both scholarly and popular articles about women, gender issues, and GLBT.

LGBT Life

Contains all of the content available in LGBT Life as well as full text for 50 of the most important and historically significant gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as dozens of full text monographs.

Proquest

ProQuest 
Enter your search terms:

WSSLinks: Women & Politics

WSSLinks: Women & Politics  "This page provides a selective, annotated list of links with information on women and politics.  Individual women politicians' Web pages are not listed."