Skip to main content

Gender and Sexuality Studies Resources: Literature

Resources for the study of gender and sexuality at Princeton University.

Gender Studies

Gender Studies Database  (1972+) 

Combines Women's Studies International, and Men's Studies databases with coverage of sexual diversity issues. Covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. An added feature is the Child Abuse, Child Welfare & Adoption database, with citations and abstracts to books, journal articles final reports from federally-funded grant, conference papers, unpublished papers, reports on completed or continuing research, as well as descriptions of service programs and prevention and treatment strategies. Materials cited are primarily in English-language, originating from U.S. research and service programs.

Google Books

Google Book Search

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of feminist literature, by Mary Ellen Snodgrass.  New York: Facts On File, c2006.  (DR) PN471 .S58 2006

 

Encyclopedia of feminist literature, by Kathy J. Whitson.  Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2004.  (DR) PN471 .W455 2004

 

The Toni Morrison encyclopedia.  Edited by Elizabeth Ann Beaulieu.  Westport, Conn.; London: Greenwood Press, 2003.  (F) PS3563.O8749 Z913 2003

 

Writing African American women: an encyclopedia of literature by and about women of color.  Edited by Elizabeth Ann Beaulieu.  Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2006.  (F) PS153.N5 W756 2006

 

Find Articles

Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL)  (1920+)

Citations to books, articles, and book reviews. English is to be understood in the broadest international sense. ABELL is an excellent complement to the MLA International Bibliography.

 

Black Women Writers  

Note: You must install Flash version 8 or higher to use.

Works of fiction, nonfiction and poetry by women from North America, Africa and the Caribbean.

 

Contemporary Authors (Literature Resource Center)    

Provides full text of biographies, bibliographies, literary criticism, and other resources on authors of all categories and eras.

 

Contemporary Literary Criticism (Literature Resource Center)    

Provides full text of biographies, bibliographies, literary criticism, and other resources on authors of all categories and eras.

 

Dictionary of Literary Biography (Literature Resource Center)  

Provides full text of biographies, bibliographies, literary criticism, and other resources on authors of all categories and eras.

 

Essay and General Literature Index  (1900+)  

Access to essays and articles published in collections, with emphasis on works in the humanities and social sciences.

 

Humanities Full Text  (1984+)  

Indexes articles in the fields of archaeology and classical studies, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, communications, language, literature, literary and political criticism, performing arts, philosophy, religion, etc.

 

Irish Women Poets of the Romantic Period  (1768-1842)

Poetry by Irish women writing between 1768 and 1842.

 

JSTOR  

Full text archive of core journals in select disciplines. Journal issues from the most recent 3-5 years are usually NOT available electronically through JSTOR.

 

Latin American Women Writers  

Contains full text of fiction, poetry, essays, and plays by women writers from Latin America, starting in the colonial period and moving through to the present.

 

LION: Literature Online    

Full text of more than 350,000 works of English and American literature and poetry, fiction, drama, from the seventeenth century to the present, as well as works of literary theory from Plato to the present.

 

Literature Criticism Online    

Covers authors and their works across regions, eras, and genres. Includes biographical and critical overviews, and many interviews of authors. Contains the full text of volumes in Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Literature Criticism 1400-1800, Shakespeare Criticism, Classical & Medieval Literature Criticism, and Drama Criticism.

 

Literary Reference Center  (Antiquity+)

Broad spectrum of reference information. Full-text database that combines information from over 1,000 books and monographs, major literary encyclopedias and reference works, hundreds of literary journals, and unique sources not available anywhere else. Contains detailed information on the most studied authors and their works.

 

Literature Resource Center  

Provides full text of biographies, bibliographies, literary criticism, and other resources on authors of all categories and eras.

 

MLA International Bibliography  (1926+)

Provides citations to articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of modern literature, language, and linguistics.

 

Mary Shelley: Novels and Selected Works  

Searchable electronic edition of The Novels and Selected Works of Mary Shelley.

 

Renaissance Women Online  

Subset of 100 texts from the Women Writers Online collection.

 

Wollstonecraft: Works  

Searchable electronic edition of The Works of Mary Wollstonecraft.

 

GenderWatch

GenderWatch  (1970+) 

Wide range of sources including both scholarly and popular articles about women, gender issues, and GLBT.

LGBT Life

Contains all of the content available in LGBT Life as well as full text for 50 of the most important and historically significant gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as dozens of full text monographs.

Proquest

ProQuest 
Enter your search terms: