Skip to main content

Gender and Sexuality Studies Resources: Education

Resources for the study of gender and sexuality at Princeton University.

Contemporary Women's Issues

Articles from journals, newsletters, proceedings, pamphlets, book and media reviews and more about global women's issues.

Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts

International abstracting service on women's studies. The major focus is on education, employment, women in the family, medicine and health, gender roles, social policy, biography,literary criticism and historical studies.

Google Books

Google Book Search

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Reference Sources

Directory of women’s studies programs & library resources.  Edited by Beth Stafford.  Phoenix, Ariz: Oryx Press, 1990.  (DR) HQ1181.U5 D57 1990

 

Historical dictionary of women’s education in the United States.  Edited by Linda Eisenmann.  Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1998.  Also in (F) LC1752 .H57 1998

 

Bibliographies

Gender equity in education: an annotated bibliography, by Beverly A. Stitt.  Carbondale: Southern Illinois University Press, c1994.  (F) Z5814.D5 S75 1994

 

Women educators in the United States, 1820-1993: a bio-bibliographical sourcebook.  Edited by Maxine Schwartz Seller.  Westport, Ct.: Greenwood Press, 1994.  (F) LA2311 .W65 1994

 

Women in higher education: a select international bibliography, by David H. Kelly.  Buffalo, NY, USA: Graduate School of Education Publications, Comparative Education Center, State University of New York at Buffalo, c1990. (F) Z5814.U7 K45 1990

 

Women’s education in the Third World: an annotated bibliography, by David H. Kelly and Gail P. Kelly.  New York: Garland Pub., 1989.  (F) Z5815.D44 K44 1989

 

Women’s education in the United States: a guide to information sources, by Kay S. Wilkins.  Detroit: Gale Research Co., c1979.  (DR) Z7963.E2 W53

 

Find Articles

Education Full Text  (Indexing 1929+; Full-text 1996+)

Comprehensive, up-to-date coverage of English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks. Cover-to cover indexing, abstracts, and full text from hundreds of journals covering such topics as: comparative education, competency-based education, higher education, literacy standards, prayer in public schools, student counseling, teaching methods and evaluation, and dozens more.

 

Ebsco Academic Search  (1975+)  

Multi-disciplinary database providing abstract & indexing with select full text for many core scholarly journals as well as popular press periodicals.

 

EdStats  (1970+)

Allows for flexible retrieval of available data from the UNESCO Institute for Statistics (UIS). Presents a large number of education indicators for more than 200 countries.

 

ERIC  (1966+)

Complete bibliography of education materials featuring published and unpublished sources of thousands of educational topics, with information from the Resources in Education and Current Index to Journals in Education. A very well designed thesaurus and identifiers facilitate use of this product.

 

Dissertation Abstracts (ProQuest Digital Dissertations)  (1861+; full text 1997+)  

Access to citations and abstracts for every title in the Dissertation Abstracts database. Dissertations written from 1997 forward are available full text. The database includes citations to dissertations from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Citations for dissertations and master's theses published from 1980 forward have abstracts.

 

ProQuest Research Library  (Mid 1970s+. (Highly selective earlier coverage))  

Abstracting, indexing, and select full text of many core scholarly journals, magazines and major newspapers for information on a broad range of subjects.

 

Sociological Abstracts  (1952+)  

Indexing and abstracting of the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines, both theoretical and applied. Covers 2,500 journals, conference papers, dissertations, and book reviews. Includes materials in 30 languages.

 

Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts Online  (1995+)

International abstracting service on women's studies. The major focus is on education, employment, women in the family, medicine and health, gender roles, social policy, biography,literary criticism and historical studies.

 

Wilson OmniFile  (1982+)

Multi-disciplinary database providing select full text articles, abstracts, and indexing. Consists of databases for scholarly sources in agriculture, applied science and technology, art, biology, business, education, general science, humanities, law, library and information science, social sciences, as well as popular appeal titles.

 

Gender Studies Database

Gender Studies Database  (1972+) 
Combines Women's Studies International, and Men's Studies databases with coverage of sexual diversity issues. Covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. An added feature is the Child Abuse, Child Welfare & Adoption database, with citations and abstracts to books, journal articles final reports from federally-funded grant, conference papers, unpublished papers, reports on completed or continuing research, as well as descriptions of service programs and prevention and treatment strategies. Materials cited are primarily in English-language, originating from U.S. research and service programs.

GenderWatch

GenderWatch  (1970+) 
Wide range of sources including both scholarly and popular articles about women, gender issues, and GLBT.

Proquest

ProQuest 
Enter your search terms:

WSSLinks: Women, Girls and Education

WSSLinks: Women, Girls, and Education  This web page provides annotated links of sources about women, girls, and education.