Skip to main content

Gender and Sexuality Studies Resources: Economics

Resources for the study of gender and sexuality at Princeton University.

Reference Sources

The ABC-CLIO companion to women’s progress in America, by Elizabeth Frost-Knappman.  Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, c1994.  (F) HQ1410 .F76 1994

 

Women and work: a handbook.  Edited by Paula J. Dubeck and Kathryn Borman.  New York: Garland Pub., 1996.  (F) HD6095 .W678 1996

 

Women working in nontraditional fields: references and resources, 1963-1988 / Carroll Wetzel Wilkinson.  Boston, Mass.: G.K. Hall, 1991.  (DR) Z7963.E7 W53 1991

 

See also the Research Guide for Women in the Workplace 

 

Bibliographies

The Asian American woman: social, economic and political conditions: a bibliography.  Compiled by Joan Nordquist.  Santa Cruz, CA: Reference and Research Services, 1997.  (F) Z1361.O7 N65 1997

 

A bibliography of female economic thought to 1940, by Kirsten K. Madden, Janet A. Seiz and Michèle Pujol.  London; New York: Routledge, 2004.  (F) Z7164.E2 M34 2004

 

Women and work in developing countries: an annotated bibliography, compiled by Parvin Ghorayshi.  Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1994.  (F) Z7963.E7 W655 1994

 

Find Articles

Annual Review of Economics  (2009+)

Note: Works better in Mozilla Firefox.

Comprehensive review of the literature in economics. Can help researchers identify major trends in the field as well as find general overviews of research in specific subject areas of economics.

 

Business Full Text  (1913+)  

English-language periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere, including the leading business magazines and trade and research journals.

 

EconLit  (1969+)

Note: Paper volumes covering 1886 to 1968 are available in SSRC. See Index of Economic Journals and Index of Economic Articles. (HB1.I425)

Indexes international economic literature. Includes major journals, articles in collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.), books, full-text book reviews, dissertations, and working papers.

 

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences  (1951+)  

Compiled by the British Library of Political & Economic Science of the London School of Economics & Political Science. Provides bibliographic information from an international selection of publications in economics, political science, sociology, and anthropology.

 

JSTOR    

Full text archive of core journals in select disciplines. Journal issues from the most recent 3-5 years are usually NOT available electronically through JSTOR.

 

PolicyFile  (1990+)  

Draws its content from public policy think tanks, university research programs, research organizations, and publishers. Covers all aspects of public policy.

 

Race Relations Abstracts  (1975+)  

Bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

 

Social Science Research Network  

Abstracts and select full text of select scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers in economics, business, and law.

 

Urban Studies Abstracts  (1973+)  

Covers urban affairs, community development, urban history, etc.

 

Web of Science (ISI)  (Sciences (1900+), Social Sciences (1898+), and Arts and Humanities (1975+).)  

Multidisciplinary index to journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Useful for cited reference searches. Note: covers only a subset of the titles in Econlit.

 

Gender Studies Database

Gender Studies Database  (1972+) 

Combines Women's Studies International, and Men's Studies databases with coverage of sexual diversity issues. Covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. An added feature is the Child Abuse, Child Welfare & Adoption database, with citations and abstracts to books, journal articles final reports from federally-funded grant, conference papers, unpublished papers, reports on completed or continuing research, as well as descriptions of service programs and prevention and treatment strategies. Materials cited are primarily in English-language, originating from U.S. research and service programs.

Google Books

Google Book Search

google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Proquest

ProQuest 
Enter your search terms: