Skip to main content

New Jersey

Guide to Information about the State.

Statistical Reference Index (SRI)

Proquest Statistical Insight (Princeton only)

Includes state documents in the SRI segment. Indexes statistical publications issued by state governments including New Jersey.  Includes some PDFs of reports.  Others from 1980-- are available in the SRI Microfiche set located in the Firestone Microforms Services on A Floor (MICROFICHE located at A-16-G, begins cabinet 45).

New Jersey serials available through the Statistical Reference Index (SRI) (located at Firestone and ReCap at call no. Z7554.U52 N554)  This is a print guide to ongoing New Jersey State publications in the set.

NJ State Data Center

State Data Center

Through a network of agencies, provides access to and help with U.S. Census data.

Census 2010

Census 2010

The New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development Census page offers:

  • New Jersey population as of April 1, 2010.
  • Link to New Jersey Population: 1790 - 2010.
  • Redistricting data.
  • Measuring America: the Census Bureau's Interactive Map of America showcasing decennial data from 1910 - 2010.

How does the American Community Survey differ from 2010 census?

New Jersey 2000 Census data.

Find historical Census data online from the University of Virginia’s Historical Census Browser. (Data is county level and higher.)

Sources for Statistics about New Jersey

America's Career InfoNet (State Profile)

Demographic and occupational information, including links to economic and occupational rankings and licensing information.

New Jersey DataBank

Data on current issues in 20 policy areas from the Rutgers University-Newark School of Public Affairs and Administration.

U.S. Economic Censuses [U.S. Census Bureau]

The 2012 Economic Census is being released on a flow basis on American FactFinder through June 2016. The Census Bureau also provides details regarding Released Publications by State.

Economic Census data from 1997 and later is available through the Census Bureau's American FactFinder.

Links to 2007 and 2002 Economic Census data in American FactFinder (filter by state)

Scanned images in PDF and other formats are available for publications from the 1967 to 1987 economic censuses via the search at archive.org, using terms like "1987 census of retail trade Virginia".

Economy at a Glance [Bureau of Labor Statistics]

Labor force data, non-farm wage and salary information, and layoffs for the state and metropolitan areas.

Labor Market Information [N.J. Dept. of Labor & Workforce Development]

Demographics, Current Employment Statistics (employment and wage data), Industry & Economy (labor market and economic conditions), Occupational Injuries and Illnesses, Consumer Price Index.

New Jersey Municipal Data Book (Current volume in the Ready Reference collection on Firestone Library's main floor, call no. HT123.5.N5N53; earlier years (from 1982) in Firestone stacks

Most frequently requested information (geography, socioeconomics, education, housing, government, finances, etc. for New Jersey's 566 towns and cities.

State and County Quickfacts [U.S. Census Bureau]

Compares state to U.S. for demographics (population, gender, age, race), education, foreign born, language, disability, travel to work, housing, income, poverty, businesses, sales, from the U.S. Census Bureau. Users can create tables at the county and city compared to the state level.

States Perform [Council of State Governments]

Profile providing a number of measures of the state derived from federal statistical sources and the Council of State Governments. 

Statistical Source Directory

List of contacts for specific series within New Jersey's Dept. of Labor & Workforce Development.

Census 2020

No Time to Lose [Source: U.S. Census Bureau]