Skip to main content

Energy Resources: Energy Databases

This guide features all types of major resources on all sources of energy, more traditional and alternative or renewable resources.

Princeton Library's Energy Cluster


Under Articles & Databases on the PUL Homepage, use the drop-down arrow to find Energy.

Major Multidisciplinary Databases

Scopus  (1996+)
Note: Princeton's Institutional ID (needed for Papers software): 51401
International coverage of journal articles, selected web sites, and patents in the sciences and social sciences; provides citation tracking for 1996+
Multidisciplinary index to journal literature in the Sciences (1900+), Social Sciences (1965+), and Arts and Humanities (1975+). Offers the option to find cited references, which are the authors lists of articles used in their research.

Energy Articles & Reports

Citations to scientific and technical reports of the U.S. Atomic Energy Commission, U.S. Energy Research and Development Administration and its contractors, other agencies, universities, and industrial and research organizations.Also contains the Nuclear Science Abstracts, a comprehensive review of the international nuclear science and technology literature for the period 1948 through 1976.
Bibliographic records for publicly available energy and energy-related literature in the disciplines of chemistry, physics, materials, environmental science, geology, engineering, mathematics, climatology, oceanography, and computer science from the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies, the Energy Research & Development Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC).
Dept. of Energy "Opennet will include references to all Department of Energy (DOE) documents declassified and made publicly available after October 1, 1994. New references will be added periodically as they are available. In addition to these documents, Opennet references older document collections from several DOE sources."  From their "Scope" page.  
Extensive bibliographic database of engineering research. Indexes journal papers and conference proceedings. The broad subject areas of engineering and applied science are comprehensively represented.
INSPEC  (1896+)
Major bibliographic database concentrating on physics, electrical and electronic engineering, information technology, computer and control systems, and manufacturing, production engineering, and information technology.
Chemical Abstracts (1907+), labeled as SciFinder Scholar most public computers.  Coming to electronic format soon.
Compilation of 12 subfiles, including Water Resources Abstracts and Pollution Abstracts, containing journal articles and technical reports. They are searchable together or separately. There are simultaneously-performed searches on very current literature, and the Internet for websites.
General science and technology articles from English-language periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere; non-English language articles are included if English abstracts are provided.
NTIS  (1964+)
Source for accessing unclassified reports from U.S. and international government agencies. The database provides access to over two million critical citations from government departments such as NASA, the U.S. Department of Energy and the U.S. Department of Defense.
Group VIII includes energy technologies, laser physics and applications, materials, physical properties of liquid crystals and radiological protection
SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts)  (1907+)  
Access: Access for Princeton members only by PU ID. Available at selected Library Web Computers in Chemistry, Engineering, Geosciences, Fine Hall, Astrophysics, and Plasma Physics Libraries. Go to Start, Programs and select SciFinder Scholar.
Comprehensive coverage of all aspects of chemistry. Combines several Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) databases:

Reference Librarian profile

Louise Deis's picture
Louise Deis
Peter B. Lewis (Science) Library, Rm. 211


Email me