Skip to main content

Oceanography Resources: Marine Biology

A guide to resources in ocean sciences.

Search Articles+ (peer-reviewed)

Search Articles+ for peer-reviewed articles

Multidisciplinary Databases

Scholarly: These 2 huge databases allow for citation searching, too.

  • Web of Science (Science Citation Index), 1900+
  • Scopus 1996+  Note: Scopus is more international in scope, and indexes conference papers & web sites

General periodical indexes: (Include scholarly, popular & newspaper resources, in all subjects, but very few sci-tech resources)

Note: These databases -- and others -- can be searched simultaneously via QuickSearch.

Marine Biology Resources

Key Databases:

Encyclopedias

Selected Current References:

  • Encyclopedia of marine mammals.  Lewis Library (SCI) QL701.2 .E53 2002
  • Encyclopedia of Antarctica and the southern oceans.  Lewis Library (SCI): Reference (Information Desk) G855 .E53 2002
  • Encyclopedia of ocean sciences.  Lewis Library (SCI): Reference (Information Desk) GC9 .E585 2009  or Encyclopedia of ocean sciences (Online)  (ScienceDirect, 2001)
  • Water encyclopedia, v. 4. Oceanography; meteorology; physics and chemistry,  Lewis Library (SCI): Reference (Information Desk) GB655 .L437 2005.  Online access via Knovel:  http://www.knovel.com/knovel2/Toc.jsp?BookID=1449
  • Treatise on geochemistry, Lewis Library (SCI): Reference (Fine Hall Wing) QE514 .T732 2004,  v. 6. The oceans and marine geochemistry.  Online: http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/referenceworks/0080437516
  • Encyclopedia of Earth  An environmental sciences encyclopedia developed and authored by experts.  See Oceans, under Topics.

Websites

National Marine Sanctuaries Media Library

The National Marine Sanctuaries Media Library is an online vault where a comprehensive collection of select video clips and high-resolution still images from America's underwater treasures are securely stored and available for searchable access and download.

Source for information:  ResearchBuzz, February 22, 2009