Skip to main content

Art FAQ: Journal articles

Answers to Basic Information Questions at Marquand Library

I need to find journal articles.

The main periodical indices for art, art history, architecture, and design are mostly available online, and all are available via the Art & Archaeology page of Princeton databases.*

  • Art & Architecture Source (back to 1929; all arts; some full-text)
  • Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (architecture and design; citations only)
  • ArtBibliographies Modern (modern and contemporary art; photography; indexes books also; citations only)
  • International Bibliography of Art (2008+; successor to BHA--below--with a more global scope; citations only)
  • Bibliography of the History of Art (history of Western art to modern; scholarly; includes all Western European languages; citations only; covers journal articles, books, conference proceedings, etc., 1975-2007)
  • Design & Applied Arts Index (design and decorative arts; European focus)
  • Repertoire d'Art et d'Archeologie (1910-89) indexes art monographs, journals, sales catalogs, and festschriften. 1910+ indexing available in the database History of Art Bibliography (see green link at the bottom for 1910-1972).

*NOTE: For simultaneous searching: via EBSCO: select Art & Architecture Source, Art Index Retrospective, Index to 19th Century American Art Periodicals and other important historical and general humanities databases to search simultaneously. Select CHOOSE DATABASES at the top of the screen to select more than one. Via ProQuest, it is possible to search simultaneously Avery Index, ABM, IBA and DAAI. Choose your databases at the very top left of the screen.

Once you have a citation for an article (e.g. author, title, name of journal, volume, year, page numbers):

  • Click on the orange Find it @ PUL button next to the citation, if there is one. That will tell you if we have the article in an online format, and, if not, will link you into the library catalog to locate the print version in the stacks. [NOTE: this SFX link is not perfect, if no results are found, double-check by cutting and pasting the name of the journal and doing a title search in the catalog.] Make sure to check Princeton’s holdings to determine: 1. what years we have online, or 2. what years we have in the stacks (issues we are lacking should be noted), OR
  • Do a journal title search in the online catalog to find out the location of the journal in the stacks (and online).

There are many more databases available to you at Princeton. See the Databases page arranged by Subject to direct you to additional databases.

 

Newspaper articles and reviews

Most of the art databases index exhibition reviews, and Art Index also indexes art reproductions (images) in magazines and journals. Information about accessing newspapers at Princeton may be found in this guide .  

Articles+ can be useful for locating content in newspapers: just make sure to uncheck the box at the top right under Refine Your Search that says "exclude newspaper articles," which is the default setting for Articles+. 

Art & Design Periodical History (list)

Assistant Art Librarian

Rebecca Friedman's picture
Rebecca Friedman
Contact:
Marquand Library
McCormick Hall
609-258-3163 or -3783
Website / Blog Page