Skip to main content

Economics Collections at the Mudd Manuscript Library: Monetary Policy

Guide to the archival collections related to economics located at the Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library, Princeton University

Edwin W. Kemmerer

Portrait of Edwin W. Kemmerer.  Photograph Credit: Orren Jack Turner.

Collections

  • Council on Foreign Relations. Meetings Department
  • Council on Foreign Relations. Studies Department
  • Economists’ National Committee on Monetary Policy
  • Kemmerer, Edwin W.
  • Rovensky, John E.
  • Spahr, Walter E.

Section Description

Six of the collections are related to monetary policy. Of these, four pertain to the work of the Economists’ National Committee on Monetary Policy, an organization active from 1933 to 1970 which advocated for monetary policies in the United States, especially for the return to the gold standard. These collections include the records of the Committee and the papers of three members, Walter E. Spahr, John E. Rovensky, and Edwin W. Kemmerer. The Kemmerer papers also extensively document his work as an advisor on financial and currency policies around the world, especially in Latin America. Also included are the records of the meetings department and studies department of the Council on Foreign Relations, a nonprofit, nonpartisan research and national membership organization dedicated to promoting improved understanding of international affairs and to contributing ideas to United States foreign policy, including monetary policy.

Section Organization

All collection entries in this section are listed by creator and include information on the title, date span, size (extent), and call number of the collection, as well as a brief biographical or historical profile and a summary of the contents. The creator name also provides a hyperlink to the EAD finding aid for each collection.

Collection Descriptions

Council on Foreign Relations. Meetings Department

Title: Council on Foreign Relations Meetings Records, 1920-1995

Extent: 55.25 linear feet (134 boxes)

Call Number: MC104.04

Abstract: The Council on Foreign Relations is a nonprofit, nonpartisan research and national membership organization dedicated to promoting improved understanding of international affairs and to contributing ideas to United States foreign policy. The Meetings Series documents the work of the Council’s Meetings Department, including administrative issues, such as correspondence with speakers, attendance records, and the non-attribution rule, as well as the records of the actual meetings themselves.  While many speakers’ topics are naturally diplomatic in nature, monetary policy issues played a role in many of the issues covered.

 

Council on Foreign Relations. Studies Department

Title: Council on Foreign Relations Studies Department Records, 1918-2004

Extent: 133.87 linear feet (322 boxes)

Call Number: MC104.03

Abstract: The Council on Foreign Relations is a nonprofit, nonpartisan research and national membership organization dedicated to promoting improved understanding of international affairs and to contributing ideas to United States foreign policy. The Studies Department Series documents the planning and execution of the various study groups (including discussion groups, current issue review groups, seminars, workshops and conferences) and projects, many of which had monetary policy components.

 

Economists’ National Committee on Monetary Policy (U.S.)

Title: Economists’ National Committee on Monetary Policy Records, 1925-1971 (bulk 1940-1970)

Extent: 85.90 linear feet (206 boxes)

Call Number: MC022

Abstract: The Economists’ National Committee on Monetary Policy, active from November 1933 to 1970, was composed of economists and other financial experts who sought to educate the public and United States government on sound monetary policy. The Committee advocated for a return to the gold standard and sought to combat what they saw as dangerous inflationist sentiment and aggressive monetary policies of the time through public addresses, publishing articles and pamphlets, and testifying before Congress. The records document the Committee’s work, as well as its organization and administration, and include correspondence, meeting minutes, and publications.

 

Kemmerer, Edwin Walter, 1875-1945

Title: Edwin W. Kemmerer Papers, 1875-1945 (bulk 1920-1945)

Extent: 149.17 linear feet (377 boxes)

Call Number: MC146

Abstract: Edwin W. Kemmerer (1875-1945), internationally known as “The Money Doctor,” was an economist and government advisor with expertise in finance and currency. Kemmerer served as a financial advisor to many governments, mostly in Latin America, and spent the majority of his academic career at Princeton University. Kemmerer’s papers document his advisory and scholarly career and include his professional correspondence, writings, and files from his financial advisory work.

 

Rovensky, John E. (John Edward), 1880-1970

Title: John E. Rovensky Papers, 1920-1968 (bulk 1921-1929)

Extent: 1.04 linear feet (3 boxes)

Call Number: MC116

Abstract: John E. Rovensky (1880-1970) was a banker and economist. As a banker, he held the position of vice president at the National Bank of Commerce, Bank of America, and City Bank. As an economist, he was a member of the Economists’ National Committee on Monetary Policy, the National Monetary Association, and the Stable Money Association. Rovensky’s papers document his work as an economist, including his tenure as president of the Stable Money Association in 1927. The papers are comprised of correspondence, offprints, and newspaper clippings.

 

Spahr, Walter Earl, 1891-

Title: Walter E. Spahr Papers, 1923-1966 (bulk 1930-1950)

Extent: 3.33 linear feet (8 boxes)

Call Number: MC121

Abstract: Walter E. Spahr (1891-1970) was a professor of economics at New York University who was a strong supporter of the gold standard. Spahr was a founding member and officer of the Economists’ National Committee for Monetary Policy, which advocated for sound monetary policies for the United States. Spahr’s papers document his scholarship and include his writings and related correspondence.

The Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library

65 Olden Street
Princeton, NJ 08544
T: 609.258.6345
F: 609.258.3385
http://www.princeton.edu/mudd
mudd@princeton.edu

Hours:
Mon. to Fri., 9 AM to 4:45 PM

Summer: Mon. to Fri., 8:45 AM to 4:15 PM