Skip to main content

Economics Collections at the Mudd Manuscript Library: Demography

Guide to the archival collections related to economics located at the Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library, Princeton University

Frank W. Notestein

Frank W. Notestein, taken by Fabian Bachrach

Collections

  • Coale, Ansley J.
  • Lotka, Alfred J.
  • Moore, Hugh
  • Notestein, Frank W.

 

Section Description

Four of the collections are related to demography. The collections document the study of changes in human populations and their potential effects, especially of rising population and, to a lesser extent, policy work related to population issues. The collections include the papers of Alfred J. Lotka, a pioneer in the study of population dynamics who conducted research on the mathematical theory of evolution, Ansley J. Coale and Frank W. Notestein, who both directed Princeton University’s Office of Population Research, and the records of the Hugh Moore Fund, which promoted the study of world peace and world population.

Section Organization

All collection entries in this section are listed by creator and include information on the title, date span, size (extent), and call number of the collection, as well as a brief biographical or historical profile and a summary of the contents. The creator name also provides a hyperlink to the EAD finding aid for each collection.

Collection Descriptions

Coale, Ansley J.

Title: Ansley J. Coale Papers, 1935-1998 (bulk 1954-1994)

Extent: 8 linear feet (18 boxes)

Call Number: MC208

Abstract: Professor Ansley J. Coale (1917-2002) was a demographer whose work focused on nuptiality, fertility, and mortality in several countries. Coale joined the Princeton University faculty in 1947 and spent his entire career as a member of the university's Office of Population Research (OPR). The papers contain correspondence, Coale's research papers and projects, and samples of data collected. The material spans the several decades (1950s to 1990s) Coale spent as a member of the Princeton faculty, as well as the work he did during his retirement.

 

Lotka, Alfred J. (Alfred James), 1880-1949

Title: Alfred J. Lotka Papers, 1881-1966 (bulk 1925-1950)

Extent: 15.84 linear feet (34 boxes)

Call Number: MC032

Abstract: Alfred J. Lotka (1880-1949), a statistician for the Metropolitan Life Insurance Company, was a significant contributor to the field of demography. He was a pioneer in the study of population dynamics and conducted research on the mathematical theory of evolution and the mathematical analysis of populations. Lotka's papers document his scholarship and his involvement in professional organizations and include drafts of his works, his notes and research materials, and correspondence.

 

Moore, Hugh, 1887-1972

Title: Hugh Moore Fund Collection, 1922-1972 (bulk 1939-1970)

Extent: 12.34 linear feet (28 boxes)

Call Number: MC153

Abstract: The Hugh Moore Fund Collection consists of the files that belonged to Hugh Moore relating to his strong interest in the areas of world peace and world population. Moore established The Hugh Moore Fund in 1944 as a means of funding a number of organizations relating to these interests. Some of the materials in this collection pre-date 1944; these are the papers of organizations to which Moore belonged and which The Hugh Moore Fund supported.

 

Notestein, Frank W. (Frank Wallace), 1902-

Title: Frank W. Notestein Papers, 1930-1977

Extent: 13.3 linear feet (32 boxes)

Call Number: MC184

Abstract: Frank W. Notestein contributed significantly to the science of demography and to a better understanding of population problems in world affairs. The Frank W. Notestein Papers contain correspondence, speeches, and writings documenting the research, ideas, career and leadership roles of this former Princeton professor, director of the Office of Population Research, and president of the Population Council.

The Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library

65 Olden Street
Princeton, NJ 08544
T: 609.258.6345
F: 609.258.3385
http://www.princeton.edu/mudd
mudd@princeton.edu

Hours:
Mon. to Fri., 9 AM to 4:45 PM

Summer: Mon. to Fri., 8:45 AM to 4:15 PM