Skip to main content

Economics Collections at the Mudd Manuscript Library: Business History

Guide to the archival collections related to economics located at the Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library, Princeton University

John C. Bogle

Bogle on the Louis Rukeyser show Wall Street Week, 1991

Collections

  • Bogle, John C.
  • Development and Resources Corporation
  • Greenbaum, Edward S.
  • Kreuger & Toll
  • Lanham, C. T.
  • Rubber Development Corporation

Section Description

Six of the collections are related to business history. These collections contain materials that document the operation of these businesses. The records of the Kreuger & Toll Company and the papers of Edward S. Greenbaum document the bankruptcy of the company in 1932. The records of the Development and Resources Corporation and the Rubber Development Corporation both include materials related to the administration of these American organizations as they conducted development work abroad. Also included are the papers of John C. Bogle, founder of the investment firm Vanguard and an important critic of the mutual fund industry, and the papers of C. T. Lanham, a corporate executive and public relations officer.

Section Organization

All collection entries in this section are listed by creator and include information on the title, date span, size (extent), and call number of the collection, as well as a brief biographical or historical profile and a summary of the contents. The creator name also provides a hyperlink to the EAD finding aid for each collection.

Collection Descriptions

Bogle, John C.

Title: John C. Bogle Papers, 1948-2007 (bulk 1974-2000)

Extent: 6.26 linear feet (16 boxes)

Call Number: MC206

Abstract: John C. Bogle (1929- ) founded the mutual fund company Vanguard and is a leader in the mutual fund industry. He is an outspoken advocate for low-cost investing, index funds, and the rights of investors, and a critic of the mutual fund industry. Bogle's papers document his career with Vanguard and Wellington Management Company, and his involvement with the United States Securities and Exchange Commission, and include his speeches and correspondence, reports, memoranda, and clippings.

 

Development and Resources Corporation

Title: Development and Resources Corporation Records, 1936-1980 (bulk 1954-1970)

Extent: 374.67 linear feet (895 boxes)

Call Number: MC014

Abstract: The Development and Resources Corporation (D&R), founded and directed by David E. Lilienthal, operated from 1955 to 1979 and was based in New York City. D&R provided regional economic development services to governments throughout the world, often with a focus on the development of water resources and the construction of dams. Its main project was the development of the Khuzestan region of Iran. D&R's records document its development projects and business operations and include correspondence, contracts, data and maps, proposals and reports, and collected materials about each country.

 

Greenbaum, Edward S. (Edward Samuel), 1890-1970

Title: Edward S. Greenbaum Papers, 1888-1969 (bulk 1930-1960)

Extent: 20.3 linear feet (48 boxes)

Call Number: MC069

Abstract: Edward S. Greenbaum (1890-1970) was a lawyer in New York City in the legal firm of Greenbaum, Wolff & Ernst who was involved in court reform efforts throughout his career. He also served in the War Department during World War II as executive officer to Under Secretary of War Robert P. Patterson, negotiating contracts with the private sector for munitions and supplies. Greenbaum's papers document his career as a lawyer, as well as his government service, and include correspondence, legal documents, reports, and publications.

 

Kreuger & Toll

Title: Kreuger & Toll Company Records, 1911-1952 (bulk 1930-1939)

Extent: 40.86 linear feet (104 boxes)

Call Number: MC078

Abstract: The Kreuger & Toll Company, founded by Ivar Kreuger, was the holding company of an international match trust based in Sweden whose securities were popular during the 1920s. The company was organized as a giant pyramid scheme and collapsed in 1932. The Kreuger & Toll Company Records document the company's bankruptcy and include court and legal documents and accountants' reports.

 

Lanham, C. T. (Charles Trueman), 1902-1978

Title: C. T. Lanham Papers, 1924-1978 (bulk 1955-1978)

Extent: 16.80 cubic feet (19 boxes)

Call Number: MC081

Abstract: Consists primarily of Lanham's personal correspondence (1955-1978) during his post-army career as an industrial executive and public relations representative with various large corporations, but the collection also contains a limited amount of material relating to his U.S. Army years as a regimental commander and military instructor developing training materials.

 

Rubber Development Corporation

Title: Rubber Development Corporation, Amazon Division Records, 1942-1945

Extent: 9.9 linear feet (22 boxes and 1 oversized folder)

Call Number: MC117

Abstract: The Rubber Development Corporation, Amazon Division Records (1942-1945) reflect Philip H. Williams' interests and concerns as manager of the Manaos Office in Brazil. As manager, Williams was called upon to play various roles including diplomat, manager and administrator. His fellow staff members were C. Homer McDuff-Acting General Manager, Mr. Swain-Accounting Department, H. A. Beck-Acting Manager, Manaos Office, George A. Seaman-Assistant to Mr. Williams, John Herman Neumann-Manager of Amazon Division and Douglas H. Allen-President of the Rubber Development Corporation. The bulk of this collection consists of copies from William's personal files. The majority of the collection is composed of correspondence, memoranda, reports, charts, photographs and newspaper clippings.

The Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library

65 Olden Street
Princeton, NJ 08544
T: 609.258.6345
F: 609.258.3385
http://www.princeton.edu/mudd
mudd@princeton.edu

Hours:
Mon. to Fri., 9 AM to 4:45 PM

Summer: Mon. to Fri., 8:45 AM to 4:15 PM