Skip to main content

Economics Collections at the Mudd Manuscript Library: Economic Policy

Guide to the archival collections related to economics located at the Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library, Princeton University

Jacob Viner

Photograph of Jacob Viner

Collections

  • Baker, James A.
  • Ball, George W.
  • Baruch, Bernard M.
  • Becker, Eugene M.
  • Bullard, Arthur
  • Burgess, William
  • Council on Foreign Relations. Meetings Department
  • Council on Foreign Relations. Studies Department
  • Dean, Prentice N.
  • Dulles, John Foster
  • Eberstadt, Ferdinand
  • Jenks, Leland H.
  • Kennan, George F.
  • Labouisse, Henry R.
  • Nurkse, Ragnar
  • Pate, Maurice
  • Petersen, Howard C.
  • Randall, Clarence B.
  • Rockey, Kenneth H.
  • Smith, H. Alexander
  • Stevenson, Adlai E.
  • Viner, Jacob

Section Description

Twenty-two of the collections are focused particularly on 20th century United State economic policy. Most are the papers of individuals who held posts in the United States government, including James A. Baker III, George W. Ball, Bernard M. Baruch, and John Foster Dulles. They were involved with issues such as trade and international economic relations, United States economic policies, post World-War II economic policy, and managing supplies in wartime. Also included are the papers of scholars who studied economic policies, notably Jacob Viner, and the papers of individuals involved in international aid efforts.

Section Organization

All collection entries in this section are listed by creator and include information on the title, date span, size (extent), and call number of the collection, as well as a brief biographical or historical profile and a summary of the contents. The creator name also provides a hyperlink to the EAD finding aid for each collection.

Collection Descriptions

Baker, James Addison, 1930-

Title: James A. Baker III Papers, 1957-2002 (bulk 1972-1992)

Extent: 116.54 linear feet (266 boxes and 1 oversize album)

Call Number: MC197

Abstract: James A. Baker III served in senior government positions under three United States Presidents and was a central figure in the administrations of Ronald Reagan and George H. W. Bush in the 1980s and early 1990s. Baker also led presidential campaigns for Presidents Gerald Ford, Reagan and Bush over the course of five consecutive presidential elections from 1976 to 1992. The papers document nearly every stage of Baker’s career, including his work on presidential campaigns, his time as White House Chief of Staff for both Reagan and Bush, and his terms as Secretary of the Treasury under Reagan and Secretary of State under Bush.

Ball, George W. (George Wildman), 1909-1994

Title: George W. Ball Papers, 1880s-1994 (bulk 1933-1994)

Extent: 113.9 linear feet (222 boxes)

Call Number: MC031

Abstract: The George W. Ball Papers document Ball’s career as a lawyer, diplomat, investment banker and author. His involvement in Democratic politics, including his time spent on the presidential campaigns of Adlai Stevenson and his service as undersecretary of state for John F. Kennedy and Lyndon B. Johnson is well documented, as is his often overlooked role with Jean Monnet in European integration.

Baruch, Bernard M. (Bernard Mannes), 1870-1965

Title: Bernard M. Baruch Papers, 1905-1965 (bulk 1917-1965)

Extent: 302.40 cubic feet (521 volumes and 290 boxes)

Call Number: MC006

Abstract: Baruch was a financier and public advisor. Consists primarily of public papers relating to Baruch’s various involvements in government affairs, including the United States War Industries Board (1917-1918), the National Industrial Conference (1919), and papers relating to assignments during World War II, such as the Fact-Finding Commission on Synthetic Rubber (1942) and the Office of War Mobilization (1943-1944).

Becker, Eugene Matthew, 1930-

Title: Eugene M. Becker Papers, 1944-2000 (bulk 1965-1972, 1993-1998)

Extent: 15.25 linear feet (32 boxes)

Call Number: MC125

Abstract: The Eugene M. Becker Papers consist primarily of correspondence, planning documents, position papers, articles, addresses and scrapbooks which document Becker’s career in public service, including Budget Director of New York City under Mayor John Lindsay; Assistant Secretary of the United States Army in the Johnson and Nixon administrations; and as the co-founder of the Mentor Group’s Forum for United States-European Union Legal-Economic Affairs (US-EC) and advisor to the Forum for Russian Legal-Economic Affairs.

Bullard, Arthur, 1879-1929

Title: Arthur Bullard Papers, 1905-1929

Extent: 5.0 cubic feet (11 boxes)

Call Number: MC008

Abstract: The Papers of Arthur Bullard (1879-1929), journalist and statesman, chronicle the major world political and economic events relating to World War I and its aftermath. Although the bulk of the material concerns Russia and Western Europe, there are writings on political events in North Africa, Central America, and East Asia as well. The collection includes copies and originals of newspaper and magazine articles, manuscripts of several novels, travel books, and political volumes, memorandum, and correspondence, most of which was written by Bullard. There is also a file of photographs and post cards.

Burgess, William, 1857-1929

Title: William Burgess Papers, 1908-1929

Extent: 6.30 cubic feet (14 boxes)

Call Number: MC035

Abstract: Consists of reports, memoranda, statistics, correspondence, and addresses of Burgess (Princeton Class of 1877), a president (1879-1904) of the International Pottery Company in Trenton, N.J., and of the U.S. Manufacturing Potters’ Association.

Council on Foreign Relations. Meetings Department

Title: Council on Foreign Relations Meetings Records, 1920-1995

Extent: 55.25 linear feet (134 boxes)

Call Number: MC104.04

Abstract: The Council on Foreign Relations is a nonprofit, nonpartisan research and national membership organization dedicated to promoting improved understanding of international affairs and to contributing ideas to United States foreign policy. The Meetings Series documents the work of the Council’s Meetings Department, including administrative issues, such as correspondence with speakers, attendance records, and the non-attribution rule, as well as the records of the actual meetings themselves. While many speakers’ topics are naturally diplomatic in nature, economic issues played a role in many of the issues covered.

Council on Foreign Relations. Studies Department

Title: Council on Foreign Relations Studies Department Records, 1918-2004

Extent: 133.87 linear feet (322 boxes)

Call Number: MC104.03

Abstract: The Council on Foreign Relations is a nonprofit, nonpartisan research and national membership organization dedicated to promoting improved understanding of international affairs and to contributing ideas to United States foreign policy. The Studies Department Series documents the planning and execution of the various study groups (including discussion groups, current issue review groups, seminars, workshops and conferences) and projects, many of which had economic components.

Dean, Prentice N.

Title: Prentice N. Dean Papers, 1866-1964 (bulk 1910-1960)

Extent: 3.89 linear feet (10 boxes)

Call Number: MC207

Abstract: Prentice Northup Dean (1897-1981) was a practicing economist for the United States Tariff Commission and the Office of the Secretary of Defense. He also held teaching positions at Princeton University, the University of Pittsburgh, and Buena Vista University. Dean’s papers document his service as United States delegate to the meetings of the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade (GATT) and his years studying at the American University in Beirut, and include correspondence, diaries, documentation of conferences, memorabilia, and newspaper clippings. The papers also include the correspondence, diaries, and manuscripts of his family members May Dershimer née Walter and Martin R. Walter.

Dulles, John Foster, 1888-1959

Title: John Foster Dulles Papers, circa 1896-1959 (bulk 1946 - 1958)

Extent: 273.00 cubic feet (623 boxes)

Call Number: MC016

Abstract: John Foster Dulles was the fifty-third Secretary of State and a noted expert on international law. This collection consists of papers covering his entire lifetime, including letters from and to Dulles, memoranda of conversations, personal notes and records, drafts of speeches and articles, newspaper clippings, photographs, mementos and memorabilia, and letters from and to Mrs. John Foster Dulles. While much of the collection pertains to diplomacy, economic issues played a part in many of the issues covered.

Eberstadt, Ferdinand

Title: Ferdinand Eberstadt Papers, 1868-1970 (bulk 1935-1965): Finding Aid

Extent: 113.52 linear feet (277 boxes)

Call Number: MC021

Abstract: Ferdinand Eberstadt (1890-1969) was a prominent Wall Street investment banker who also served in several government posts throughout his career. During World War II, he organized the production and distribution of supplies to the United States military through his work with the Army-Navy Munitions Board and the War Production Board, and he was subsequently involved in plans for the reorganization of the armed services and in the development of post-war economic policies. The Eberstadt papers primarily document his extensive career in public service to the United States related to defense and the economy, as well as his career as an investment banker and his personal life, and include correspondence, reports, his writings, and his personal papers.

Jenks, Leland Hamilton, b. 1892

Title: Leland H. Jenks Papers, 1923-1935

Extent: 0.42 linear feet (1 box)

Call Number: MC213

Abstract: Leland H. Jenks (1892-1976) was a professor of economics and sociology at Wellesley College, and also taught economic history at Columbia University. Jenks’s papers document his research on the Cuban sugar industry and include his notes from interviews and a trip to Cuba, statistics, articles, and reports.

Kennan, George F. (George Frost), 1904-2005

Title: George F. Kennan Papers, circa 1925-1969 (bulk 1930-1965)

Extent: 17.10 cubic feet (38 boxes)

Call Number: MC076

Abstract: George F. Kennan, Princeton Class of 1925, was an officer in the U.S. Foreign Service from 1926 to 1953, ambassador to the Soviet Union and Yugoslavia, and a member of and professor at the Institute for Advanced Study. The George F. Kennan Papers consists mainly of official and semi-official files (1934-1949) from the period he served as an officer in the Foreign Service of the United States, including his work with George Marshall on the Marshall Plan for the reconstruction of Europe. Also included are papers that span the years during which Kennan was ambassador to the Soviet Union (1952) and to Yugoslavia (1961-1963) and lecturer and professor of history at Princeton University. Included are published and unpublished articles, drafts, speeches, lectures, and reports concerning the control of atomic weapons, European unification, the Russian revolution, communism under Stalin, and U.S. relations with the Soviet Union, correspondence, miscellaneous clippings, and photographs.

Labouisse, Henry R., 1904-1987

Title: Henry R. Labouisse Papers, 1785-2004 (bulk 1940-1987)

Extent: 21.71 linear feet (52 boxes)

Call Number: MC199

Abstract: Henry R. Labouisse (1904-1987) was a distinguished American diplomat and international public servant. He served as director of the United Nations Relief and Works Agency for Palestine Refugees in the Near East (UNRWA) from 1954 to 1958 and as executive director of the United Nations Children’s Fund (UNICEF) from 1965 to 1979. He also served as a United States government official working on the formation and implementation of foreign economic policies during World War II and the 1960s. Labouisse’s papers document his career with the United Nations and with the State Department and include correspondence, speeches and publications, as well as biographical and genealogical material.

Nurkse, Ragnar, 1907-1959

Title: Ragnar Nurkse Papers, 1930-1960 (bulk 1945-1959)

Extent: 6.88 linear feet (17 boxes)

Call Number: MC173

Abstract: Ragnar Nurkse (1907-1959) was a leading scholar of international economics, international finance and economic development. He served in the League of Nations from 1934 to 1945 and taught at Columbia University from 1945 to 1958. Nurse’s papers document his scholarly work at both the League of Nations and Columbia, and includes his research notes, drafts of articles and books, research materials and a small amount of correspondence.

Pate, Maurice, 1894-

Title: Maurice Pate Papers, 1904-1985 (bulk 1945-1965)

Extent: 10.51 linear feet (24 boxes)

Call Number: MC103

Abstract: Maurice Pate (1894-1965) was an international civil servant who devoted his career to improving the welfare of children. He was involved in a variety of relief efforts during both world wars and their immediate aftermaths, and was the first Executive Director of UNICEF. Pate’s papers document his career as a humanitarian and include correspondence, reports, Pate’s notes and writings, publications, and photographs, as well as biographical materials and Pate’s personal correspondence.

Petersen, Howard C. (Howard Charles), 1910-

Title: Howard C. Petersen Papers, 1915-1995 (bulk 1935-1970)

Extent: 12.72 linear feet (26 boxes)

Call Number: MC196

Abstract: Howard C. Petersen (1910-1995) was an expert in international economics and foreign trade. He served in the War Department under President Franklin D. Roosevelt, as Assistant Secretary of War for President Harry S. Truman, as National Finance Chairman and fundraiser for the Dwight D. Eisenhower campaigns, and as Special Assistant on International Trade for President John F. Kennedy. Petersen was also a principle drafter of the Selective Service Act, a lawyer, and president of Fidelity-Philadelphia Trust Company. Petersen’s papers document his entire career, especially his work with the new Security and Exchange Commission regulations as a lawyer in the 1930s and with the United States War Department during World War II, and include correspondence, articles, and publications.

Randall, Clarence B. (Clarence Belden), 1891-1967

Title: Clarence B. Randall Papers, 1932-1967 (bulk 1948-1965)

Extent: 8.55 cubic feet (19 boxes)

Call Number: MC109

Abstract: Consists of 78 bound volumes containing Randall’s journals, articles, and speeches concerning his relationships with Dwight D. Eisenhower, Richard M. Nixon, John F. Kennedy, and Lyndon B. Johnson, and his government posts.

Rockey, Kenneth H. (Kenneth Henry), 1895-1984

Title: Kenneth H. Rockey Papers, 1912-1959 (bulk 1940-1945)

Extent: 8.05 cubic feet (9 boxes)

Call Number: MC112

Abstract: Consists of selected papers of Rockey (Princeton Class of 1916), including memoranda, correspondence, and reports from the period when he served as chairman (1942-1944) of the Navy Price Adjustment Board on the development and administration of defense contract renegotiations during World War II and post-war economic policy and planning.

Smith, H. Alexander (Howard Alexander), 1880-1966

Title: H. Alexander Smith Papers, 1897-1966 (bulk 1920-1966)

Extent: 283.53 linear feet (665 boxes)

Call Number: MC120

Abstract: H. Alexander Smith served as the executive secretary of Princeton University and was later elected to the United States Senate representing New Jersey. Smith made contributions to United States foreign policy while serving on the Senate Foreign Relations Committee, including decisions involving foreign aid issues, such as Greece-Turkey and the Marshall Plan. The bulk of documentation focuses on his tenure in the Senate and the period immediately after his retirement; reports, correspondence, and printed material from his work at Princeton are also included. The papers contain diaries, correspondence, speeches, notes, photographs, and memorabilia.

Stevenson, Adlai E. (Adlai Ewing), 1900-1965

Title: Adlai E. Stevenson Papers, 1861-1990 (Bulk 1952-1965)

Extent: 251.51 linear feet (631 boxes)

Call Number: MC124

Abstract: The Adlai E. Stevenson Papers document the public life of Adlai Stevenson (1900-1965), governor of Illinois, Democratic presidential candidate, and United Nations ambassador. His work related to economic policy includes serving on the staff of the Agricultural Adjustment Administration (AAA) during the Depression, and dealing with Third World Development as United Nations ambassador. The collection contains correspondence, speeches, writings, campaign materials, subject files, United Nations materials, personal files, photographs, and audiovisual materials, illuminating Stevenson’s career in law, politics, and diplomacy, primarily from his first presidential campaign until his death in 1965.

Viner, Jacob, 1892-1970

Title: Jacob Viner Papers, 1909-1979 (bulk 1930-1960)

Extent: 59.63 linear feet (142 boxes)

Call Number: MC138

Abstract: Jacob Viner (1892-1970) is considered one of the greatest economists of the twentieth century. His career was spent at the University of Chicago and Princeton University, and he also frequently served as an advisor to the United States government. His primary academic interests included international economics, international economic relations and the history of economic thought, but his investigations ranged across many disciplines. Viner’s papers document his scholarship, as well as his government service, and include correspondence, manuscripts, reports, and research materials.

The Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library

65 Olden Street
Princeton, NJ 08544
T: 609.258.6345
F: 609.258.3385
http://www.princeton.edu/mudd
mudd@princeton.edu

Hours:
Mon. to Fri., 9 AM to 4:45 PM

Summer: Mon. to Fri., 8:45 AM to 4:15 PM