Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Environmental Studies Research Guide: Citation Searching

This guide will assist scholars in environmental studies with using the resources of Princeton University Library.

Web of Science (1900+)

Web of Science is the most complete and comprehensive citation tracking database with coverage from 1900 to the present. It provides thorough coverage of ~5900 major journals. Includes cited author searching. Abstracts, keywords, and additional subject categories are included and searchable from 1991+.

Video Tutorial: http://scientific.thomson.com/support/recorded-training/wos/

Scopus (1996+)

Welcome to Scopus

Provides International coverage of journal articles, selected web sites, and patents in the sciences and social sciences; provides citation tracking from 1996 to the present.

Interactive Tutorial: http://help.scopus.com/robo/projects/schelp/tutorials/sc_menu.html

 http://www.princeton.edu/~smadams/scopus_tut1.png

Google Scholar

Google has a specialized interface for searching the journal literature called Google Scholar that provides access topeer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Although it is not as standardized, thorough, or reliable as BIOSIS, Web of Science and other literature databases, Google Scholar has a simple interface that many find convenient and easy to use.

http://www.princeton.edu/~smadams/g.png

 

Google Scholar

Reference Librarian profile

Profile Photo
Emily Wild
ewild@princeton.edu
Contact:
212 Lewis Science Library
609-258-5484
Website